We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”
Review of Sullivans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sullivans Hotel
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My partner and I stayed one night and were pleasantly surprised especially after reading some of the reviews on Trip Adviser. The check in was no problem and we were upgraded to a 'deluxe' room which was a nice surprise. It had been refurbished with a new A/C unit and we had lovely views across the CBD. We had a meal in the restaurant which was lovely and the staff were friendly and chatty. Breakfast in the morning was either continental or cooked depending on what you wanted to eat and what you wanted to pay. We had the continental which was good - fresh fruit, fruit juice, cereals, toast, scones (very nice) and pastries. The hotel is situated very near Kings Park and has a bus stop right outside. We would have stayed here again on our way back home had we know how pleasant it was.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the front - great views of CBD.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigHScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    351
    161
    39
    23
See reviews for
104
347
95
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Perfectioni have travelled the world and this is one of my very favourite hotels the hospitality is second to none, we arrived here Christmas Day and enjoyed great hospitality, the staff were amazing and made us some really nice food, the rooms were very nice and clean, we only stayed for 1 night on our way to the north but would have liked to stay longer, maybe next time!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dutronomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Although the price was cheap it was still overpriced considering the poor facilities, the rooms are small - with an old air conditioner positioned directly next to the bed its also very noisy.

The restaurant attached to the hotel has good food but the service is straight out of an episode of faulty towers - but it's not so funny when you're on the receiving end!

Don't bother booking here!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Sullivans Hotel, Perth for 2 nights, which was part of a package we had booked with Great Southern Railways, who operate the Indian Pacific railway.
An older style hotel of 4 storeys, refurbished, giving it a fresh look inside. It is located on the fringe of the CBD, which is about 15 minutes walk to the CBD. If you don't want to walk there is a bus stop almost outside the hotel entrance.
We had a room on the second floor towards the back. The rooms are not very large, but very comfortable. Tea & coffee making facilities and a fridge are standard. My only concern with the room was the air-conditioner; the old box type built into the wall. It was noisy, situated at about bed height blowing directly on you in bed. We could not leave it on and as it was not too hot, we left the window open, meaning we got the traffic noise, but this died down late and didn't keep us awake.
The hotel has a restaurant with a simple, uncomplicated menu. For breakfast you have the choice of continental buffet ($15) with hot breakfast extra ($22).
Overall, this hotel is a good quality three star hotel catering well for the it's target market market and is priced accordingly.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie-Traveller3121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Nobody would confuse Sullivans with Hilton, but it provided everything I need for a short stay and $91 price is hard to beat. Plus, it's a 15 minute walk to the city center. At first I was a bit concerned about staying next to a highway, but it turned peaceful enough: only a bit of road hum seeping through the windows.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Nikita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My Wife and I stayed here in April 2014, we had a very good stay. The Reception Staff were so friendly and helpful, the restaurant was well run with very good, competitively priced food. The room was very good and clean and we had a lovely view from our balcony. A free bus ( 5 minute journey) into the City Centre ran regularly.
I would definitely stay in this hotel if I were to return to Perth.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Good location- a short walk to the shopping/business district (or a free bus ride if too hot to walk). Nice sized room, big TV, tea/coffee making, comfy bed and adequate bathroom. Restaurant provides good meals for a reasonable price

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martyn1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
West Perth
Quest West Perth
Quest West Perth
#3 of 64 in Perth
268 reviews
Pensione Hotel Perth
#11 of 64 in Perth
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Perth
Sage Hotel West Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sullivans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sullivans Hotel

Property: Sullivans Hotel
Address: 166 Mounts Bay Rd, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sullivans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sullivans Hotel is situated in Perth's premier location, on the edge of the city centre and adjoining the beautiful Kings Park. Within easy walking distance of the City Centre, Swan River, Barrack Street Jetty and Convention Centre we are ideally located for leisure and business travelers. As Perth's leading 3 star hotel and maintained with great pride, you will experience exceptional service, friendly staff and great value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sullivans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sullivans Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing