We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 nights in Perth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Criterion Hotel Perth
Ranked #55 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Nairne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“3 nights in Perth”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

this is the worst hotel I have stayed in,
it was relatively cheap, for it's location,
and the room was clean, with new looking carpet.

althow the rest of the fittings were in disrepair and the showerhead fell off when touched,
the bedside lamps and floor lamps were leaning at odd angles,

the beds were a double and silnge neither of which were fantastic, the double bed sagged in the middle.

there was also a very loud airconditioning unnit directly outside our window that serviced some other room, after having a second sleep deprived night we wrote off the last night that we had pre-paid and moved to a much better hotel,
it was interesting to note that the staff at the hotel desk did not ever enquire why we were leaving a day early I can only assume they are used to having dissapointed guests

Room Tip: pick a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    162
    170
    53
    52
See reviews for
93
138
85
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ireland, West Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Great Location! Walking distance from shops and free public buses within the CBD. Stumbled upon on the internet and wasn't expecting much but happy I made the choice to stay here. Staff extremely helpful. Stayed for 5 nights and will visit again. Rooms clean and hotel has heritage ambience. Paid a decent rate for such a central location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank p_holtzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at this hotel with a large group visiting from the USA. Nice things first: the staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is centrally and conveniently located.Now for the rest: wi-fi access is spotty at best. While I am all for disconnecting while traveling, being over 10,000 miles from home makes being able to connect important. Our group was constantly calling down to the desk to ask them to reset the wireless router. Decor is depressing, outdated and worn. Many things did not work, including the heating/AC unit and hair dryer in my room. Sinks spray everywhere and at one point I had no water - so no sink, shower or toilet flushing capability for an hour. Although our group was looking to economize during our visit, this was even below what I expected for a budget hotel.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer Gibert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Great location, cafe wasn't great. Coffee was not drinkable.
Staff were helpful.
Rooms were depressing. Dated, dark... Beds lumpy..
Air con broken..
Clean.
There is a lift.
Noisy at night.
No parking for hire car.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CB-58-RL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights, the staff are really friendly and helpful. Room is very clean and neat, the beds are very comfortable. A great variety of choice for free breakfast. Perfect location and reasonable price, highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel. The rooms are spacious and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. We had 2 problems whilst there. It was a cold day and night and the heating on the airconditioner was not working, so the staff brought us a radiator and extra blankets. The other problem is the shower was over the bath and as I am of older years I have both back and knee problems and could not get in or out of the bath. We mentioned this to staff and next morning they moved us to another room with a walk in shower. This is an older hotel and is due for a bit of a paint upgrade. It is very convenient & in easy walking distance to city shops and there is a restaurant on site. On checkout the staff rang and arranged a taxi to take us to East Perth Railway Staton. The hotel also does a Senior's Discount on room rates so I advise to book direct with the hotel and not through a booking agency.

Room Tip: If you need a walk in shower ask when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maryannSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2013

hotel was good. staff were excellent most obliging and always helpful. position was good if you rely on bus train or taxi. car hire was good but parking was expensive. carpark at hotel not available due to construction work. so car hire stay outside cbd.

Room Tip: book upgrade on arrival and while construction is going on in perth central ask for rear room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Seasons of Perth
#48 of 64 in Perth
357 reviews
Perth CBD
The Great Southern Hotel
Pensione Hotel Perth
#11 of 64 in Perth
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Criterion Hotel Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Criterion Hotel Perth

Property: Criterion Hotel Perth
Address: 560 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Criterion Hotel Perth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Criterion Hotel Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perth Criterion Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing