We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverview on Mount Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverview on Mount Street
Ranked #10 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

I had a basic studio room at the back - no riverwiew for me! It was next to the laundry which fortunately wasn't noisy though the entrance was a tad unappealing.

The room was OK though had certainly seen better days: a naked light bulb in the centre of the ceiling and inadequate lighting for reading. Furniture was a bit tatty and the bathroom had barely any shelving to put cosmetics. No housekeeping unless you stay for a week. But the room had been upgraded so it sort of looked smart. It had quite a large kitchen.

I paid $150 a night, which compared to a lot of other hotels in or near the CBD, was less expensive...but still...the owners could pick up their game a bit. Perhaps the more expensive rooms are a lot better and have views to the city and river.

The position's good, across a footbridge to the CBD, though as a female travelling alone it wasn't near enough to restaurants at night for me.

The best thing about this hotel is the fabulous cafe at the front, which served breakfast and lunch (but alas not dinner). It had great ambiance, helpful staff and a sunny outlook across the street with all the jacarandas in bloom. The hotel is in a pleasant residential street at the bottom of a steep hill.

Room Tip: Go for a second level room with a balcony and a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emstar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    94
    30
    12
    13
See reviews for
14
90
22
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

It is a basic accommodation but on a very nice location. You can easily walk to King's Park and the City Centre. The room was clean and big, and had a good shower. I also had a balcony, so I could sit outside. I already made a new reservation for next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marst83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

I was being booked here for 2 weeks by my travel agent due to my regular apartment not available. After a 4 nights stay I decided to move out and forfeited the rest of the nights.

For a long stay and business trip not recommended.
1. The laundry service only operates during reception hour. ( By the time you finish work and come back the reception going to close)
2. No convenient shop or restaurant nearby. At least 10 minutes walk to CBD to get food.
3. Not safe. The door only have door knob, you can't lock the room from your room. Anyone can open your room door anytime.
4. The cooking facilities is old.
5. The housekeeping once a week provided you stay more than a week.
6. The room is dark.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FoongYT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

Perth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

When I rang to book and pay for a guest and was going to use my corporate credit card, I was told I would need to fill in an authority to pay form which would be emailed out to me. I didn't get it, so rang back the next day. I got the person to spell back my email in case that was the issue. A week later I still hadn't received it so rang again. I happened to speak to the Manager and there was no booking for my guest as they don't do that without the authority form!!! He pretty much said the problem was mine if the email hadn't got through! They don't take down a phone number to ring the booker, so if I hadn't rung, my guest would have turned up (from interstate) on a Saturday and had no room or one highly priced which our budget could not afford. The price of the room had already gone up and he wasn't prepared to honour the original booking price over the phone! In the end, he told me to go to the hotel's online booking system as there was one room left at the original price quoted. Interestingly enough, the price online was $20 a night cheaper, but when it came to finalising the booking, it had gone up that $20. I certainly won't be booking any clients in there again and will be telling other travel bookers to beware.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lj_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

I was very pleased when I arrived. The lady on reception was very helpful and also allowed me to call a friend locally as my phone was not working. The onsite parking is great and very handy for downtown Perth.

I was a little shocked to notice that my credit card has been charged to full amount when I booked the room. (Over a week before I was due to check in). Not a huge issue for me but for someone who is staying longer it might come as a shock.

The room was clean and modern and quiet. I had a twin room which has a double and a single bed.

Would stay again for most trips in or around Perth!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DTWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

I have been travelling to Perth for years on business and have finally found an appartment I will come back to from now on. Rooms are recently renovated, staff are great, cafe below is good for breakfast or a coffee. Located handy to the CBD with a short walk over the bridge and if you like to exercise then options galor in this area. Rooms have good beds, mini kitchenette, free wifi and secure parking. All round great stay

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DarrynF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Riverview on Mount Street is in a great location, walking distance of the CBD, close to Kings Park. Each room is a self contained studio apartment with a very functional kitchen. THe carpark is security locked but if the hotel is busy, the carpark gets pretty tight, especially if you have a big car.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peluseys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#14 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pensione Hotel Perth
#11 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview on Mount Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview on Mount Street

Property: Riverview on Mount Street
Address: 42 Mount Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > West Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverview on Mount Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Riverview on Mount Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverview On Mount Street Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing