We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Given prices of hotel in Perth, this one is ok if you're willing to sacrifice quality to save some bucks.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Criterion Hotel Perth
Ranked #53 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
132 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Given prices of hotel in Perth, this one is ok if you're willing to sacrifice quality to save some bucks.”
Reviewed 5 December 2009

1. Location: Great; within walking distance of pedestrianised malls, jetties, train stations.

2. Staff: Good (comparative to all hospitality and service staff in Perth). Not terribly helpful nor friendly for a tourist business but do get things done.

3. Free 24-hour wifi; irritating that only for 3-hour blocks, necessitating a trip to the lobby even in middle of night for new password. Computers available at lobby though.

4. Rooms are clean and of comfortable size; though facilities are basic and old.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asperger_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    161
    170
    53
    51
See reviews for
92
138
84
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, UK
Level Contributor
160 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2009

We had prebooked 2 stays either side of a week long trip to Exmouth. The first room was pretty grotty on the ground floor and with hindsight we should have asked to be moved but after a long flight from Hong Kong we just wanted to go to bed. We then went on a our trip, on our return we had a room was on the 2nd floor and a lot lot nicer.
The hotel is in a good location, especially for the train station and shops and the restaurant was very good. If we had had a better room for the first stay it would have made our overall impression a lot better.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TourismProfessional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2009

Hotel is in central Perth with easy access to the harbour and shops. The metro rail link to surrounding areas, including Fremantle, was 5 mins walk away.
The hotel has obviously seen better days and appears dated and a little shabby. The room was large, airy and comfortable with free internet access.
Breakfast is available in the adjacent restaurant as well as other meals, which were reasonably priced and good quality.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuchTravelled3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kl
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2009

very good location n prices. shopping, food, bus n ........ all so near.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puncak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2009

The hotel bar (located in basement) and street noise was so loud that I could not get to sleep til well after midnight. The noise was ridiculous and this was on a Tuesday night. I had to wake up at 3:30 am to catch a 5 am flight so I was very aggravated.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbbIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

2 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2009

Criterion Hotel, i am so impressed with the receptionist, friendly and helpful.
If you are looking the hotel in central city of Perth, please consider Criterion. You got welcome drink for two perso.(wine or beer/ softdrink), discount card for Italian and Japanese Food. Their also provided internet connection (using Terminal point or Wi-Fi)

For your convenience, it should be great if you are booking hotel using internet one week before the Day.. You could have the be the best offering, for hotel rate. for detail please check ke website : www.wotif.com

good recommendation for you who have plan to shopping at perth... please remember the store will be closed at 6pm... please remember... T_T

Stayed November 2009
Helpful?
Thank HerryantiH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
858 reviews
200 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 558 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

Its a 3 star hotel if u dont mind certain 1st class luxuries are absent then this is the place to stay:

Positive
1) near to everywhere, restaurants,malls, etc
2) Free Cat bus is just infront of the hotel
3) Malls are just 5 min walk
4) restaurants are everywhere just a doorstep away

Negative
1) we stayed 3 nights and our room was cleaned only once
2) no bath tub(we stayed in a quad room-for 4)
3) bare essentials for toiltries
4) internet has to be cut every 3 hrs and u have to go down to reception to get ur internet access user name and password

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Seasons of Perth
#46 of 64 in Perth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Perth CBD
The Great Southern Hotel
Perth CBD
Comfort Inn Wentworth Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pensione Hotel Perth
#10 of 64 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Kings Perth Hotel
#54 of 64 in Perth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Criterion Hotel Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Criterion Hotel Perth

Property: Criterion Hotel Perth
Address: 560 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Criterion Hotel Perth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Criterion Hotel Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perth Criterion Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing