We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WELL WORTH THE TIME”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bell Tower

The Bell Tower
Book In Advance
More Info
US$34.34*
and up
History, Culture and Heritage Walking Tour of Perth
Ranked #18 of 178 things to do in Perth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Twelve of the 18 bells in this tower came from London's St.-Martin-in-the-Fields church in Trafalgar Square as a Bicentenary gift to the people of Western Australia in 1988. Originally cast in the 13th century and recast in the 16th and 18th centuries, they were rung at the homecoming of James Cook after his voyage of discovery in 1771, after the Battle of El Alamein in 1942 and at the coronation of every British monach since George II in 1727.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“WELL WORTH THE TIME”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Many Perth people have nothing but condemnation for the Bell Tower but in reality it is a great tourist icon for the City of Perth. OK right now it is in a poor state because of the construction of Elizabeth Quay but once the precinct is finished it will once again command a central point of tourism for Perth.

Unfortunately there are no photos attached to this review as the area in question is a building site with mess everywhere so it is not a good time to visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belltower1, Manager at The Bell Tower, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    386
    208
    68
    32
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Rang a church bell for the first time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We arrived just as there was a demonstration taking place and we were fortunate to get the opportunity for 'hands on' experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahB1258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belltower1, Manager at The Bell Tower, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so glad that you got to have a chime of a bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Soak up views of the river from the Bell Tower”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

If you are lucky you will hear the peel of the bells as you approach this iconic landmark near the Swan River in Perth. Just learning about the "Bells" at Swan Bells makes the visit interesting. The historic ring of bells was given to the people of Western Australia as part of the national Bicentennial celebrations in 1988. Among its many attributes the Bell Tower includes the twelve bells of St Martin-in-the-Fields, which are recorded as being in existence from before the 14th century and recast in the 16th century by Queen Elizabeth I. Check out before your visit options if you want to ring the bells yourself. Climb to the observation platform, a wonderful vantage point to see Perth and the Swan River and also the new Elizabeth Quay development (under construction).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jenanpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belltower1, Manager at The Bell Tower, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such an informative response. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Tower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Allow more than 30 minutes.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

To our surprise we arrived 1/2 hr before closing - why do they close so early? So we didn't get to ring the bells and felt we were hurrying everything in order to be out on time. Lovely views. It was worth putting money in the machine to hear the bells, they were lovely. Wished we had time to really see the displays properly and all else the place had to offer.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belltower1, Manager at The Bell Tower, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We are sorry to hear that you felt rushed during your visit. Unfortunately we close quite early particularly in the winter months. If you are in Perth again please email admin@thebelltower.com.au and we can arrange something for you next time so that you can spend a bit longer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No ringing bells”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Very disappointing visit. Paid $ to enter, once inside and after we paid we were told that the volunteers ringing the bells did not pitch. What? And you charged me the same price?

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ester_labuschagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bell Tower also viewed

 
Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to The Bell Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing