We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“you get what you pay for !” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Exclusive Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Exclusive Backpackers
Ranked #33 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“you get what you pay for !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

well located , good supermarket in front , well priced .... but .... the owners are Greek , and think there still back home 30 years ago . Mrs Greek at reception , friendly but scatterbrained , Mr Greek , grumpy , rude , unhelpful and nosy . for some reason the wifi was switched off without notice at 2200 and reappeared the next morning , with the new daily password , which I had to beg for both days. The ceiling fan was very effective , the shower intermittingly hot , the towel which cost $2 was made of nylon , there were no lockers , the kitchen was good and well stocked with utensils ... available for use until 2200 , at 2201 Mr Grumpy of course checking ! There are no lockers nor curtains .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eljudioerrante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    14
    9
    4
    8
See reviews for
3
8
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

This hostel was recommended to me by a Volunteer at Perth airport. Initially I was unsure because of the negative reviews, but I'm pleasantly surprised.
The rooms are really comfortable, the vibe is peaceful for a centrally located backpackers, and the staff were very helpful, the man at reception even took my heavy surfboard bag up to the room which after a long flight, I was grateful of.
The bathrooms were also clean with nice showers.
As a single woman staying here, I also felt very safe.
I would recommend, for sure.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RozConners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

If the definition of 'exclusive' is old, dated, poor quality and badly run then this hostel is most definitely 'exclusive'. A friend and I had a 3 person dorm with air conditioning booked, however when we turned up it turned out that all was available was a 4 person dorm with a ceiling fan. Although we arrived after 9.00pm we still had to wait for the room to be 'cleaned'. It is also worth mentioning that the room did not have a T.V. which it is advertised as having on the website. The room on top of not actually being what we booked was unclean, musty and uncomfortably hot, due to no a/c, which made it very difficult to sleep. On our first morning in the hostel, a Sunday, we were woken by the owner and cleaner berfore 9:00am and told to leave the room so they could clean it. This clean, the second in 24 hours, still made no difference! The kitchen and bathroom facilites in this hostel are inadequate, small and dirty. The only positive is its location, a 15 minute walk from the city. This allowed for us to spend maxmium time in the city and minimal amount of time in the hostel. We departed berfore all our paid days were complete it was that bad. The only thing 'exclusive' with this hostel is the name.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, don't choose a room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed here in December 2013 ... I think I was the only female in the place, every other person seemed to actually live there .. lots of guys from the mines staying over here ... didnt have a backpacker feel to it at all .. not dirty but old, worn and grubby .. not a place I would recommend for a single woman to be staying .. that said very convinient for the city .. but if your single and female avoid it !

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireFox16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Just one word : AWFUL. If you can chose another place I will advice you ! The owners are 3 : mother, father and son ! Every day, the father is grumpy. The prices are not the same as on the website. They add $3. No wifi connection. And to connect you must to pay $3 per hour. It's no safe for the women because there are strange mens and at night there are no night watchman. this place is the nightmare for all backpackers. Sorry for spelling errors.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ni N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

When you first arrive at the Perth airport, take a shuttle to T3 to take Transperth bus no. 37. After the bus crosses the river, you are almost at this location on Adelaide Terrace. It is easy to locate and is right next to Bayswater Car rental so it was very convenient for us. Room is alright, equipped with a heater but bathroom can be quite cold with the widnows opened. Kitchen is well equipped too. Free coffee and tea. It is about 15 min walk to Murray Street in the centre of CBD. Just opposite there's a 24h minimart.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seehow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leixlip, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

Me and my travel mate stayed in this hostel for 5 days.

We had booked two beds in a dorm with a fan.
After a long (I repeat: Long!) flight we finally arrived Australia and was REALLY tired.

We took a taxi to this hostel from the airport in the morning and we met the owner in the reception saying that "If we could come back 10 AM and she could see if they had something available."

I was like "You’re kidding right?"

The hostel is located just a short walk from Perth City Center, so Its a great location.

I wouldn’t pay $32 a night for a room in this dorm again.
This is the only hostel I felt had bad atmosphere.

The staff should learn to understand backpackers concept and needs.

Not doing stupid stuff like staff looking over your shoulder and checking rubbish bins for beer cans on the balcony.

If you have the time to look for other options in Perth then go for something else.
If this is your only option, then its OK for a night or two.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Backpacking_Eskimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#64 of 80 in Perth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Crowne Plaza Perth
#22 of 80 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
All Suites Perth
All Suites Perth
#39 of 80 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
East Perth
Alderney on Hay
Alderney on Hay
#63 of 80 in Perth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exclusive Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exclusive Backpackers

Property: Exclusive Backpackers
Address: 156 Adelaide Tce, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive Backpackers is affordable accommodation with style and character. It's quiet, clean, secure and comfortable, Our goal is to make our guests feel welcome. In the friendly atmosphere at "Exclusive Backpackers" we like our guests enjoy their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Exclusive Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exclusive Backpackers Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing