We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst hostel i have ever been to ..” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ozi Inn Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ozi Inn Backpackers
Ranked #32 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Perth
sydney
1 review
“The worst hostel i have ever been to ..”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

This hostel definitely deserves the worst hostel award. After travelling on the road for 19 months, I have never encountered such an awful hostel. The hostel is in a complete mess. Something needs to be done with the way it is managed. It is a rip-off, you are better off paying $3 more to another hostel down the road. I was appalled at the level of hygiene there. Apart from dirty bathrooms the girls dorm ranked of a stale musty air and the linen were obviously not washed properly. The staff werent that inviting. There are signs saying the kitchen opens at '6am' but it clearly opens when management have woken up and are ready to unleash the locks. It is also problematic if you need to to check out early in the morning. There is no one at the reception (when i attempted to check out at 9am) and you may need to knock onto almost every single room (and wake the entire hostel up) in order to proceed with your check-out.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kyan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    20
    7
    5
    18
See reviews for
Families
0
10
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

Friendly helpful staff who were full of local information and ideas for activities. Great atmosphere in the hostel itself-a real family vibe, its small and intimate with everyone eating and taking part in the various meals , day trips and nights out that the workers put on. It has some great backpacker deals arranged with local pubs and clubs in Northbridge itself, with BBQ's, great DVD selection and even table tennis tournaments-random! The accommodation is a little rustic but clean and well presented. The hostel is literally aroung the corner from the Northbridge nightlife and a 10 min walk into town. Also theres a great selection of places to eat just keep away from the CBD as its a little pricey!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TinkerbellTheSequel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2009

Kitchen does not open until after 8 am, so the free coffee and tea starts after most of have to go out. Kitchen closes at 11 when we want to make a late snack.
People are great, management are brain dead. Internet costs a too much, advertised as free, everything is a rip off, they just bleed you to death.
Great people, stupid management. Stay away, a big rip off.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulsb2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2009

We stayed at Ozi Inn for one night in January 2009. It's one of the worst hostels I've ever stayed in- dirty, smelly, not so friendly staff, tiny 'free' breakfast.

You can get much much better accommodation for the same, if not less money- we moved to Billabong's which was far far better.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TheWormish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2007

I have stayed in many hostels in Australia and never been more disgusted in my life! i'm a back packer so not expecting much but this place was so dirty, smelly and disgusting! Stayed one night and that was torture! Would never stay there again even if they paid me too. way nicer hostels in Perth. For me this place wouldnt even be an option!

  • Liked — leaving the next day
  • Disliked — having to stay one night
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank shane4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2006

This place was nice enough, clean sheets and friendly staff with people hanging about watching telly together nursing hangovers in the mornings. I fancied somewhere a bit more laid back though so this wasn't the place for me.

  • Stayed March 2002, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chemical_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2005

All good!!! the staff, the vibe, the general hostel. loved it will be back at the end of my travels. Ive stayed here 2 years ago and its better than before. See you guys soon.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Coolibah Lodge Backpackers
Perth CBD
City Perth Backpackers Hostel
Perth CBD
North Lodge Backpackers/ Perth City Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Perth
Beatty Lodge
Beatty Lodge
#15 of 61 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ozi Inn Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ozi Inn Backpackers

Property: Ozi Inn Backpackers
Address: 282 Newcastle St | Northbridge, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good news!..We provide free airport pick up. It Feels safe when a staff from ozi inn pick you up from airport directly to ozi inn. We have daily free pancake breakfast, coffee/tea all day long and rice for dinner. It's all free. This is a friendly backpacker hostel NOT a hotel.if you are expecting a hotel standard...Please don't stay here. We just hate insults from customers who wants to stay cheap and expecting a hotel standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Ozi Inn Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ozi Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing