We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap hostel great location :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ozi Inn Backpackers
Ranked #35 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Hi this is a very cheap hostel for the location, quite small but theres a tv area and a drinking area outside so something to do whatever your mood....

Not the cleanest but that is to be expected with hostel :-)

Overall enjoyed my stay at the Ozi inn.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShelleyH83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

This hostel was filled with really nice people but that is as far as it goes!
worst hostel I've stayed in since being in Australia.
Myself and my boyfriend were covered in bites and woke up several times in the night itching from the bugs!
Both woke up one morning with rashes around lips and nose where we were allergic to the amount of dust in the rooms.
Woke up in the mornings to find them crawling up the wall and I even picked one off my neck!!!
Manager was told about the bed bugs and only sprayed the room - IT NEEDS THE HELP OF PROFESSIONALS! They are everywhere, it's horrible!
Nothing is clean at this hostel, the shower must not have been cleaned in weeks as there was yellow/ orange scum going up about half a metre up, that's from several weeks built up of fat!
Hair everywhere in the bathroom and even waking up in the morning I felt dirty.
Air con in the room would get covered in ice from being on throughout the night so would have to be turned off during the day due to the air con unit needing to defrost. where it would just drip water down the wall onto a plug.
Bed sheets were stained and mattresses had crater dips in the middle of them.
We were constantly itching from the bites and the thought of those bugs being in our clothes, beds and bags!
For $27 a night, I'd at least hope for a clean environment.
Herman the new manager / owner (whatever he is!) is sly and if he doesn't like you, he'll tell you there's no beds even though he knows you pay every week so you are left with no bed the day after. A number of times he's done this due to not liking people because they play drinking games... or in our case we owned a little boom box which we used to play music out of whilst we were pre drinking. If he didn't like something about you, he couldn't speak to your face but only force you to leave.
Useless.
Horrible place, don't waste your time or money.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppyrex28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seealwaysinside, Manager at Ozi Inn Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

they were told repeatly to reduce their music as it was after 10 pm. we have no choice but to ask them to leave. the review of bedbags is not correct as you can see in their photo attach. it does not even look like a bedbug. we know you are angry for asking to leave the property but we would like to thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

The place is not perfect, but the people are great... The management is fair enough... They do there best to please and help everyone and make you feel at home... Its not a big place but if you want to stay were everyone ends up good friends at the end of the day... Then ozi in is an excellent place to start your aussie adventure...

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7931john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We really enjoyed staying in the ozi inn. The people and Herman, the owner, are all relaxed, helpful, chatty and friendly. The rooms and kitchen are always clean and tidy. And the best thing; free pancakes every morning!

We defenitely recommend staying there!

Room Tip: All of them are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tamara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

My partner and i stayed at the Ozi Inn for 3 nights. Felt like an entire lifetime! We couldnt wait to check out.

Plus points = free airport pickup, walking distance 10 mins from downtown.

Negative points = poor management, rip off prices and seriously in need of a deep, deep clean! I appreciate some of the Management comments on here, that these guys work hard, no doubt in trying to run a successful business in a foreign country. Hats off to anyone that has the balls and determination to do it. But something just isn't working out with the cleaning thing! I've stayed in many hostels throughout Australia and indeed the world, and this was by far the poorest in terms of hygiene.

The bedding; stained, smelly, itchy, holey, very off putting. I would recommend a trip to ikea and investing in some basic clean blankets, pillows, matresses and linen. Then ensuring the blankets are not given to a new guest without being washed first. This is hostel basics.

The bathrooms...ok, they are old and perhaps re-tiling, new showers etc would be a tad heavy on the budget right now, but the least they could do is clean them twice a day.....deep clean with bleach etc so at least they look an smell ok. A quick skim over by a backpacker every other day just doesnt cut it. Nobody wants to wash with a scummy showerhead and some other backpackers pubes!

The kitchen...this was possibly the worst element of our stay. I would not recommend to cook in there. Perhaps try McD's instead. Pans and utensils are lacking. The worktops feel slick with grease. The stove top again thick with grease and remnants of decaying food. Again, not satisfactory to leave the cleaning up the backpackers, this communal kitchen requires a deep clean at least twice a day. It's simply how it must be when housing several guests. You cannot expect backpackers alone to clean up perfectly after themselves. A degree of cleaning has to be put in by Management or cleaning staff. Needless to say, we did not indulge in the free pancake breakfast as you can imagine, the gloopy white batter in the heavily stained/greased pan did not look that inviting in the dank kitchen. Again, if i was going to suggest improvement, it would be....close the kitchen for 2 days, get the professionals in to give the place a deep clean and degrease....but then most importantly....maintain it. Another trip to ikea for pots,pans, cutlery etc and perhaps employ a cleaner.

Overall, the advise i would give to other travellers, is to stay at the Emperors Crown. Its around the same price and much cleaner/nicer hostel for the money.

Sorry guys! Could have been a decent hostel but a bit of cash and cleaning investment needed from the Management Team.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunny l, Manager at Ozi Inn Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

From our records, we do not have your name registered with us. I guess you might have used a different name to check into our hostel. Anyway from your review, you were promoting another hostel call emperors crown. Its funny why didnt you stay there and if you did stay there why didnt you write any review on emperors crown review page?????

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Had a heap of fun with absolutely everyone in there. Herman (new manager) is an absolute legend & will do anything to help out if he can. It's a very central location with easy access to everything (supermarket-5 min. walk, heaps of night life-5 min. walk, central Perth-20 min. walk). Has basically all you need, & a great atmosphere. Made some really good friends (look forward to seeing you again Pauline- don't forget to call us when you're coming over) & will definately be calling in there next time i'm back that way.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

This Hostel is a very nice one with a lot of nice people. The people who run this Hostel are very good people. They help you with everything! When i`m back in Perth some day, i am surely going back to OZI INN!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Soeren10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#15 of 66 in Perth
1,354 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#12 of 66 in Perth
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Perth
#21 of 66 in Perth
2,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ozi Inn Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ozi Inn Backpackers

Address: 282 Newcastle St | Northbridge, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Price Range: £11 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good news!..We provide free airport pick up. It Feels safe when a staff from ozi inn pick you up from airport directly to ozi inn. We have daily free pancake breakfast, coffee/tea all day long and rice for dinner. It's all free. This is a friendly backpacker hostel NOT a hotel.if you are expecting a hotel standard...Please don't stay here. We just hate insults from customers who wants to stay cheap and expecting a hotel standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Ozi Inn Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ozi Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing