We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit old and tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverview on Mount Street
Ranked #9 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The foyer and staff were very good but the room left a little to be desired. where the toilet is situated is very cramped. It supposedly has all the local tv channel but I guess the havnt updated to digital yet as you still only get the 5 local tv stations

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimfred49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2013

Riverview on Mount Street,Perth was an O.K.choice as it gave us access to Kings Park,5 mins.up the hill and a pleasant walk downtown to the CBD.Reception staff went out of their way to look after our needs.It's an old building with a modern facade and the apartments are adequate if not a tad institutional.However ,the downstairs restaurant is superb.It's only open for dinner Thur.Fri.and Sat.but what a surprise!Excellent, edgy Asian inspired menu from Bec Ng from Longrain in Melbourne.....our best Perth memory followed closely by Little Creatures brewery in Fremantle.Great coffee and breakfasts at Riverview's restaurant as well.We would stay there again as it's convenient and affordable.

Room Tip: All seem pretty similar....didn't see any others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam309_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Recently renovated rooms, clean and comfortable, tastefully furnished with stylish leather armchairs that I would quite like in my own home. Have stayed here a few times, good value in it's price range, close to town and secure parking available. Wotif states it has cable tv but apparently it is no longer available. Has kitchen facilities in each room (microwave, gas stovetop, fridge, etc). Last time we had a room at the front of the hotel and noticed some traffic noise. Has a café at the front which only seems to do breakfast/lunch and finger food/drinks at night. Some rooms have LCD tv where you can plug your computer or usb in.

Room Tip: Bottom floor rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter and have a nice outdoor area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fluffyfluffikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This is an older property that has been renovated. The rooms are spacious, with a small kitchen and dining table, comfortable bed with good reading lights, small balcony with a leafy outlook and distant views of the city. It felt more like an apartment than a hotel room. Some freeway noise was a constant through the night, but we had the windows open, and could have chosen to close them and use air conditioning.Excellent cafe downstairs where you can sit and watch the joggers run up and down the hill. We didn't have a car and found it easy to walk to bus and train stations, and up to the beautiful Kings Park. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rowslater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Clean room, comfy bed, helpful staff. Stayed in the character room - was comfortable. Arrived very late after flight delays but all was ready and instructions clear.. room a little hard to find but sorted that eventually. Would stay again

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Have been travelling to Perth regularly over the last 12 months and stayed in lots of different hotels but stayed at Riverview the last 3 times I was in Perth. It is a matter of choosing horses for courses. I was after a room to do a bit of work in, private with clean facilities, not too much interference from staff making the bed every day (I can do it myself because my mother taught me how), a small kitchen to make my breakfast and lunch for the road, near to Jacobs Ladder and Kings Park for a run in the morning, and all at a reasonable price. That is what I got.

Much of Perth is still overpriced and expensive for what you get but I have noticed that prices seem to be dropping now as the mining boom is starting to wane. I paid $150 per night but could have spent over $250 per night for a studio style room at the Holiday Inn if I needed someone else to make my bed each day and hang up my towels for me.

Have a look at the photos as what you see is what you get and if you are happy with that, go for it. Good night sleep, clean sheets and towels, air con and heating worked, warm shower, and food downstairs at the restaurant. Not fussy but functional.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Compost2740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Just a short walk from the Perth shopping/business district and equally close to Kings Park with beautiful views etc.. in a highly desirable residential area.
Probably depends somewhat on what type of accommodation but a 'studio' is a big room with space for kitchen, comfortable bed and working area. Well equipped and comfortable, and at a sensible price. Plus there is a (not cheap) cafe for breakfast.
The highway traffic is noisy and if neighbours are not considerate you will get sound of crashing doors and furniture being dragged along tiled floors just when you are trying to sleep. If a bit of noise doesn't bother you at all then this place should be perfect.
Of course rooms are serviced once a week.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Sullivans Hotel
#32 of 66 in Perth
742 reviews
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#15 of 66 in Perth
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#14 of 66 in Perth
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview on Mount Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview on Mount Street

Address: 42 Mount Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > West Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Price Range: £49 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverview on Mount Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riverview on Mount Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverview On Mount Street Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing