We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overrated - and what was that bell that kept ringing?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miss Maud Swedish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Miss Maud Swedish Hotel
Ranked #7 of 80 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Overrated - and what was that bell that kept ringing?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2006

There was nothing outstanding about this hotel whatsoever.

Although Miss Maud's website showed that the hotel was completely booked out, I booked a room by calling the hotel directly. I am unsure why the website showed no rooms available when their clearly was.

I'm still trying to comprehend what the last reviewer was carrying on about having to admit the hotel had "character". I didn't see anything resembling character in my converted store-room hotel room (literally, I think it was a store room at one stage). I saw tackiness at its best.

The room was virtually the width of the double bed. It had a huge step at the front door with a warning sign displayed. The store room adjacent also had the same step.

The room also featured one of the murals that have been mentioned elsewhere on this site. Simply put, the mural was an extremely tacky image of a waterfall, and was the size of the entire wall. It did not look Swedish whatsoever, but closely resembled something from a 1970's motel room.

The furniture consisted of those "assemble yourself" pine desks, chair and mirror frames you see at furtniture warehouse. I haven't seen anything like this in a hotel room.

Having said that, my room was clean, and oddly had the LARGEST LCD television I have ever seen in a hotel. Talk about a contrast between an awesome television and a run-down hotel room!

The bathroom was quite good and was nice and clean. It appeared to have been recently refurbished - only the corroded shower head suggested it may have been refurbished a few years ago.

Some sort of 1950's public bathroom was opposite my room (why was there even a public bathroom in the hotel area, when each room as ensuite bathrooms?), and another door marked "staff only" which seemed to be frequented by people talking around it early in the morning.

There was also this odd alarm bell which went off for short periods at any time of the day, even when we were sleeping. What was it for? I do not know, but it was annoying.

The hallways are tacky and dated, and fluoro lighting and tired wallpaper throughout them makes the place look very cheap.

The breakfast is a nice inclusion, and isn't too bad. The selection is average, but it certainly does the job. I do not see it as a drawcard to coming back and staying here though.

Be aware though the the hotel does not have ironing boards or irons in the room. I cannot understand why some hotels still do not offer this most basic and fundamental feature. There is a communal laundry room, but a sign in my room stated that it closes at 8pm for some reason - I guess the hotel expects us to skip a day from our holidays to do our washing in the middle of the day. Stupid. Bring a travel iron.

For $119 a night, the hotel was bordering on average. The location is a very short walk to the shopping area, train station and CAT buses. This is its best drawcard.

There are a number of similarly priced hotels in Perth which do not include the breakfast, but offer an enhanced level of quality (and automatic lifts too). I will be considering these next time I am in Perth.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The accommodation!
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't expect too much from this place
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank pmc160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    364
    124
    11
    10
See reviews for
71
399
116
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
HK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2006

Q: What can you tell from all these reviews? A: Miss Maud's has a real personality. Why does that make some people give the hotel such a low rating? Well, because some people think they like hotels with a personality, but what they're really looking for is something cheap. Like people with a real personality, not everyone is going to like Miss Maud's.

The occasionally miserable girl on the front desk wearing comedy Swedish costume, whole wall photographic murals of woodland scenes in some rooms (not all - don't know how you request a mural room), buffet dinner with hundreds of package trip oldies... surely you can see the appeal...? No?

Oh well, there's the obvious comfort of the place, a truly excellent pie-shop, and breakfast buffet that they tend to hype a bit, but is pretty decent.

Want something that conforms to normal hotel standards in every way? You know where to go - you just have to admit it to yourself. Genuinely like something with a bit of personality? Go for Miss Maud's but don't whine if you find the personality isn't one you like!

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank mikeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peak district england uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2006

we have just returned from a 4 night stay at miss mauds and we must say how impressed we were. it suprises me the amount of stick this hotel received. the room was spotlessly clean, and the bathroom lovely. admittadly no balcony just 1 small window, but the fact you are in the heart of the city far outweighs that. we had a great widescreen flatscreen tv with satelite fox sports.
the breakfast and dinner were incredable. the mini bar was refreshing in two senses as we were provided with water ice beer and soft drinks all at very sensible prices. i have never used a mini bar before due to the huge price hike but this was good. the freshly baked biscuits at same price as the shop were great. 10 out of 10 marks from us. we will stay again only cosst 110 dollars a night too. what a bargain.

  • Liked — food and cleanliness
  • Disliked — no veiw
  • Tips/Secrets — after 4pm food in the bakery drops to half price
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank loobylouuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2006

Stayed at Miss Mauds for 2 nights between Feb 18 and Feb 20.

Paid $120 PER ROOM per night (incl taxes) for a Scandinavian Room, which is the more spacious room type.

PROS:
- Central location. 2 minute walk to the day tour pick up point and 5 minute walk to the main city mall.
- Clean rooms (bathroom especially)
- Friendly (not fussy) service
- Included buffet breakfast was nice.

CONS:
None, considering this is a 3 star hotel and made no pretences to be otherwise.

My thoughts:
Unbeatable value for what it offers. Given Miss Maud's (former) high rating on this site I can understand why some reviewers may be disappointed, but one need to realise that the key here is value for money, not luxury for free. Fellow trip advisor readers used to high end 4-5 star hotels should really steer clear of Miss Mauds, no matter what the price.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank tsangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2006

I agree with the other reviewers that have recommended that you do not stay here. Having used TA in the past this is the first time that I have been disappointed. The room had no windows, only frosted glass bricks on to a service shaft, from which there was a noise from the generator and a radio all night. The buffet is nothing special.This is probably the worst hotel I have stayed in. Not value for money

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jakilea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2006

Booked our stay based on Trip Advisor reviews. Very disappointed. From the moment we arrived up until the time we checked out, we were underwhelmed to say the least. Upon check-in, the tiny lobby was being painted, complete with fumes and dropcloths/ladders everywhere. We tried to step around everything with our luggage but no one offered to help. After checking in, we had the choice to drag our luggage up a short flight of stairs to the elevator or a longer set up to the second floor--again, no help was offered. The room itself was old and shabby with stained wallpaper and furniture. The breakfast buffet was ok, but not outstanding. There are plenty of other places to stay in Perth--skip this one, stay elsewhere and maybe try the breakfast buffet or bakery.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank downunder05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2006

Saw a couple of negative reviews and felt I had to offset them somehow. This hotel is great and the breakfast buffet is fantastic. The staff was accomodating, the place was clean with great Swedish prints everywhere and it has a very central location. The rooms were pretty small but very adequate. There is no fancy big lobby etc. but we have no need for that. The price was extremely reasonable. If you crave 5-star luxury, skip it but otherwise I highly recommend it.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank Virginiagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Pensione Hotel Perth
#11 of 80 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Perth CBD
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#6 of 80 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#14 of 80 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Perth CBD
COMO The Treasury
COMO The Treasury
#1 of 80 in Perth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miss Maud Swedish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miss Maud Swedish Hotel

Property: Miss Maud Swedish Hotel
Address: 97 Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#13 Business Hotel in Perth
#13 Family Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Miss Maud Swedish Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Wi-Fi and also Smorgasbord breakfast included for all staying guests.Our 'little bit of Sweden', in the heart of the city, has become a landmark in Perth’s CBD - a preferred location for business and leisure travellers alike. Only a short stroll to shopping malls, entertainment district, Swan River, Barrack Street Jetty and other attractions. There are 52 charming, well-appointed, rooms with flat screen LCD TV, mini-bar with fridge, individually controlled air-conditioning and all essential comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Miss Maud Swedish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miss Maud Swedish Perth
Hotel Miss Maud Swedish
Perth Miss Maud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing