We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont go there !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The New Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #63 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Never had to write a review like this, booked in and went to our room, which was grubby went into the bath room chipped bath, stained wash basin, and mould around both. Checked the bed and linen which was stained, immediately complained and the sheets were changed, no other rooms were available that evening, but we asked for a room change, which was granted, slightly better, but still wellworn and needing major upgraded

Room Tip: Dont even think about this place,lots better available around perth
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wellsyStBees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsplanadeTeam, Front Office Manager at The New Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for writing your review on TripAdvisor.

I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed by the quality of our room. We are planning to do the renovation in our hotel, which will be soon in the near future.

As a budget hotel our price is according to the condition of the hotel, in compare to other hotel in surrounding.

I wish to advise you that we are currently working on a project that includes addressing aspects of our bathrooms.

We hope that we can welcoming you back in the hotel.

Kind Regards,
The Esplanade Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed 1 night with work. Room was tired and needed some minor repairs to walls and to areas of the bathroom. Location is good if you want to be right in the city centre and is easy walking distance to the Swan river and the city centre restaurants. Reception staff were pleasant and helpful. OK for the price.

Room Tip: Room facing away from the street would be the quietest however no view from these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsplanadeTeam, Front Office Manager at The New Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Jeff,

Thank you so much for talking time to post your review.

It is unfortunate that you did not like our room. There is no doubt that our hotel is due for big renovation. Our new management team planning to do that in near future soon.

It is our pleasure that our hotel staff made your stay very comfortable and the location of the hotel was also convenient for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
The Esplanade Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel offers good value for the budget family traveler. The rooms were very spacious with basic necessities. Strategically located, a short walk to the bell tower, gardens and hay street.
It's a bit dated, but everything was functioning well. Would highly recommend to budget family travelers.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nzafina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsplanadeTeam, Front Office Manager at The New Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with The New Esplanade Hotel.

It is a pleasure to read that you were thoroughly satisfied with your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back with us.

Kind regards,
The New Esplanade Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Room was dusty. All the fizzy drinks and alcohol in the mini bar were flat. Lifts in the car park were out of order so we had to walk down 6 levels with our luggage. Each time we wanted to leave the hotel with our car we had to go to reception first to get a new card. My husband had the car park card with him whilst he was elsewhere (30 minutes away) and reception said she cannot give me another one so I couldnt go anywhere. Restaurant did not have any cooked food only muffins fruit and ceral. Bed was hard. Rooms are poorly done (supposed to be newly renovated). Cannot believe they charge what they do for this place! The only good thing about this place is the location!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dwilson31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed last night last minute booking, an being on a main road and overlooking the bell in Perth , was hoping to have a bright clean room, we found the bath still had the dirty ring around the bath, very little coffee and Tea , and dull. it has the view of construction, but once its finished im sure it would be lovely. I paid $20 for wifi but could not connect in the morning and had a dispute The manager did come out and charged me an hour which i was happy about.

Shower was very small, tv poor signal at times.

Very central

Room Tip: We stayed on 8th floor which was away from all the construction below
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oliemolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel is a mixed bag. I've stayed here on two separate occasions. For the price ($110), even with the added $30 for parking, it is perfect walking distance to various places in Perth city. However our mattress was horribly uncomfortable - we could literally feel all the springs whilst laying on it, and forget propping yourself up with an elbow, as a spring will often dig straight in. The room was really big though, plenty of space for suitcases, a two-seater table etc, hanging space. We tried many settings for the heating but none seemed to produce any warm air. There were extra blankets and pillows provided though in the cupboard so they were adequate. Our room had a view of the Swan River but there is construction going on at the moment for the new foreshore project so this was a huge eyesore (not the hotel's fault). Customer service was lacking - a lot! But if you just want somewhere relatively cheap that is in a good location - this is it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JacyntaKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsplanadeTeam, Front Office Manager at The New Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear kate,

Thank you for your time to review our property The New Esplanade Perth.

It was a pleasure meeting you and welcoming you to The New Esplanade Hotel and we are pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

We will try our best to improve our customer service, which we are lacking.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back for more great stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Myself and my friend, stayed at this hotel. When we arrived we were rudely spoken to as I had accidentally clicked for a 'Smoking Room' I had then told them it was a mistake, and I don't smoke, they still spoke to me rudely as if I was lying about it. I was handed my room key and a sheet of paper with the rules of the hotel stay on it. They had HIGHLIGHTED that it is a $250 fee if we are caught smoking in the room, they made it quite clear that they thought I would do so. Not only did I feel out of place when they spoke to me, but when we got to our room "Deluxe Room with a river view" which was far from a river view as all we could see was a construction site. We went out for the night and came back to be spoken to rudely by the night staff asking if we are actually guests. We went down to the lobby for the guest breakfast which was cheap crappy food. We later were called rudely saying that it was time to check out an HOUR before we were supposed to check out. It's been a week and I still have not received my deposit back.

I am overall, disgusted by the staff in this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Alicia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsplanadeTeam, Front Office Manager at The New Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Alicia,

Thank you for your comments following your stay with us in July.

We certainly do welcome and encourage feedback from all of our guests, however after reviewing all feedback with our hotel staff regarding the issue you have raised,i confirm that our hotel staff had wanted to make sure that you fully aware of the smoking policy as we have had previous experience with disgruntled guest who had smoked in the room before. Hence our staff had repeated herself a few times to ensure there would be no extra charges during your stay with us.

Please accept our sincere apologies on the explanation of smoking policy by our staff if it might have hurt your feelings.

Your comments regarding breakfast were helpful for us and we have addressed the things that went wrong with your breakfast.

We will certainly provide further training if it is needed for our team and will address what steps can be taken to resolve the issue of customer service.

We understand that there are many hotels to experience in Perth however, we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again to The New Esplanade Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Criterion Hotel Perth
Criterion Hotel Perth
#58 of 66 in Perth
470 reviews
Pensione Hotel Perth
#11 of 66 in Perth
1,419 reviews
Perth CBD
The Great Southern Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seasons of Perth
#53 of 66 in Perth
394 reviews
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#51 of 66 in Perth
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Esplanade Hotel

Address: 18 The Esplanade, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Price Range: £50 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The New Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Esplanade Hotel
New Esplanade Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing