We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Criterion Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Criterion Hotel Perth
Ranked #53 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
1 review
“Criterion Hotel”
Reviewed 26 March 2010

If you want a comfortable but not flash place to stay is good. Being refurbished now. Good attached cafe for breakfast.

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank flashautos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    161
    170
    53
    51
See reviews for
92
138
84
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2010

After reading some of the reviews here, I wasn't too optimistic about my rooms booked online months ago. However, after staying 4 nights at the Criterion last week, I must say that we really enjoyed the cleanliness of the rooms, the helpful staff, the breakfasts, and most of all, the central location of the hotel right in the middle of the CBD.

The hotel is undergoing some discreet upgrading of their furnishings, so we found our rooms really clean and new, and more than what we had hoped for, except we wished the beds were bigger than the queen-sized ones they gave us.

From the hotel, we could walk to the visitor centre, catch free CAT buses to Kings' Park and other areas around, take the train to Freemantle, saving us lots of transport money to spend on food.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScubaDy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raglan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

I believe that this hotel is th oldest hotel in perth. great value and at a central location. th outside of this hotel is amazing. the rooms are clean and basic but small. we had a quiet room at the back of the hotel which wasnice for a lie in. some nice cafes for breakfast located near by. free internet in reception. lovely relaxing atmosphere and friendly staff who were helpful.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chs_wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2010

Having read some of the comments about the Criterion Hotel in Perth my husband and I were hesitant about staying. But how wrong and whinging come people can be. The reception staff were welcoming, friendly and informative. the room itself was very clean and comfortable as was the bathroom. The Hotel also provided vouchers for discounts on meals in the restaruarnt and bar alongside. The location was great right in the centre of Perth and close to all transport shops and dining.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capedouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2010

We stayed for 14 nights and were pleased with the room and other facilities and the helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbyrnes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
168 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2010

The rooms are a bit worn and on the small side, but clean. The in-room safe and wireless internet access are a big plus. Breakfast at the restaurant is no more than adequate, and there is occasional night-time noise from the downstairs bar, but the location could hardly be better.

Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kanikoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2010

We have been 1 week in this hotel. Only advantage: It is on a central spot. Room has been refurbishid many many years ago.Bathroom needs also urgently repair and maintenance. In the morning we were waked up by a noisy airconditioning from the kitchen area. Complains were ignored by "we will inform the management" There are better alternatives nearby as e.g Travelodge hotel which cost slightly more but offers much better rooms.
The free internet terminals were worn out and the Internet explorer was not updated sind many years and created therefore problems. The room service "forget" one day to clean our room and we have to insist that at least the minimum of cleaning.
We can't therefore recommand nobody this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeve4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Seasons of Perth
#46 of 64 in Perth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Perth CBD
The Great Southern Hotel
Perth CBD
Comfort Inn Wentworth Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pensione Hotel Perth
#10 of 64 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Kings Perth Hotel
#54 of 64 in Perth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Criterion Hotel Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Criterion Hotel Perth

Property: Criterion Hotel Perth
Address: 560 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Criterion Hotel Perth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Criterion Hotel Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perth Criterion Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing