We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Miss Maud Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Mercure Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$110
Mercure
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Parmelia Hilton Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Fraser Suites Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Four Points by Sheraton Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Adina Apartment Hotel Perth Barrack Plaza(Perth)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Room Service
Pan Pacific Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pensione Hotel Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Room Service
US$69
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
US$238
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (987)
Filter reviews
987 results
Traveller rating
407
421
136
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
407
421
136
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmorgasbord breakfastpastry shopswedish hotelquaint hotelsingle roommurray streetbreakfast was includedcentral locationdowntown perthtrain stationshort walkrooms are smallthe heart of the citymini barwould stay againpublic transportshort stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
868 - 873 of 987 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2009

I had only 2 issues with the room I was given, there is a problem with a very old airconditioner, the remote was dead so I started it by using the switch on the unit itself. Secondly there was a strange musical sound that i simply for the life of me cannot trace, it is only audible when you are sleeping, I made a complaint but to no avail.

Other than that, it is okay.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kesharoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2009

4 of us got off a cruise ship in Fremantle and were transferred to Miss Maud's for our 2 night stay. As we arrived mid-morning our rooms were not available yet, so the hotel stored our mountains of luggage (we had been traveling for 3 weeks!) and off we went to have a coffee and do some exploring. The hotel's front desk person gave us coupons for a free coffee at Miss Maud's Restaurant next door so that was our 1st stop. The coffee was fanastastic - the best we had had in all of our 3 weeks of traveling! Fortified and buzzing we walked around the city for a bit and then went back to the hotel to check-in.
We were all assisgned rooms with queen beds and showers. The rooms were all different sizes and shapes but very comfotable, with hard queen bed, lousy foam rubber pillows, flat screen TV, air conditioner that worked great (after you figured out the remote control!), BIG bath sheets (not the usual small bath towels most hotels have) and tiny bars of soap. No washcloths to be had, so if you use a washcloth, bring your own!

The hotel does not have a business center but it does have 1 computer that guests can use that costs A$2 for 15 minutes. Even though it was a little expensive, it was a lifesaver having access to a computer so that I could check us in for our flights home.

My reasons for choosing this hotel were twofold - one, the location (more on that later in the review!). Two - the incredible buffet breakfast that comes with the room rate. All hotel guests get this fantastic breakfast and it looks just like the photos on their website!
Great coffee, many fruit, yogurt, juice, cereal, bread & cheese choices as well as eggs, breakfast meats, Swedish pancakes, crepes, you name it, it was there. We stuffed ourselves and were good to go fo rmost part of the day!

The hotel staff was SO nice and accommodating. Not only storing our luggage when we arrived, but bringing all of our luggage down to the lobby at 330AM so we could get to the airport on time, as well as arranging a continental breakfast to be delivered to our rooms at 315AM since the restaurant buffet did not open for hours.

There are just 2 things to be aware of -
1) As the hotel's buidling is well over 100 years old and the tiny elevator is almost that, the elevator does not go all the way down to the lobby. For some reason it stops on a landing 6 steps above the lobby. Therefore, if you are physically challenged, be aware that there are 6 stairs to take from the lobby to the elevator.

2) location - I only gave the hotel location's 3 dots because the hotel is directly across the street from a VERY noisy weekend nightclub that stays open until 6AM. The people in my group who had rooms facing the street got very little sleep because of the nightclub-goers out in the street drunken shouting, screaming & carrying on. The hotel DOES have a security guard who stays outside near the front door all night to keep the "riffraff" away but still, it was a little disconcerting when we got in the taxi at 4AM to see all of these people on the street and all of the noise from the young people and the club. Therefore, if you are a light sleeper (or any sleeper at all!) I would highly recommend you ask for a room that does not fact the street. The street that the hotel is not the best street in town but seemed to be safe enough.

That said, due to the reasonable price, the fabulous breakfast, the city location (a block away from the pedestrian malls) and the wonderful staff I would not hesitate to stay here on my next trip to Perth!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ginger54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2009

What they didn't tell me when I booked (through the hotel's website, after a phone call to the hotel) was that there's a construction site next door. Lots of noise and activity. Cement trucks at 3.30 am lined up in the street below does not make for a good night's sleep. Come Friday and Saturday night, we thought it would be quieter. Maybe the workers would have the weekend off? But no, there's a nightclub across the street with large crowds making a racket as they waited to go in. Some still there at 6am! So, I don't recommend this hotel if you want a peaceful night's sleep. Certainly not a room on the first floor on the Murray St side.
Another issue for older people is the six steps up from the lobby to the racketty old lift. For some it would be extremely difficult to get bags up to rooms.
The staff I thought were rather indifferent but would help eventually when asked.
On a positive side, the rooms were absolutely spotless. A very clean, well-kept hotel. The hotel laundry was handy. The breakfasts were good and a real bonus when included in the room price. Dinners were quite expensive and we did not have the evening all-you-can-eat as the food seemed to be sitting there for a long time.
The hotel was very close to the Murray Street mall and other shopping areas, and a short walk to the station. If I stayed there again I would check first about what was going on in the neighbourhood re construction, and definitrely not have a room on the Murray Street side.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maz1NSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

Lovely clean updated room, beautiful breakfast smorgasbord. But the NOISE!!!!!!! Saturday night for Valentines day - didn't get any sleep - for all the wrong reasons. A night club directly over the road with idiots making the standard noises, and hoons revving their cars. Then, something that sounded like a chainsaw a 6am. Would stay gain, but definitely not 1st floor over Murray St side!!!!!! Oh - and shower lurches from scaldingly hot to freezing cold - wasting waster trying for 10 minutes to get a useable medium

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kazbahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2009

When you think of Perth, you don't think of Sweden!

I highly recommend Miss Maud Hotel for the following reasons:

1. Central city location - a few minutes walk to the CBD and key shopping areas. Easy to get to. Woolworth, Myers and DJs are 750 m away.
2. Well trained, genuinely happy, friendly and helpful staff - maybe its Perth - all the staff, from the hotel to the restaurant, are thoughtful and pleasant. Nothing was too much trouble and they do the little things that made it a memorable stay.
3. Hotel is uniquely Swedish! It has its own bakery and restaurant where the breakfast is amazing. Well worth the visit alone. We met plenty of regulars and guests who had stayed there before and continue to return.
4. Clean and well maintained. On site laundry facilities. Room is good and recently updated.
5. Good value when you consider 1-4. Shop around however, as we found the best rate through a Perth travel operator.

The key limitation is there is no hotel parking - there a several parking stations near by or its on-street parking (mostly free after 6pm and before 7.30am). More of an inconvenience moving the car around and feeding the parking meter. Not really an issue if you plan to do day trips and will not need to park the car during the day time.

Overall, I had a really good stay and would happily go back. It exceeded my expectations of a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargieandHomier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews