We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for Convention Center, but I would find somewhere else for next time”
Review of Sullivans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sullivans Hotel
Ranked #31 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Previous reviewers are correct... dirty corridors and smelly. BASIC amenities in the room, acceptable but do not buy the breakfast (not value for money at all). SERVICE from the staff is basic -both at the front desk and elsewhere! Do not expect someone to help you with your luggage! Also depending on who it is manning the front desk, local knowledge is variable... so research for yourself on bus schedules, destination in advance.
Perth has FREE buses in the CBD... so getting to the Convention Center (10 mins walk) on the Blue CAT bus is easy -but this services stops by 1800+hrs. Other buses exist but not so convenient! The "FREE" internet is limited to 100MB per 24 hrs... which is not enough in today's day to day need for most of us. Additional MBs is very expensive.
The swimming pool is more for children! Find somewhere else if you have time!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J&J-HFV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (750)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

620 - 626 of 750 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights and wouldn't come back to be honest. As other reviews have pointed out before the rooms and corridors smell of cat-pee and it's quite a long walk to the CBD with the last bus at 6:20pm.
We booked a 2-bedroom apartment which is in fact two separate rooms with one of them having a kitchenette. Strangely enough you are not allowed to bring any food or drinks into the hotel, so what's the kitchenette for then ??? Free Wifi is limited to 100MB per day, a bit stingy, isn't it?
Double bed was very small and room very cramped leaving absolutely no space to move around. Shower is a joke really, it's like standing outside on a foggy morning and waiting to get wet, didn't work for us. Keep looking for other options...

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank londonmatDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

We booked a family room for two children and two adults. We were only planning to stay two nights on way to Albany and when we saw the cramped room and basic bathroom we were glad we didn't stay any longer. We also found one of the reception staff very unfriendly and unhelpful. Not one smile. Unfortunately we left something in the room and when we called the hotel, the same person was rude and would not get someone to look for it unless we promised to pay postage. After several phone calls and request to talk to the manager she relented. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gawu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Rooms very poor,dirty,allegedly had a deluxe room,would hate to imagine what the rest were like.If there was a redeeming feature it was that the breakfast was O.K.Bar service by young lady in wellington boots as she was scrubbing somewhere at the same time--certainly not anywere we saw!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DAVIDAB2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

My husband and I stayed at Sullivans for 3 nights. We loved it! The rooms were comfortable and cozy. Irma at the front desk was so nice and helpful. The hotel is within walking distance from Kings Park, as well as the city center. They also had free bicycles for use and we were able to get around town easily by using all of the nice bike paths. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeliTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

This hotel was booked as recommended by the conference organisers I have informed them of the appalling place. It was booked as a base by my employers on the recommendation & the website it was smelly old smelling of cat urine,no iron or ironing board in the room had to hunt for the hairdryer,wardrobe small housed the fridge could not hang up clothes as too small when I did my dress was covered in dust.Towels were almost threadbare had to use both to get myself dry. aircon was old had to almost wind it up. the hotel did not resemble the website pictures.When we arrived we had to sign a form to say we would not bring in alcohol or food as there was a bar. it was a cross between Fawlty Towers & students accomodation almost expected Manuel to appear!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank discruntled12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

After reading some previous reviews we were a bit wary of what to expect from our 5 night stay. No worries, clean and comfortable, yes the air con is noisy-switch it off!, yes limited TV channels... on holiday who cares.
Free CAT bus handy.. Kings Park on the door step.. pleasant walks to the City and Matilda Bay..
Booked with Airmiles but would have paid price

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMG101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
West Perth
Sage Hotel West Perth
West Perth
Quest West Perth
Quest West Perth
#4 of 66 in Perth
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pensione Hotel Perth
#11 of 66 in Perth
1,389 reviews
West Perth
Tribe Perth
Tribe Perth
#14 of 66 in Perth
345 reviews
Miss Maud Hotel
#9 of 66 in Perth
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sullivans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sullivans Hotel

Address: 166 Mounts Bay Rd, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Price Range: £63 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sullivans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sullivans Hotel is situated in Perth's premier location, on the edge of the city centre and adjoining the beautiful Kings Park. Within easy walking distance of the City Centre, Swan River, Barrack Street Jetty and Convention Centre we are ideally located for leisure and business travelers. As Perth's leading 3 star hotel and maintained with great pride, you will experience exceptional service, friendly staff and great value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sullivans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sullivans Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing