We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Property in East Perth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sebel East Perth
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Stayed for 8 nights at the 1 bedroom apartment with a river view of this lovely property in East Perth and as a warning, this is more of a partially-serviced apartment than a hotel, which some probably find to be a deal breaker. What we loved most about this property was its location. Sure it's not CBD or Burswood, but we love the residential feel of East Perth. A supermarket is just across the street and there are tonnes of ethnic restaurants scattered within a walking distance of the hotel. A 5 minute gorgeous walk along the Claisebrook Cove will also take you to Victoria Gardens and the Swan River. The Sebel is on the Yellow CAT line which will take you to Perth CBD for free. As we were renting a car, we also find the Sebel very convenient because it is just a two minute traffic-free drive to a highway which makes driving to the different parts of Perth feels quick.

Our one bedroom was ultra minimalist with virtually no character whatsoever. Amenities were basic and the bed was average at best. Since we had a two year old with us, the full kitchen, the washer and dryer truly saved our lives. Housekeeping was not daily but rather on "a third day basis", which turned out to be the fourth day after we had spent our third night. The apartment was very spacious which was wonderful for our little one to run around. There is no room service at the hotel and there is no bellman to help with the suitcases. But despite that, we received help with our suitcases from the front desk staff on our check-in day and was deposited in our room pronto. Real classy!

We brought a car with us to the hotel and it turned out that there was no parking inside the building, but rather, we have to use the public car park near the hotel or the street parking located all around the area. This initially bothered me, but if you really study the different parking signs around the area, you can really save some money. Taking advantage of the free street parking after 6pm, and the fact that we were hardly in the hotel during the day, we did not pay for parking on most nights saving us mucho dinero.

I have a few gripes about the property though. First and foremost, are the towels. They were mostly stained and they looked disgusting. Please, for the love of Gandhi, change them. Second, despite the fact that housekeeping was only on the fourth day, they were sloppy at best. Our bathtub were never cleaned during our 8 night stay (we purposely left strands of hair) and many parts of the apartment were covered in dusts. Our third gripe has to do with the prepaid breakfast when we made our reservation. During our reservation, we paid A$20 per person for breakfast and upon check-in, we received a A$40 voucher (2 adults) to be used at a restaurant down the street called Kinky Lizard. This one I found slightly demeaning because usually, the idea of prepaying for something is so that we can get something of better value (e.g a buffet breakfast). Instead, by prepaying, we were stuck with vouchers of the same amount as we have paid to be used at the same restaurant morning after morning. Fortunately Kinky Lizard was a nice place to have breakfast with friendly staff and great food. But still, NEVER PREPAY YOUR BREAKFAST AT THIS PROPERTY!!!

The reason we gave this property four dots was that looking at the competitors available in the city and the prices they were charging, I don't think I will stay anywhere else. For the price, I get a spacious and comfortable place to stay in a charming and quiet area with great access, transportation wise, to the city and the surrounding area. Members of the front desk were wonderful and they really do their best to make you feel at home which was a definite plus.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Publius28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy R, General Manager at The Sebel East Perth, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Publius28,

Thank you so much for your amazing review, it is filled with so much information of which I believe many will find so helpful.

I am sorry about the cleanliness of you room and the state of the towels. I will address this with both parties.

Again, thankyou for your descriptive review and we hope to see you here again one day,

Best wishes,

Mandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 490 reviews

An Accor traveller
Corlette
8119
Reviewed 20 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mandy R, General Manager at The Sebel East Perth, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Have stayed here in the past and tried it again for two nights. Previously was ok except a city view room has nil view of anything relating to a city. This time I did have a water view room with a light pole and light right out the window.

The service on arrival was poor, arriving at the boom gate to the car park there was no reponse when 'buzzing' for entry.

At reception, Receptionist advised you have to check in before you can park the car, the Sebel has nil parking except the general on street parking so I had to leave the car blocking the entrance to the building and it's other tenants while I checked in.

By calling themselves "Residences" they don't clean or restock the bathroom each day. They give you only one little hotel soap to last. If the response is 'all you have to do is ask' why not simply supply more to guests staying more than one night.

The room had a bed side lamp missing, unless all rooms have only one. There was some small amounts of mould in the shower/bath as well. Door handle on bathroom door loose and did not shut correctly.

Window was also stuck shut, maintenance came and fixed that during the day. I couldn't find the a/c control (a remote) but maintenance also said that was ok and was on the wall on my return.

While all the above is not the end of the world I do expect all of the above (especially mould) to not happen in a $250 per night establishment.

Perhaps my expectations are too high for this hotel and I have lowered them accordingly for Sebel.

On the positive side, Mandy R the General Manager sent a note under the door after I was phoned and I said I'll seek another hotel next time and had nothing more to say.
Mandy's note.
"I am sorry that we have let you down.
I appreciate you do not wish to discuss with me at present and feel this is not worth pursuing.
Should you change your mind please do not hesitate to contact me whether is be prior to or after your departure."

In my opinion, this hotel is not as good this time as last. Sebel Hotel pricing with motel service and rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bam1748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy R, General Manager at The Sebel East Perth, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Bam1748,

Thank you for your comments and for your kind words regarding the card I left you. I am sorry you felt so let down by your last stay.

My offer stands that if you ever need to discuss the details of your stay further, I will always be more than happy to do so.

All the best and I can only hope you reconsider and choose to stay with us at The Sebel East Perth one day.

Take care and best wishes,


Mandy Rodgers
General Manager
Sebel East Perth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

A beautiful outlook over the water, especially at night. Self contained apartments, very well set up, including laundry. Lovely pool. Front desk staff very welcoming and helpful. No daily housekeeping. Free yellow CAT bus stop just outside or comfortable walk to CBD. Close to the WACA for cricket fans. We were catching the Indian Pacific and easily walked pulling our luggage to the station. Some noise from the restaurant/bar below but all quiet by 11.00 on Saturday night. A variety of eateries in the vicinity... Everything just works well.

Room Tip: Get waterside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CandJ60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy R, General Manager at The Sebel East Perth, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Candj60,

Thank you so much for your very descriptive review of The Sebel East Perth. As you highlighted servicing of the rooms is every 3 days as we are an apartment style Hotel. There is always the option of daily servicing if required.

Thank you again so much and I do hope we get to welcome you back here one day,

Stay well,

Regards,


Mandy Rodgers
General Manager
Sebel East Perth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Have just stayed here and the service was great. Every time you walk past reception you are greeted and made feel welcome. Rooms have everything you need. Hotel is located in a quieter part of city, but heaps of cafés located close by. Very easy walk to the main part of the city

Stayed: August 2014
Thank KaylaBlack05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy R, General Manager at The Sebel East Perth, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear KaykaBlack05,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review and your lovely comments regarding the Hotel and the staff.

It is wonderful that we were able to make you feel so welcome. The staff here are so genuine in their service and are always aiming to make people feel like they are at home.

Thank you again for your kind words,

Best wishes,


Mandy Rodgers
General Manager
Sebel East Perth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I've stayed at the Sebel twice and both times have been very pleasant. Friendly staff and great service. Rooms are spacious and clean, beds comfortable and an awesome view to go with it! Central location too! Will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy R, General Manager at The Sebel East Perth, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Hi RossWilson94,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Sebel East Perth. It is a fantastic view isn't. I am not sure if you were lucky enough to see the dolphins swimming down in Claisebrook Cove whilst you were here. I was the other day and it is truly a very special experience.

Looking forward having you stay with us again soon...

Regards,


Mandy Rodgers
General Manager
Sebel East Perth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We would definitely stay here again. A top spot on the river, close to the airport in a nice, quiet area with good dining options & liquor store close by.

Perfect for business or pleasure although a little expensive.

Room Tip: Pick one with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CrippAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy R, General Manager at The Sebel East Perth, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear CrippAdvisor,

Thank you so much for your amazing review. You really have summed us up in so few words, thank you.

I do hope we get to welcome you back here again one day soon,

Best wishes,

Mandy Rodgers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#12 of 66 in Perth
1,644 reviews
Crowne Plaza Perth
#20 of 66 in Perth
730 reviews
Duxton Hotel
#16 of 66 in Perth
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Perth
#21 of 66 in Perth
2,465 reviews
West Perth
Quest West Perth
Quest West Perth
#4 of 66 in Perth
386 reviews
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel East Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel East Perth

Address: 60 Royal St, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Perth
#7 Family Hotel in Perth
#13 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#22 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range: £100 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel East Perth 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel East Perth is a 4.5-star waterfront hotel located just minutes from Perth's vibrant city centre offering self-contained studio, one and two bedroom apartments. Enjoy views overlooking Claisebrook Cove and the Swan River plus free Wi-Fi Internet Access throughout the hotel and all apartments.Recreation facilities include heated swimming pool, complimentary BBQ facilities, well-equipped gymnasium and bike hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Sebel East Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Residence East Perth Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing