We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sullivans is a clean, comfortable and well priced hotel.”
Review of Sullivans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sullivans Hotel
Ranked #26 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sullivans is a clean, comfortable and well priced hotel.”
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We spent four nights and the beds (single) were the most comfortable of any on our trip with snuggly down doonas. The room was small but had a balcony with french doors to let in fresh air. Room and bathroom were very clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. Restaurant food was good. Pool area was nice. Guest laundry available. We liked the location. Could be in the city in five minutes by car and free bus also runs from right outside. Free parking is available at the hotel. Mounts Bay Road runs into the highway to Freemantle so convenient for visits there and to beaches etc. The only down side is probably the hallways which look a little dark. I guess this is because the hotel is old. If you could be beamed up from the foyer straight to the rooms it would be perfect.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelten60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    349
    161
    39
    23
See reviews for
104
343
95
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
england
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2010

It was our first trip to Oz,reception staff were excellent very helpful throughout. The room was comfortable and clean,pool area was clean and pool was good. The location on the boundary of Kings Park (a must day and night views exceptional)is superb,the Blue Cat bus (free) stops right outside the hotel and is excellent. But if you don't fancy the bus there are various ways to walk into town taking about 15/20 mins maximum steady walk. The chefs Anzac biscuits are not to be missed. Perth and the surrounding area are absolutely top class. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macca49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2010

The room was spacious but the shower always got the entire bathroom floor all wet. The front desk staff was very nice and helpful. There was a computer with internet for guests to use free of charge. Biggest drawback was the location. It was a rather long walk from CBD. A bus does stop right outside which made it easy to return to the hotel but to get to town the bus always stopped at the station for about 10 minutes before proceeding into town. Although the stay was pleasant I would probably not stay here again because of the location.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsLea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth, western australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2010

Stayed for 4 nights in Feb 2010. Was recommended by my work and on checking hotel site it specified free WiFi internet in rooms - I decided to give it a go. On booking in Staff OK, a bit slow and had problems with computer system. Hotel is average for the price. Very very small rooms that need some updating. Bathroom old and also in need of major update, reasonably clean. Noisy, you can hear toilets flushing and water running at all hours. I could also smell smoke on my floor on a couple of nights, hotel states it is non smoking. Limited parking (very tight) although overflow parking available next door. LCD TV was cheap and nasty and no digital channels. Internet is a joke, yes you get free WiFi in the rooms but only 100mb before it locks you out, the result was I couldn't work in my room, you get through half your emails then BANG lock out. I asked if I could buy extra time or mb's but nobody could help, staff told me they don't have access to the internet service. In 2010 this is just a joke, surley a hotel can invest in unlimited internet, it's not expensive these days. Computer in lobby was out of service entire time. Lots of older travellers so perhaps internet access not an issue for them. Breakfast was terrible, warm milk and yogurt and very little choice - rather expensive for what was on offer. Location OK, CAT bus runs past and handy for western suburbs or CBD. All in all I think better value is available in Perth (Sullivans Hotel is expensive for what you get), I will not be returning.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bassbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2010

Average sort of hotel on outside and for the price the rooms are more than adequate.
Well equipped basic style with no frills but clean. Air conditioner had seen better times but it worked and kept us cool in 38degat night. Efficient check in at 12 midday and good deals can be done on the internet. The biggest advantage is that the hotel has parking and just outside there is a free bus in to Perth City and the ferry to Rottnest is within walking distance. There is a bus stop outside opposite the hotel that takes you to all the fabulous beaches further up the coast.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnLCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2010

We stayed at Sullivans from Christmas Eve to 27th December. We felt that we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. The hotel is just out of the city, located at the foot of Kings Park. There is a free Blue Cat bus service that takes you in the city for free and runs regularly. However, it is really only a 10-15 minute walk to the city and about 30 minutes in to Northbridge. To walk to Barrack Street Jetty will take you about 20 minutes. The hotel staff were brilliant. They were really helpful in recommending restaurants, places to see and just generally in taking a general interest in their guests and their requirements. There were guest bikes to be used free of charge and free internet access in the reception (although it was on the blink a bit). We had a deluxe room which faced on to the main road but gave you a view of the city and the Sawn River. The room was huge, with a large bed, sofa and loads of floor space and a big TV. There was room service and a restaurant (that we didn't try but the food smelt good). There is a decent little outdoor pool and guest laundry which was really handy. The decor is a tad dated but the hotel is so friendly and comfortable that it doesn't matter. I would whole heartedly recommend this hotel to anybody staying in Perth.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MooeyWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2009

We stayed twice in October firstly for 3 nights whilst looking around Perth and then came back, so we obviously found it to be OK, for a single night whilst waiting to fly onwards.
The rooms are small but adequate, althought the first one was a little cold as we couldn't shut the window fully resulting in a draft. All the facilities worked well and the staff where helpful and very friendly. If you are travelling a lot they have a most useful guest laundry. The food was good basic fare and they did their best for my wife who needs a gluten free diet. There is a free PC/Internet use although as there is only 1 you usually have to wait. As a tip go down after 11.00 at night as most Australians are long since in bed and it only other brits that are around. Parking is fine and the location easy to find and access, It has a bus stop on the free bus system right outside the hotel so you can get around without having to use the car.
I mentioned quirky in the summary and that refers to the management. I am not sure if he was the manager or owner but there was a guy who was rushing around shouting at the staff (but very gracious to the guests) who's actions reminded me strongly of Basil Fawlty from the Fawlty Towers series. The staff had been absolutely fine with us and we could not have asked for better service but they were obviously not doing it right in his eyes. Perhaps one of the disadvantages of having the guests using the PC near reception and the manager communicating by shouting from his office in the rear of reception? This was just fun to my ears and just added to experience of staying!
If you want a reasonably priced small hotel give it a go and see which Fawlty Towers characters you can spot!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
West Perth
Quest West Perth
Quest West Perth
#3 of 64 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Pensione Hotel Perth
#10 of 64 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sullivans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sullivans Hotel

Property: Sullivans Hotel
Address: 166 Mounts Bay Rd, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sullivans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sullivans Hotel is situated in Perth's premier location, on the edge of the city centre and adjoining the beautiful Kings Park. Within easy walking distance of the City Centre, Swan River, Barrack Street Jetty and Convention Centre we are ideally located for leisure and business travelers. As Perth's leading 3 star hotel and maintained with great pride, you will experience exceptional service, friendly staff and great value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sullivans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sullivans Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing