We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good time!”

Rio Tinto Naturescape, Kings Park
Ranked #36 of 167 things to do in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Western Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Always a good time!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our kids hang out to visit here on trips to Perth. Open space, things to climb and water - all a kid and their imagination needs. Great spot to let them burn off some steam, have a run around and forget that we are in the city! A place you can visit for a short time or take a longer period.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank hewieandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    36
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We need more places like this in Perth!!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

By far, the best park in Perth where children (and adults!!) can play like they're supposed to play- using their imaginations, taking risks and using natural materials for toys. No plastic here!! I take my 2 year old here regularly for some good old-fashioned fun. He loves it and never gets bored, unlike with other parks where he's had enough after a couple of hours. Yes, children need to be supervised but that's the whole point with this park- adults and kids working and playing together!! I reccommend it for everyone- from toddlers to adults. Of course there are going to be times when it is crowded- I always go first thing in the morning and its usually pretty quiet. Even when it's busy, you can always find little spots where it's less crowded. And yes, there are always some children there that really need some better supervision, but I find that happening at most parks. The rangers are awesome and always walking around, letting us know of activities happening in the Naturescape. My little one loves making mud pies and lining the rocks up and digging around with the sticks and leaves. Wear practical clothes and prepared to get dirty and wet! An awesome adventure!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melshaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fun but young kids need to be supervised as lots of water areas”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We took a 8 year old and 2 year old. Having now visited I would not really recommend it for toddlers however we saw many there. It was very crowded the day we were there with lots of noisy, poorly controlled groups of young kids. Despite the signs saying "no throwing stones" in the creek area many children were throwing stones and one child threw a large one which would have been very nasty but fortunately just missed my child's head. You don't need to be a hovercraft parent however, you do no need to guide your kids towards responsible behaviour.

I think they need to limit the numbers more strictly that enter the area.

Good for primary school aged kids. Be prepared for your kids to climb high, get dirty and wet. A change of clothes is recommended.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank fragola66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic out door fun for the kids”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Let them get their hands dirty, build cubby play in water does not get better than this. Kind of controlled kids play but still great fun!! Best park in Perth and free wonderful

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Larissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A nice place to take your family within Kings Park”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Its free entry. Not very crowded. lots of shady areas to sit down and relax or have a meal and drinks.Kids will be entertained to some extent.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank gmj_ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rio Tinto Naturescape, Kings Park also viewed

Belmont, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Rio Tinto Naturescape, Kings Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing