We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm going back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ozi Inn Backpackers
Ranked #32 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Perth
A TripAdvisor Member
“I'm going back!”
Reviewed 15 December 2003

This sociable hostel has everything that you need to have a great stay in Perth, the staff are very friendly and will help you in anyway they can. I know as I stayed there for 4 months, from . Its not too big and doesn't have mice in the food as someone unimportant once said! The manager is increadibly easy going and if there is a problem he will sort it... I loved every day there!!!

  • Stayed October 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    20
    7
    5
    18
See reviews for
Families
0
10
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2003

there's mice in all your food in the kitchen, the electricity is turned off in all the rooms so the manager (arrogant weirdo & v rude) doesn't have to pay for it, nothing ever works or gets fixed... the only good thing about this place is the other backpackers so you may as well go & meet them in the other hostels, don't waste your money here

Helpful?
Thank MrsSCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oziinnmanagement, Manager at Ozi Inn Backpackers, responded to this review, 26 July 2010
Hi,
Just wanted to let you know that the Ozi Inn is now under new ownership and management. We have made heaps of improvements to the hostel. The free pancake breakfast is unlimited (within reason!) and in addition we now offer free rice in the evenings between 6 and 9pm, and free tea and coffee 24/7. On tuesdays we offer a dominos pizza deal for $2 per person, to which we add $50, it usually works out to 5 or 6 slices of pizza per person. Every Friday we cook a hostel meal which is free for everyone.
The Hostel is cleaned throughout everyday, clean bedsheets and blankets avaialbel to all guests everyday.
We run regular hostel outings in the mini-bus, to places like Freemantle, Scarboro beach etc. In addition to this we offer free airport pick up and 24 hour check in.
We are a very small but friendly hostel and we hope that next time you are back in Perth, you will come and see us again.

Thanks!
Mark & Verlie

Ozi Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 November 2003

Went there for a few days, until we'd find a flat/house. Ended up staying there 2 months! Met up with the most amazing bunch of people and had such a laugh. Not the most luxurious hostel we stayed in, but without a doubt - the best craic!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 October 2003

Dirty and noisy, I was sure there were insects in my bed !!!

But the staff is friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2003

stayed there for 5 nights and i felt like id been there weeks right from the first night. like other reviews stated it feels like a big family. definitely will be my first stop when i go back to oz next time! all the facilities you need and a great location with being a block away from the pubs!

  • Stayed August 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodtimesgoodfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 May 2003

We stayed at the Ozi Inn for two nights, and that was two nights too long ! It was filthy dirty and the room was tiny with no ventilation (our so-called air conditioning was broken and the window would not open). When we first arrived the whole place smelt like marmite ! Our bed sheets were dirty, and made us itch (fleas I wonder). When we got there we just sat on our beds and cried it was so depressing. I would rather sleep in a shop doorway soaked in **** than return to that dump, would be a damn site cleaner and probably smell better too !!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 March 2003

Booked in for a night and stayed 3 weeks. In 5 months of travelling had best welcome here. Great location, atmosphere and people. Can't wait to go back.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Coolibah Lodge Backpackers
Perth CBD
City Perth Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Bambu Backpackers
Bambu Backpackers
#14 of 49 in Perth
76 reviews
West Perth
Beatty Lodge
Beatty Lodge
#13 of 49 in Perth
72 reviews
Perth CBD
Backpack City and Surf
Backpack City and Surf
#36 of 49 in Perth
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ozi Inn Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ozi Inn Backpackers

Property: Ozi Inn Backpackers
Address: 282 Newcastle St | Northbridge, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good news!..We provide free airport pick up. It Feels safe when a staff from ozi inn pick you up from airport directly to ozi inn. We have daily free pancake breakfast, coffee/tea all day long and rice for dinner. It's all free. This is a friendly backpacker hostel NOT a hotel.if you are expecting a hotel standard...Please don't stay here. We just hate insults from customers who wants to stay cheap and expecting a hotel standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Ozi Inn Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ozi Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing