We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super amazingly awesome food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Criterion Hotel Perth
Ranked #55 of 64 Hotels in Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super amazingly awesome food”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We discovered this place as we wondered looking for dinner on what we thought was going to be an uneventful evening....and it is one of those awesome out of the blue finds. The salad dressing on the Prosciutto and pear salad is amazingly light and full of flavour and the Australian roast herb crusted lamb rack....rocks. We are coming back tomorrow to try other items off the menu - plus the retro throw back feel of the place adds another level of enjoyment - ch ch check it out.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    162
    170
    53
    52
See reviews for
93
138
85
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

One of the reason, i booked this hotel, it was too damn cheap when i was looking for a stay, and surpirsingly it was too close to perth train station ( 5 min walk ). And have a 24hr mcdonald near by.. Most of the cbd attractions are nearby. Well the hotel cleanliness is another matter though, not good as other hotels, and the corridor and lifts are too congested. Wifi sucks. REceptionists are nice with helpful info. In all, based on the price i pay, cant complain though..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niaz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Lovely Art Deco frontage and fittings in reception, this is a building with good "bones" but is looking very old and tired. Lighting is dim throughout, including the rooms, carpets are very worn and threadbare an the paintwork is desperate for a redo. The room featured two double beds adorned with cheap and seriously awful blue acrylic blankets that had no warmth but make you sweat, no windows and a bar fridge in which everything froze. Lighting was dingy and inadequate. The bathroom was pretty old and not super clean either and there were issues with the exhaust fan which was both noisy and inadequate - mirrors fogged up every time the shower was used. Location is very good with the Cat bus service right outside and a short walk to the river and tourist cruises. Staff were in my view, just OK - they did their jobs but were not particularly helpful. It was obvious that two of the young men in reception had been smoking inside the hotel one night, in a room to the left of the staircase - the smell was very strong. IGA supermarket is a couple of doors down as is a newsagency, both open late. Of concern were the number of "street people" loitering outside the property and some are quite aggressive..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sadiethecleaninglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed here overnight, for our purpose of needing somewhere to sleep after a night out it was OK. Rooms are old and tired. Location is very good though if you want to be in centre of Perth. With a bit of a facelift in the rooms it would be OK.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam1696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

A faded Art Deco hotel in a fantastic location. The rooms are somewhat tired and need some refurbishment. The staff were very helpful and will go out of their way to get you where you want to go. In my opinion Perth's public transport is the best in Australia. The free Bus system, "The Cat" is just outside the Hotel door which will take you anywhere in the city with connections to trains and other attractions.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaminster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Rooms need updating but had everything you needed. Wi-F very hit and miss. We could only pick it up properly in reception area.
We ate in the hotel restaurant several times which was very good value and good food as we'll.
Would stay here again as it was in a central location and good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RitaH51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowden, Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We recently stayed 2 nights. Fantastic CBD location close to the mall and with a red cat (free bus) accross the street and a blue cat bus 100m around the corner. Also less than 1km from Barrack St wharf which is where cruises and a shuttle accross the Swan to the Zoo start from. Room was large and clean as was the ensuite which had a large shower rather than a showerhead in a bathtub. Airconditioner was on its last legs and we had to turn it off overnight because it was noisy and our room had a window that couldn't be opened so the room became stuffy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barossa-Epicure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Seasons of Perth
#48 of 64 in Perth
357 reviews
Perth CBD
The Great Southern Hotel
Pensione Hotel Perth
#11 of 64 in Perth
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Criterion Hotel Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Criterion Hotel Perth

Property: Criterion Hotel Perth
Address: 560 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Criterion Hotel Perth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Criterion Hotel Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perth Criterion Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing