We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but filled the need for one night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Waters

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City Waters
Ranked #63 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Berwick, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Basic but filled the need for one night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had to find a place for one night only and as we were arriving very late and leaving early didn't want to pay the earth for just a sleep and shower. Perth prices are very expensive. This hotel was obviously a block of flats way back when and look ordinary. However the room was very clean and tidy and fulfilled our need. We did not use the kitchen facilities but they would be handy for those staying longer. To be honest I would prefer a 'nicer' place if I was staying longer but would have to pay much more for the privilege.

So glad we were allocated a ground floor, I would not have enjoyed lugging suitcases up stairs late at night. Staff very friendly and we received a courtesy email the day we left thanking us for staying.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    49
    46
    17
    18
See reviews for
27
57
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Very good for the price and close to some nice bars and cafes. Looks a bit like a jail from outside but the rooms are clean and comfortable with a good kitchen and superb shower. Only a short taxi ride from the airport too. The only complaint I have is no fault of the hotel, everything in Perth is so bloody expensive.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank chum38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We booked at City Waters because it had a kitchen and we have dietary needs which is often better to cook yourself. It had a good size separate kitchen, it was quite, located in a good spot away from the traffic noise but close enough to CBD and ferries, buses and trains. The rooms are a little dated but comfortable and shower had good pressure. There was off street parking which was an advantage.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, NZ
Level Contributor
149 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We found City Waters convenient for walking to Perth shops, and also very convenient for getting to the Barrack St ferry (for Rottnest Island express). I am a light sleeper, but the hotel rooms are surprisingly quiet for such a central location. I had a good sleep each night. The rooms are not fancy, a little dark, but nice and cool at night. Good TV, good shower pressure, and good kitchen facilities. WiFi is extra (we used 3G). Parking may be limited if all rooms are occupied, but we had no issues. Overall, the place isn't fancy (Duxton is just down the road if you want to pay extra!) but is quiet, clean, and very handy to the city. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

This hotel surprised me. The charge indicated at least an average hotel. When, I arrived at 8 PM on Sunday, the reception was locked and had a key card dispenser. Other surprising policy was that entire room rent had to be paid in advance.

The hotel looked like row houses converted to a set of hotel rooms. You had smoking areas in the aisle along the rooms and can be considered a luxury for smokers. The room looked dingy with no ventilation. This is the first hotel, where the towels were dark green in color.

The room did not convey the feeling of cleanliness as there were scratch marks on the door and the walls were some hue of green. I did not notice any stains and hence sounded livable.

The staff were very friendly. Other than that, the whole setup seemed insecure. It would be difficult for me to agree to stay in here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ravi Shankar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight on short notice. Room was old and dated but for price and location was very reasonable. Nice staff and quality of room was clean and good size. If stayed in Perth again would consider again due to location too CBD.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

This is a little jewel, my wife and I drove over from Sydney and were looking for somewhere secure and VFM in the city centre, this spot ticks all the boxes, the staff are so friendly and helpful, the location is right in the middle of town - 3 blocks for everything in terms of shopping and eating, and really quite, what impressed me most though was the highest levels of hygiene in the rooms, they were spotless on arrival and cleaned everyday to the highest standards, I'd highly recommend this motel for a few nights stay in the Perth City Centre,

Room Tip: Stay on the bottom floor, and book early in advance, it's full every night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corkeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
All Suites Perth
All Suites Perth
#39 of 81 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Perth CBD
Comfort Inn Wentworth Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Waters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Waters

Property: City Waters
Address: 118 Terrace Rd, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Waters 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Waters is located by the banks of Swan River on Terrace Road, Perth, offering 62 Studio Apartments with a fully-equipped kitchen with a range of rooms suitable for 1 to 6 adults. Our central location is a few minutes walk away from Perth CBD, main shopping retails on Hay Street & Murray Street, entertainment and dining precincts. Whether you are travelling for business or leisure, our 3-star accommodation will offer you a relaxing and indulgent stay. Free on-site Car Parking on First-come-first-serve basis, subject to availability. All reservations made on directly to us through Walk-Ins, Phone or Email will receive FREE WIFI during the stay. Reception Hours: 7am to 8pm Check-in: 14:00 Check-out: 10:00 For arrival after 8pm, kindly contact City Waters for late check-in procedure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your City Waters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Waters Hotel Perth
City Waters Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing