We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap Accommodation Walking Distance from the City.”
Review of City Waters

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
City Waters
Ranked #50 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Narrogin, Western Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cheap Accommodation Walking Distance from the City.”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Picked this accommodation solely on price and location. Checked the reviews and it seemed like it would be value for money for one night. I tried booking online and even though the process completed online when I phoned the next day (day of arrival) the booking hadn't been received by the management so I had to rebook.

Because we arrived early parking was no problem, but as is the case with most inner city properties it filled quickly leaving only the street (and the ubiquitous parking revenue raisers) if you miss out. Once parked you don't need your car to get to the city centre which can be walked to (10-15 minutes) or a free bus ride (all buses free in the city zone) from Adelaide Tce. Northbridge is about 25 minutes walk with plenty of food options. We ordered a pizza from the recommended "All Night Pizza" in Vic park and were very disappointed. The river is only a couple of minutes walk across a park.

The room we had was a "Double/Single", a single room with a kitchen and bathroom. It has the a single bed and a queen size bed. The room is nothing flash. The pillows were old and flat, the mattresses were also on the worn side. There is a basic flat screen TV, aircon (which was not that efficient and we were pleased we didn't have to rely on it in heat) The kitchen is equipped with all necessities and would be sufficient for most stays. The bathroom is compact. The room could do with a good scrub, but wasn't filthy. The bed cover was a bit (dirt) stained, there was a little mould in the bathroom grout. We did have a visit from a mouse!

City Waters doesn't promise luxury but it was, for a city property, reasonable value and I would consider staying again. The close proximity to the city centre is the real selling point.

Room Tip: Book over the phone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thestretchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    53
    46
    17
    18
See reviews for
29
58
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
WA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The City Waters Motel is clean, comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. In a city where accomodation is ridiculously over priced it is nice to have an affordable option in a great location.
The rooms are not fancy but have flat screen tvs, convection microwave ovens, cook tops, clean bathrooms and comfy beds.
The location is great-it is about 800m walk to the malls but you are right next to the river and not far from the Barrack Street Jetty.
I would stay again.

Room Tip: Be friendly-it may get you a nicer room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The fittings ARE old but the bed is comfy and towels etc are clean. There are basic kitchen utensils but enough. Great location for the morning walk.

My only complaint relates to the temperature of the room. It had been a extented period of above 40 degrees and the room retained the heat. A/C wasn't that effective and opening the windows didn't seem to help much.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loucal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed here for 8 days in Feb/Mar 2012. While the unit was older, it was clean, well maintained and recently refurbished by the look of it. New appliances (gas stove, microwave, fridge, toaster and elec kettle), and a good sized flat screen TV. Mattress was extremely comfortable and the room was very quiet. Our room had very good 3G mobile internet, however a wireless connection is available also from the motel.

What we particularly liked was that the free CAT bus to down-town and the rail station was only a short walk away. Many restaurants in the area, and the Swan River and it's walkways were just across large grassed park in front of the motel.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at City Waters and would recommend it for anyone looking for reasonable, close in accommodation in Perth.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 17larry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I have stayed at City Waters on numerous occasions and always found the staff to be very friendly and the accommodation always clean and well kept and quiet.
All the apartments have their own full kitchen and bathroom which is very convenient if you want to do your own cooking.
The property overlooks the beautiful Swan River.
I would certainly recommend City Waters to my friends as great 3 star accommadation to stay while in Perth.
I will be back!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brook12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I booked to stay here for 3 nights.
I walked into the the one bedroom apartment and could not belive it.
the photos on the internet where nothing like my room.
it smelt, the bathroom was gross, had mould around the bath, i wouldnt have even washed my do in it.
the cupboard for your clothes would not attend to place anything in there, looked as if they were going to fall apart.
there was heavy metal music playing at the units next door.
I walked out and they would not give any money back.
cheap and nasty accommodation, not worth the 3 star rating i would struggle to give it a 1 star rating.
Could not believe how different the apartment was from the pictures on the net.
Do not risk it, book elsewhere

Room Tip: Do Not Book Here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank unhappy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fellmann, Owner at City Waters, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Hi
thank you for your feed back.I am very sorry the standard of your studio at City Waters did not meet your expectation. We make every effort to provide the public with clean and well maintained accommodation. I also would like to bring to your attention that City Waters is an older 3 star property in an excellent location and still good value for money.
Kind regards,
Lisa von Felten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Trying to find somewhere to stay in perth during the festive season is difficult, so opted for City Waters based on previous reviews. Mainly for it's location and free parking. Don't let the building put you off, inside the bedroom/living, kitchen & bathroom are nicely appointed & clean. I will definitely go back and all for a third of the price of other hotels located near by.

Room Tip: Requested a room at the rear to avoid noise from the park across the road at the front of the comple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Alderney on Hay
Alderney on Hay
#52 of 64 in Perth
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
All Suites Perth
All Suites Perth
#33 of 64 in Perth
284 reviews
East Perth
Mont Clare Boutique Apartments
Seasons of Perth
#48 of 64 in Perth
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Waters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Waters

Property: City Waters
Address: 118 Terrace Rd, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Waters 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Waters is located by the banks of Swan River on Terrace Road, Perth, offering 62 Studio Apartments with a fully-equipped kitchen with a range of rooms suitable for 1 to 6 adults. Our central location is a few minutes walk away from Perth CBD, main shopping retails on Hay Street & Murray Street, entertainment and dining precincts. Whether you are travelling for business or leisure, our 3-star accommodation will offer you a relaxing and indulgent stay. Free on-site Car Parking on First-come-first-serve basis, subject to availability. All reservations made on directly to us through Walk-Ins, Phone or Email will receive FREE WIFI during the stay. Reception Hours: 7am to 8pm Check-in: 14:00 Check-out: 10:00 For arrival after 8pm, kindly contact City Waters for late check-in procedure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your City Waters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Waters Hotel Perth
City Waters Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing