We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for short stay in Perth”
Review of Hotel Northbridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Northbridge
Ranked #37 of 64 Hotels in Perth
UK
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Perfect for short stay in Perth”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Booked for a four night stay on arrival in Perth before travelling further south as it offered the best value for a family room in the city.
Location proved to be perfect - near enough to the centre (10 minutes walk or 5 minutes to the nearest free bus stop) but still nice and quiet at night. Lots of restaurants and cafes close by including the excellent Dizzy Witch Cafe opposite where we has a great lunch.
Check-in was easy and indeed reception staff were always very helpful in supplying extra room items and giving advice on places we were planning to visit.
The room was great - very large with two comfortable double beds, perfect for our family of four. Big jaccusi bath in the corner, good TV with lots of channels, aircon unit, and a mini-fridge.
We didn't have breakfast there (seemed a little pricey) but we did have a very good dinner in the restaurant (Wednesday night kids eat free) and also pizzas in the bar (Thursday night all pizzas A$10) which were excellent (as a hotel guest you also get 10% off all food/drinks).
We had no problems parking at all - got a space right outside the hotel each night we needed to - free after 5.30pm.
The only minor niggles were the air conditioning which while it worked pretty well did make quite a loud rattly noise and also dripped a bit and the room windows are all frosted and don't open so no view or fresh air.
But overall a great stay - in fact when we needed somewhere to stay for the night before we flew back we booked here again, and would definitely recommend to anyone who needed a good value, comfortable stay close to Perth centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake210, Front Office Manager at Hotel Northbridge, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your previous stay at the hotel.

We are very pleased that you had a most enjoyable stay with us. I do want to advise that all of the hotel rooms have windows that can be opened on winders to allow fresh air. Unfortunately due to council regulations, we do have some rooms with frosted glass windows. This is due to the fact that we are in a residential area, for the privacy of the house owners.

We do look forward to seeing you back in the future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    136
    57
    23
    19
See reviews for
12
141
34
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Room was showing it's age, we booked the best room on offer and still was pretty old and well outdated.

Unless you need to stay in northbridge there are far better.

Carpark is very small and only offering a limited spots as some cars had been in there a very long time (spider webs from floor to wheels/dust all over) makes it even harder to get a park.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

Bunbury
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

It started of bed from the start, the car park is horribly small, and very dangerous to move about in. I think its a bit cheeky to charge $10.00 for it. Even though it sounds cheap compared to the street parking. Check in was ok, though there were 2 staff members behind the counter having a social chat whilst one poor girl was trying to book in the waiting customers.

The room was dirty, I have not seen a window so dirty since well, never! Breakfast was barely edible, burnt toast and sour orange juice. The staff member trying to serve us could speak barley passable English, it took reception to get involved to explain we were guests at the hotel and that breakfast was included in our package.

Overall a poor experience and wont be going back.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creswick, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We took a king spa room. Did not like the spa and shower and hand basis as part of the room. At least the toilet was enclosed. The shower needed a good clean. All the windows had opaque glass, so no view except for all the dirt on the outside. We found the bar very basic and plain and limited choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We took a Double Queen room with a spa that was so huge it took most of an hour to fill! The room was clean n neat. Though sparse - 1 bathroom set, 2 towels, 4 cups & a kettle was all we got for utensils & towels. Though room service provided more whenever we requested without any additional charge. Lots of people complained on here about the carpark - its not so much small as there is a supporting beam on one side of each car bay so some people will not be comfortable parking in their carpark. But all our shopping centers have that issue anyway. Though the bays are not large spacious bays so you might want to hire a Hyundai getz or something if your afraid to park in that situation.

We used room service over a dozen times for places to eat, parking advice about the city, extra towers, cutlery - they even raided the cafe to get us a huge selection of designer tea to drink as well! And for all of that we got 0 room service fees. The food at the restaurant is pricy & looked quite tasty. But it didn't suit a particular food allergy so we never tried it. Across the road there is the Dizzy Witch Cafe which did suit and was delicious! Their cakes are amazing!

The staff even forgave me losing a room pass (I lost it on my way down to check out -I seriously think I got pickpocketed but was lucky enough to have my wallet in the other pocket!)- The staff checked me out before going back to look over their security tapes just to be sure everyone was safe.

Over all the rooms were neat, clean & the beds were really amazing to sleep on! The bathrooms have curtains instead of doors, but that was ok. Weird but ok. The rooms were very affordable though & I guess thats part of it. I mean even a basic room has a spa! And the spa was delicious & easily fits 2-3 people comfortably. I'm 6'2", built like a brick wall & wider than two people - so when I say its big, I mean you can stretch out and actually float in it like a pool! Its just that big! And deep! Just amazing! The shower was nice too.0

Be prepared to request some basic things like bowls & such if you want to prepare your own food - and they don't have a microwave in the room which is all too common now in hotels. But the concierges were fantastic. I was very happy to have stayed there. Also there was plenty of access to northbridge, nightclubs, places to eat - and 10 minute walk or 2 minute drive to Dan Murphies, the cheapest Bottleshop in the state! So you will have no problems enjoying a long festive night painting the town red!

We walked everywhere and never had to walk more than 15 minutes, most of the time we only walked 5 minutes to get somewhere interesting. The resturants are all 5 minutes or less away too! So that was just lovely.

Oh yes - lots of reviewers commented their aircon leaked. They have little signs on the desks explaining that if you set the aircon below about 20 it may drip condensation (into the corner of the bathroom). Though we set ours to 18 & had no dripping at all. But we all know how many customers actually read *and obey* signs in stores? So why should a hotel be any different?

Wifi access is very pricey ($10 for 100mbs/1hr, $20 for 300mg/3hrs etc) & the TV cant be plugged into a laptop. So you probably want to pickup a pocket wifi with a months prepaid data on it or something before you go if you need internet. Though the entire city center itself has free wifi internet covering main areas and coffee houses so it's not hard to get free internet if you don't mind walking. Though if you only need to check in for an hour a day you could get away with the hotel rates.

After reading all the horrid reviews on here I was worried - but I had a last minute trip and they had one large room still available. The reviews now seem mostly malicious or honestly, a case of silly customers who expect everything to be free & provided on a silver platter. The Hotel Northbridge is a lovely stay. I'll bring my own internet next time, but besides that the only complaint I had in the whole stay was we were initially given 2 towels for a room booked for 3 people & there wasn't any bowls or cutlery in the kitchenette. THat's a little skimpy - But it was all provided immediately when I called room service to ask about it - and without any charges to the room! So their human, lovely people, knowledgeable & really just want to make you happy. The rooms have the basics and you can just call and ask for the rest to be delivered as your require it. Room service usually took 2-3 minutes, so absolutely fantastic service!

My one request to Hotel Northbridge would be to an option to have a Microwave in your room. So customers can prepare some of their own food. A pair of food allergies left us with an inability to enjoy the menu for the evening restaurant, so we had no choice but to eat out all the time. Though we took the concierges advice and enjoyed several different places to eat each day. And honestly, we're used to allergies preventing us from enjoying food at about 3/4 of all restaurants. But there were plenty to find near by & the concierges either knew about allergy free resturants or looked them up for me with recommendations. Also - the Dan Murphies Bottleshop staff even helped me allergy free alcohol so I could buy up a storm for my guests. ^_^ So we got looked after all round!

Room Tip: The Queen beds are heavenly! Get a Double Queen if you want a big spacious room, Enormous Spa &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

room is clean and tidy , bed is ok. Felt better beds in cheaper hotels. Down side had to pay for wifi which is $10 for 100mb
Not a big fan with the open ensuite , luckliy the toilet is shut off.

Overall its ok

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake210, Front Office Manager at Hotel Northbridge, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest

We are sorry that you feel that the hotel is overrated. Unfortunately when the hotel was built the spas with showers above them were included. We do know that it is not ideal with some customers, but the majority due enjoy this setup.

I have passed on your comments to the owners with regards to the cost of the internet, to see if they can do a better deal with the company that owns this service.

We do thank you for your feedback and are really sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Wow. We loved our stay. Convenient location only 10 minutes walk to the city center and 5 minutes from shops and restaurants. The room was clear with all basics. The staff were very helpful and easy to approach. There is a small bar/pub down stairs and a restaurant, we felt the food was overpriced at $20 for breakfast . There was also parkong down stairs for just $10 which was great for piece of mind. All in all it was great and we will be back again soon.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotmama86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake210, Front Office Manager at Hotel Northbridge, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback from your previous stay at the hotel.

We have passes on your comments to the Food & Beverage Manager regarding the pricing for breakfast, and they are currently under review.

We are pleased that you found our hotel convenient and that you enjoyed your stay. We are always happy to receive feedback to help us improve further.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
The Nest on Newcastle
The Nest on Newcastle
#36 of 64 in Perth
85 reviews
Perth CBD
The Great Southern Hotel
East Perth
All Suites Perth
All Suites Perth
#33 of 64 in Perth
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Best Western Northbridge Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Northbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Northbridge

Property: Hotel Northbridge
Address: 210 Lake St | Northbridge, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Northbridge 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Northbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northbridge Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing