We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hostel in need of a revamp”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coolibah Lodge Backpackers
Ranked #7 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I stayed in a double room which was advertised as having A/C only problem was that the system had broken which resulted in an un comfy hot night in our little shed sized room. The power extension lead in the room which provided more sockets was faulty and regularly sparked. The hostel lacks sufficient numbers of toilets/showers for the number of people staying - 2 male/ 2 female toilets. Its a great place to stay if you want to keep yourself to yourself - its spread between lots of rooms. You have to hire cutlery/plates during your stay from reception - though it wasnt mentioned on checking in by the staff and after a treasure hunt around the kitchen a resident told us where to hire it from. Its a little army camp with all the rules plastered everywhere - even in the toilet! with a reminder that they will evict and then blacklist you should you break any of them. The main plus about the hostel is that its in a quiet end of town.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haylbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2013

It's comfortable and nice but it is not really adapted for the backpackers alone. Not easy to meet people and hostel too quiet for me. Staff are really friendly and helpful that why I spent a nice stay even I won't come again because I am traveling alone. Good value for price and quality but I think it's better for couple.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Had a nice atmosphere but a little ott on the rules, especially the no alcohol one. i thought staff friendly and helpful. Thought the rooms were a little dirty and were only cleaned once a week! Should def be cleaned more than that! There was a lot of random stuff left in the rooms by previous guests all the time I was there. What was a little worrying to me were the Cockroaches in the showers. The dead ones were just left on the floor and not cleaned up!
No security lockers in the rooms, I locked my valuables in my suitcase or took them out with me.
Not a bad distance to the city centre, about 10-15 mins walk.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claire s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stayed here in a double room.Comfortable and spacious.They have Global Gossip internet which you pay for.
Staff aren't the most helpful.It's good value for money.

The way the hostel is set out makes it hard to meet everybody.Loads of little rooms and social areas.Saying that I'd stay here again.They take no messing of anybody and if somsbody does cause trouble they sling them out.

You can't bring your own alcohol into the hostel.They do sell alcohol at reception though and there is free breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angusthescot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Contrary to other reviews here I think the positives stopped in this place after you met the friendly people on reception.

First and most importantly, the rooms are TINY and are in urgent need of refubishment.

Worringly, myself and at least one other person in our 4 bed dorm roon was awoken several times during the night due to being cold. This was only remedied after telling reception and we were given a huge heavy rough blanket which STILL didn't keep the cold out. There is no provision for secure storage in the rooms, so you just have to hope and pray that the other guests in your room are the honest type lol.

The beds feel flimsy and do not have a step access for the top bunk meaning you have to perform a gymnastic feat to get up and down. This, coupled with the cold air, low ceilings and general lack of decoration mean you never feel truly comfortable here.

For all intents and purposes this is an Irish backpackers hostel btw. They make up 90% of the guests and whilst not a problem in itself they tend to be somewhat closed off to non-Irish and this was noted by several people other than myself.

It's location is rubbish. It's an undulating 15-20 minute walk to the city centre and the same the other way to the nearest supermarket.

The overall layout of the place is weird too. It's basically two large houses adjacent to each other, modified to make a backpackers lodge. Doesn't sound too bad on paper but in practice you are left with a veritable rabbits warren of random unpractical rooms (seperate shower from toilet for example) which seemingly branch off everywhere.

They have a very draconian policy on alcohol too. Strictly none is allowed inside of the hostel (including rooms) but you are "permitted" to buy overpriced cans from the reception fridge (I was told there was a bar there when I first checked in) which then have to be OPENED by a member of staff in front of you! I was told at 11:40 that they had stopped serving cans despite the manager telling me the night before that it was 12.
Obviously this is part of the terms of the licence but is just yet another reason why there is a heavy and opressive atmosphere over the place. It doesn't feel like a backpackers at all, it feels like a halfway house for prisoners with it's opressive rules and cliquey groups of (overwhelmingy Irish) backpackers.

There is a no guest policy surprise surprise as well.

Lastly and by no means least there is the small matter of price. They charge $32 per night for a 4 bed dorm in a cold, uncomfortable room. This was at the beginning of Spring and thus is bound to increase. A hostel not far down the road and closer to the action quoted me $40 for a single room, as by way of comparison.

As one redeeming feature the place is clean in all fairness, but give me a spot of dust here and there in return for a decent warm room any day of the week,

So I would definitley check out other hostels before booking here!

Room Tip: Ask for one not located outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlangd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoolibahLodge, Manager at Coolibah Lodge Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Hi Maja,

Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay with us!

We try our upmost to make our guest feel welcome and comfortable.

Please be aware that you could have come to reception any time and we would have addressed any issues you had.

Hopefully you will enjoy the rest of your stay in Australia

Kind regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

nice cottage style place but a bit far out town, good staff

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Having read the horror stories of hostels in Perth we were not expecting much. However, we spent two nights there and were pleasantly surprised. The staff were very friendly, the communal areas were clean and the room was good quality. Despite there being a large amount of people staying there noise wasn't a problem.

Although slighlty out of the city centre there is pleanty of decent restaurants and pubs nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bat185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoolibahLodge, Manager at Coolibah Lodge Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Hi,

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us!

It is currently peak season in Perth therefore we try our best to accommodate all of our guests and we are sorry if you found that annoying, unfortunately due to being licensed we have set rules that we have to abide by because of the liquor act.

Our internet is Global Gossip which fixed prices $15 for 7 days unlimited is a very reasonably price and not very expensive at all for Perth.

We keep mail for every person who lets us know that they are expecting some. If you let us know at reception to keep your mail we would contact you when it arrives.We are sorry about the misunderstanding, but we also do not throw any mail in the trash . All mail is return back to the sender at the end of every week!

Coolibah Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#5 of 56 in Perth
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
City Perth Backpackers Hostel
East Perth
Wickham Retreat Backpackers
Perth CBD
Billabong Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coolibah Lodge Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolibah Lodge Backpackers

Address: 190-194 Brisbane St | Northbridge, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Price Range: £12 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Coolibah Lodge Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coolibah Lodge is a vibrant, fun, fully licensed hostel. Catering for the young and young at heart, we offer an affordable, clean and comfortable stay in a homely hostel located 5 mins from the heart of Northbridge. Accredited with the Tourism WA and a Finalist in the 2015 & 2016 TNT Golden Backpackers Award , the hostel has a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. We cater for those hot balmy summer nights and cool crisp winter evenings with climate control conditions and heated comfort. Free Breakfast! Free WiFi Now Available Limited 2 hours free daily. Paid internet available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Coolibah Lodge Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing