We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular”
Review of Sullivans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sullivans Hotel
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Bunbury, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Regular”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stay at Sullivans on a regular basis, easy location to get to, close to Kings Park and the swan river (great location for walks, jogs etc). It is only a three star and dated, but always clean.Staff are always competent and friendly, meals in restaurant are always very nice. And the blue cat service out front is great. Oh and free car parking is great.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    352
    162
    39
    23
See reviews for
104
349
95
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

The reception staff were very friendly. It is looking a little run down from the outside and the restaurant is a bit basic but we didn't expect too much. There is no room service but you can order something and they will tell you when it is ready and you can fetch it. The road is extremely noisy but it is convenient for the university and the free bus from right outside the hotel was very welcome. You could catch up on your email with the computer in reception though it was a bit ancient. The small bar was great. You don't always want to sit in your room on your own.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue59Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowral, NSW
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2011

My husband and I enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly including the front desk, cleaning staff and restaurant staff. Couldn't fault it. Would definitely stay again but avoid a room at the front. Traffic noise!!

Room Tip: Try and have a room on the side of the building. Front rooms too noisy. Back rooms may be exposed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

This hotel was great for what we needed. Yes its 3 star - so as long as you dont expect 5 star, then you will not be disappointed. The location was excellent - close enough to the city without having to be IN the craziness (especially for driving). And the Blue Cat into town made it a cinch to get in to the city. The staff were wonderful and helpful and friendly. The rooms were large and clean and had all you needed (except facewashers so maybe take your own if you like to use them). Free parking was an added bonus.
We didnt use the cafe/restaurant or the internet - but it has both so thats great.
Will definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WAtraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Every sign tells you it is a 3 star hotel- I suspect in case you think it is really 2 star.

I was originally in a front room with balcony. From this room you could direct the traffic. It was too noise so I moved to a room further back from the road.

The room was a fairly typical old business style room. Zero character but clean and functional.

I did not try the breakfast.

The location is not really near anything but is the compromise for price. Perth is a very expensive city so if you get a very cheap price the hotel is worth considering, as long as you understand what you are getting- a bed to sleep in.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vitoria, ES
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

The hotel looks very old from the outside. Room was clean and spacious, but bathroom was really small.
The rate is expensive for what you get, since breakfast is not included. AU$15 extra or AU$20 for cold breakfast + eggs.
Staff were ok, but not friendly.
Washing machine available, but expensive. AU$4 to wash, AU$4 to dry plus AU$1 for the soap. They don't provide softener, which is terrilble.
Since is a 3 star small hotel, I thought the staff could be more friendly. I wasn't even allowed to bring my own bottle of wine to the tiny restaurant inside the hotel.
Nice location, with free bus to the city in front of it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Expensive for what you get. I paid $140 but didn't even get a breakfast for that rate.
The staff were efficient but not warm.
I was upgraded to a delux room and it was ok but a little worn. I hate to think what a normal room would look like. There were also 3 pubic hairs in the bathroom sink...not exactly pleasant. The rest of the room looked clean.
Extensive list of free films which is good. Free internet next to reception. The cafe staff were nice and the food good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slippeddisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
West Perth
Sage Hotel West Perth
West Perth
Quest West Perth
Quest West Perth
#3 of 64 in Perth
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sullivans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sullivans Hotel

Property: Sullivans Hotel
Address: 166 Mounts Bay Rd, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sullivans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sullivans Hotel is situated in Perth's premier location, on the edge of the city centre and adjoining the beautiful Kings Park. Within easy walking distance of the City Centre, Swan River, Barrack Street Jetty and Convention Centre we are ideally located for leisure and business travelers. As Perth's leading 3 star hotel and maintained with great pride, you will experience exceptional service, friendly staff and great value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sullivans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sullivans Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing