We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Beautiful Really Central Really Expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Premier Terrace Hotel
Ranked #4 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really Beautiful Really Central Really Expensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

I had a premium suite and it was beautiful, so centrally located and very friendly hotel staff. A bathroom to die for and technology based TV that was way beyond me. I stayed here because other hotels in the vicinity had such poor reviews and I wanted a hassle free holiday, which I got. I found myself in a top of the range hotel and while it was beautiful, it was really overkill for me. One disappointment was the street it is on seemed to have a reputation for snobbery and while the hotel staff were great, the restaurant staff really didn't want to know about a holidaymaker in shorts and flip flops, but right across the road in a wee plaza is a great steak restaurant.

Room Tip: You're paying a fortune to be here, go for the premium suite. Otherwise stay at Holiday Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiDave13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barb B, Front Office Manager at Best Western Premier Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear KiwiDave13
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Terrace Hotel. I am glad to read that you were happy with your room and that our hotel staff were able to ensure your experience of the hotel was most enjoyable. I am saddened to hear that you did not feel comfortable in our restaurant as we pride ourselves on the fact that our guests should be warmly welcomed in all our facilities. Your feedback in invaluable and I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Terrace Hotel again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Barb Boag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    94
    23
    7
    8
See reviews for
19
256
19
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

The terrace hotel markets itself as 'boutique' and different but it is simply a very overpriced Part of the Best Western chain. The rooms are variously described as 'deluxe' etc but are in fact very small, with simple beds, little furnishings and very dark bathrooms. The boutique and deluxe wordings seem to relate to the over complicated B&O TVs on the wall.


We had an awful check in welcome where the receptionist Rebecca was more interested in telling us about the additional costs for valet parking, credit card surcharges and moaning about the difficulties of having to enter UK driving license details and using UK cards than explaining what there was to offer at the hotel.

We were then taken to a tiny room with an open bathroom (including toilet) in it. When we said we were disappointed with the room (at $270 the most expensive of our Australia and NZ trip) we were told by Rebecca that it was advertised as delux single occupancy. We checked this and neither on the website or our booking confirmation which was direct with the hotel did it mention this. When we said this later to the receptionist she said she had looked aswell and agreed it was not clear but did not offer any apology.

We were moved to a bigger room which still had awfully small windows, was dirty, infested with Mosquitos, had a broken safe and was still very small.

We complained and asked to speak to the manager. Rebecca became very defensive and shouted at us, said she could only leave voice messages for her manager, then said she had spoken to her the manager's husband as the manager had 'forgotten' her mobile and then said she could not get through.

She told us we should accept the room and wait there for the manager to call us back or leave as we were being 'condescending'. Her tone and attitude was the most disrespectful I have ever had from a hotel receptionist.

We left the hotel having still not spoken to the manager and checked into the Sheraton by Four Seasons just up the road where Jann the receptionist gave us a fantastic welcome and a great room for half the price of what the Terrace Hotel would have cost.

I would strongly recommend not booking the Terrace Hotel Best Western in Perth. It's awful!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank Liam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barb B, Front Office Manager at Best Western Premier Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Liam D & Mark C
Thank you for your comments. We apologise that your expectations were not met and understand your frustration but feel that your behaviour towards our staff was not warranted. You were offered an upgrade to a larger room which you found to still be unsatisfactory so you were then offered a refund. The concierge offered assistance to find you alternative accommodation and to assist you with your luggage but you refused his services. Your behaviour towards our receptionist and concierge was abusive and threatening. We are confident in our quality and service and our guest feedback is highly positive and complimentary. Our hotel has been open for just over 12 months so we feel your comments of it being ‘tired’ is not an accurate reflection of our property.
Kind regards,
Barb Boag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
200 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

The website for this hotel looked great so we booked for the night before Christmas Eve, when we arrive Rebecca the receptionist was very unwelcoming asked for our credit card before saying anything else. She ran through all the extra charges before showing us our room which was the size of a cupboard with a tiny window that was screened so had no view. We complained and said it did not reflect the website images, Rebecca corrected us and told us the room is intended for single occupancy only, despite this not being stated anywhere on the website or booking, it is called Deluxe Double on the booking confirmation. She offered us an alternative room that was dirty and had similarly small window and peeling wallpaper. When we complained again Rebecca proceeded to screech and shout at us saying that we were 'condescending' and should leave the hotel and find somewhere else. We asked to speak to the manager, however the staff did not know the name of the manager and when they tried to call her there was no reply.

This hotel is very very tired, dirty, infested with Mosquitos and the most unwelcoming place in Australia. We walked out if the hotel, they didn't even offer to find us alternative accommodation.
They were charging $269 per night, we stayed in Four Points Sheraton for $160 large clean room with fantastic windows.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barb B, Front Office Manager at Best Western Premier Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Mark C & Liam D
Thank you for your comments. We apologise that your expectations were not met and understand your frustration but feel that your behaviour towards our staff was not warranted. You were offered an upgrade to a larger room which you found to still be unsatisfactory so you were then offered a refund. The concierge offered assistance to find you alternative accommodation and to assist you with your luggage but you refused his services. Your behaviour towards our receptionist and concierge was abusive and threatening. We are confident in our quality and service and our guest feedback is highly positive and complimentary. Our hotel has been open for just over 12 months so we feel your comments of it being ‘tired’ is not an accurate reflection of our property.
Kind regards,
Barb Boag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

My partner and I booked a night at The Terrace as a special gift to ourselves. It is costly, however you are paying for quality. The hotel is a renovated house, with the restaurant below. We loved how the hotel had been renovated in a way that was not clinical and white like other hotels. Everything was so plush, but also felt very homely.

All the staff treated us extremely well. We had not booked a car park so the porter fed the metre out the front for us until free parking kicked in which was so nice of him.

The rooms were great - the bed and linen were amazing, the addition of a Nespresso machine was a great touch, and the bathrooms were to die for.

We had a drink at the bar that night - drinks were the usual Perth price, the setting very upmarket, and the staff professional but not overly friendly. In the morning we also had breakfast at the restaurant which was lovely, with the wait staff extremely friendly with ourselves and the other customers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee_Franny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barb B, Front Office Manager at Best Western Premier Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Lee_Franny
I was so happy to read your very kind words following your recent stay with us at The Terrace Hotel. We are delighted that we met your expectations in all aspects of our hotel especially with our beautiful rooms and the facilities we offer. We pride ourselves on our friendly and professional customer service so are happy to read your comments regarding the hotel and restaurant staff. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Barb Boag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights, arriving late after a flight from Shanghai, but nevertheless being warmly received. The hotel is a boutique hotel rather than an impersonal member of a chain. The decor in our room was quirky, but luxurious and comfortable. The service was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast either inside or out on the terrace was interesting and tasty. The only slight negative was because of the original style of the building which made it inevitable that suitcases had to be carried up or down a few stairs even when using the lift.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gilldiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
122 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Needed a hotel en-route for our road trip down south, so booked at this one either end, as a bit of a luxury. the bded was huge and the bathroom was bigger than my bedroom as a kid.

Only a few rooms on each floor so very quiet.

The rooms were spacious and hi-tech, maybe the tv a little too high tech - do pay attention on how to use the ipad and tv controls!


A little pricey but worth it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GTGULL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Perfect boutique hotel, centrally located, divine beds and attentive service!
Warm atmosphere and great coffee - lovely outdoor garden restaurant and cafe!
Rooms a little small but nicely furnished, great bed with lots of pillows and really nice barhrom.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
COMO The Treasury
COMO The Treasury
#1 of 81 in Perth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
Perth CBD
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#5 of 81 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#13 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Terrace Hotel

Property: Best Western Premier Terrace Hotel
Address: 237 St Georges Terrace, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN PREMIER Terrace Hotel Perth)
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Best Western Premier Terrace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the West End of Perth's CBD, set as the backdrop on a stunning sun dappled terrace, the historic Terrace Hotel is the ultimate destination for dining, entertainment and style for the seasoned business traveller, discerning tourist or sophisticated city patron. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing