We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shame on You... 'The Management of Backpack City and Surf'!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Backpack City and Surf
Ranked #28 of 59 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
“Shame on You... 'The Management of Backpack City and Surf'!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

It was dirty all over the place. Kitchen was terrible dirty with unwashed utensil and ect2. It was shocking for me when i first enter to prepare my meal its like animal farm. At the end i change my mind by eating bread and drinks water only. There was few permanent ppl staying quite rude. Noise by these ppl at night time make visitors face sleepless nights. Shower room without door. The standard of cleanliness was worst than 3rd world countries. its totally DISGUSTING !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Avoid this place
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jersy_no5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    12
    5
    4
    11
See reviews for
Families
0
4
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Apart from the dark dingy dirty common areas and rooms, the service was beyond appalling!!
I arrived at 4.55 and even though there was a man at the desk he refused to check us in till 5 on the dot. 20 minutes later when they were finally "ready" to check me in saying they were rude would be putting it politely. When entering the room it was not cleaned with the previous persons rubbish still there. On our way out the manager pulled me up and talked to me like a criminal because his staff did not charge the 2nd person for there bond and get passport details. He needs to learn some manners and learn what Australian customer service is.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZalisia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Its like a concentrationcamp. The reception is only open a few hours a day and they not even call a transfer for you to the airport. I worked in a hostel myself in Australia and is the worst experience i had after a year travelling in Australia. Hot rooms with no windows! No pool nothing

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincs
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

I have nothing good to say.
Please please avoid this place backpackers, just because we are on a budget should not mean we have to live like vermin.
Filthy. Everywhere. I mean really really dirty. The pillow case we were given had what looked like urine stains all over it.
Ridiculously hot rooms.
Small poorly equipped kitchen.
Manager who checked us in presented us with a set of house rules (no alcohol etc, although everyone ignores them) and told us that the hostel isnt clean, and they could do better. The cleaners need firing.
Plus apparently in this hostel, german is the native language. English backpackers prepare to be ignored.

Room Tip: Just go down the street to somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieLou1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perth
Citylights Hotel
#65 of 124 in Greater Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Perth CBD
Coolibah Lodge Backpackers
Perth CBD
Britannia on William
Britannia on William
#32 of 59 in Perth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Haus Accommodation
Haus Accommodation
#29 of 59 in Perth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Perth CBD
City Perth Backpackers Hostel
Perth CBD
Billabong Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpack City and Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpack City and Surf

Property: Backpack City and Surf
Address: 41 Money St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 59 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Backpack City and Surf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing