We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sociable, great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Planet Inn Backpackers
Ranked #42 of 59 Speciality Lodging in Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“sociable, great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

stayed for 10 days. excellent place, great guests, management and staff. All the basics, lockers in rooms and kitchen with your own travel padlock needed. Clean sheets on request. No byo alcohol allowed and very strict but otherwise great place to stay with free bus to Perth City right outside. Chris Thompson

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    12
    6
    11
    43
See reviews for
1
17
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bankok
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I'm danny the diver stayed there a bit on and off good staff fantastic manager the place is what u make it cold beer good b b q's go wild book in its for good times and meet good mates or girls lots to do Joe takes you to the beach it's free and what a day he shows that good iris hospitality and makes u feel at home

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heliumone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Price/performance ratio is ok. Based on price you cannot expect something fancy - but this hostel is really only for travellers doing hardcore budget optimization.

Dorm: I think on the matress ly 6000 Guests. Please replace. Food, Luggage and other thinks are spread out.

Staff: Lottery because they are other travellers.... I had luck, very friendly.

Location: If you goto Airport then it is too far: 40 min on foot to
George Terrace (Bus 37 to Airport; Station for Airport Shuttle). Two Blocks to North.

TV very old and yellow screen (strange).

Wifi: a handfull outlets for many guests. Wifi stops working from time to time. Postive: It is free.

Shower: Needs Remodelling. Access via Common Room. Strange.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mzvienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

If you go to Perth never stay at this hostel.
Was suppossed to stay there for 3 nights but left after too.
Had to stay in the staff room. 2 bunk beds. I was sleeping in one above me a french couple who worked there and were having sex all night. Did not bother them that there were other people in the room. I went outside to sit in the living room as people were having a fight at 4am screaming there heads of and none of the stuff bothered to check on them or keep them quiet.
Second night people kept on coming in the room as there was no lock on the door. This kept going on till 6am. Never had a worse accommodation.
Apart from that rooms were dirty and terrible smelly. No toilet paper all evening, night and morning although the staff girls shared the same bathrooms and were aware of the situation.
Only possitive thing was that they refunded me the money for the third night because I left.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura21101985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Just stayed for 3 nights and will be going back next week hopefully. The rooms are not the cleanest but so what its a hostel. all the other areas got cleaned everyday i was there. The staff and other backpackers were awesome and made me feel welcome straight away, couldnt help enough and even sorted my tax number out for me. If you want paradise book the ritz if you want good people and a laugh go here. This is what backpacking is all about for me.

Scott

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phipsy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

I have stayed in hostels all over the world, and this is by far the WORST!!! This sinks to a new level of filthiness and crap customer service, can't believe it is in Australia!!
We arrived into Perth at 11pm for 1 night before flying out to Asia next morning, and checked in, and were immediately struck by the dirtiness and the SMELL!!!! The attendant had us waiting until 2am in the freezing winter cold while he ran backwards and forwards wasting time because 2 people were occupying the beds that we had booked, paid for, and confirmed!!! He tried to pass us some filthy sheets and have us sleep on the dirty, smelly loungeroom couch in the noise and draught. We refused. At 2am we had had enough waiting and told him fine, get us one bed and we will share. He took us into the dorm, kicked a guy out of a bed, and then told us to get straight in as it was still nice and warm from the body heat!!! Next day I spoke to the woman on the desk, explained what had happened and asked for a refund for one bed, since we had paid for 2, and she refused and said she could only give me credit for another night. No good as we were flying out that day. I had to fight to get that refund, and they are lucky that I didn't press for a refund on the bed we did use, since it had dirty used sheets, and they kept us waiting for our bed for over 2 hours in the middle of the night. HORRENDOUS!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsuzannep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

I've been travelling for over 3 months so I'm used to pretty poor standards and accommodation. This place is a joke. Not even sure I know where to start. There's no security at all doors are never locked, lockers aren't provided so you never feel safe to leave important property in the rooms. Our room was tiny, my bed was next to a window that couldn't be closed and during the wind and rain each night it was freezing. The power keeps cutting out which in Asia you can understand but not in Australia. I actually couldn't shower one night as the bathroom was pitch black. The staff are awful. So rude and unhelpful and actually many don't actually know what's goin on themselves. The place is full of people who never seem to leave the seats by the tv and there is no social nature at all here. Horrid horrid place and got out of there ASAP. Don't waste your time there's nicer hostels on hostel world for the same price.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jencoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Hay Street Traveller's Inn
Perth CBD
Billabong Backpackers Resort
Perth CBD
Haus Accommodation
Haus Accommodation
#29 of 59 in Perth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Ozi Inn Backpackers
Ozi Inn Backpackers
#35 of 59 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Perth CBD
Backpack City and Surf
Backpack City and Surf
#28 of 59 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planet Inn Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planet Inn Backpackers

Property: Planet Inn Backpackers
Address: 496 Newcastle St | West Perth, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 59 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Planet Inn where you ''won't be lonely!''Our goal is to help you to "Dare to be Different" as you explore new experiences in our wonderful part of the world that we Australians call "The Lucky Country".We first began trading in 1996 with a backpackers hostel then called Redbackpackers, which in 2000 evolved into Club Red Backpackers. The evolution continued in 2004 as the hostel enjoyed a makeover and become Planet Inn Backpackers.This accommodation business can also arrange your employment, sightseeing and your activities and entertainment program.We pride ourselves on our staff's commitment to friendly and professional service, coupled with experience and local knowledge to help you make your visit "Down Under" a truly memorable experienceThe beauty of Planet Inn Backpackers is that we are an International Backpacker which mean that the people that are staying here are all overseas travellers who want to explore Oz just like yourself. We offer a 24 hour airport pickup service with any booking of seven days or more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Planet Inn Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing