We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the location/view/room/promenade!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sebel East Perth
Ranked #26 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
138 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Loved the location/view/room/promenade!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2010

We stayed 11 nights in Perth (first visit) and were wary of some negative reviews of the Sebel so first made other arrangements - when those fell through (what a mess!) moved on to the Sebel and what a great place! Low rise, overlooking lovely promenade/lagoon with several good restaurants and gorgeous views from the terraces. These are full apartment sized units (we had a particularly fabulous corner unit on the top (4th?) floor with a huge terrace. Modern/well appointed decor, VERY accommodating manager and nice front desk staff. The location is in East Perth but there is a frequent bus line right near the front entrance that drops you downtown in just a few minutes - on the other hand, coming back after touring and relaxing on the lagoon was great! Looks like the whole area is recently developed with high end condos and a good ambience. Lots of walking/parkland at your door. Ate 3 times right along the lagoon (restaurant downstairs is great!) . Would recommend highly!

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frequent travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    203
    61
    23
    8
See reviews for
64
203
32
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth WA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2010

Booked the Sebel Residence for a overnight stay as we had a dinner to attend on the Saturday night and it seemed a good idea not to drive back home. We booked a City View Studio Room, really didn't see any city view just the intersection below, quite noisy and considering their didn't seem a lot of passing traffic , I don't think I would like to chance a weekday. I'm guessing the River Rooms would be much more scenic. Check -in was swift considering the number checking in at the same time. The hotel offers 12 parking bays for a 57 suite hotel, all of them taken when we arrived. If a parking bay had been available it would have cost us an additional $20 for the night. We were fortunate to find street parking close by and because of the time of day did not need to feed the meter throughout our stay. The room it self was very clean and spacious and the bed comfortable. Nice flat screen TV, however the reception poor. The rooms are serviced every three days, not a problem for us, this stay. However should a stay be longer you can request a refresh service consisting of clean towels, emptying of your bin etc... for an extra fee.
Location is lovely, nice place to walk around the canals, convenience store and bottle shop across the road and fantastic places to eat within easy walking distance. Stay again? For a overnighter , perhaps I'd stay again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janny_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment on a Friday night following a work function at a nearby hotel. The staff provided excellent service and nothing was too much trouble. The room was spacious with plenty of kitchenware including a coffee plunger, tea pot and full sets of crockery and good size kitchen appliances. The bathroom, although small, had a rainshower and the bed was large and comfortable. The lounge appeared to be a fold out bed so this was not so comfortable but there was a flat screen tv in the bedroom as well so it was just as easy to lounge around in there. Our apartment faced the road and yes it was noisy – I could hear people catching taxis, buses going past etc. It may be better to request a room facing the canals to avoid the road noise. Public transport is also a bit hit and miss – I waited 40 mins for a yellow cat bus to take me into the city at lunchtime on a 40 degree day. If the area suits you and noise doesn’t bother you then I could definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NW28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Peak Derbyshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2010

We booked to spend 2 days at the Sebel for a city break for my birthday whilst we were in the Perth area staying with family. I knew East Perth and love the area, so we were really looking forward to this treat. When we checked in at reception, we were told that service was only every 3 days, so our room wouldn't be serviced. Not a good start for the money we had paid. We then went on a long walk to our river view room. Yes, you could see some of the river, but not much, due to us being on the second floor and trees obscuring most of the view. Again very disappointing. We called reception and asked if we could upgrade to a better room, bit the hotel was full (the cricket was on). The room itself was directly above the seating area for the Royal Restaurant. This was so noisy at night, we couldn't sleep until the last customer had gone. We went for a meal at the Royal and had been given a voucher at reception so that we could charge our meal back to the hotel. The meal was fabulous (highly recommended), but when we gave them the voucher, they brought it back saying it wasn't taken at the Royal. We were highly embarrassed - it was like having a card declined. We ahd cash, so we could pay, but it could have been much worse.
The area is lovely, but there are better places to stay if you want service and relaxation. It is very overpriced for what you get. I would stay in East Perth again, but I would never stay at the Sebel unless I was on the other side away from the noise and the cost was a quarter of what we paid.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoonyPrune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2009

We booked the Sebel residences through a Wotif mystery deal. The apartment was clean, well furnished and up to date. The location was good with a number of restaurants near by as well as an IGA supermarket just across the roads.

Our apartment (and I think most apartment) had a view of the "river" behind it - it's more of a canal around their really, but with a nice view of the cafes and swans etc.

At night however, it is rather noisy due to the cafes and restaurants on the esplanade.

Parking was $20/night extra. Note that it is abit of a walk to the city but there is free regular buses (CAT) that run right in front of the Sebel.

Staff were courteous, but the key card system seemed to have a few problems once in a while as did the parking log - not a hug issue but occasionally annoying.

Prices are not cheap in Perth so I think this hotel was reasonable vlaue.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodShoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2009

We stayed in the Sebel Residence for 2 short spells either side of visiting Denham, WA.
The rooms are very clean and spacious, with excellent amenities.
The place was very quiet both inside and outside the residence with a nice view over the waterway. The free bus into the city stops close by, but it is also a very nice walk from East Perth into the city centre.
There are a few eating options locally if you don't want to travel farther afield.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kp-kfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

When traveling for work, my schedule is fairly packed, so I like to get back to my hotel room to have a beer, order some room service, catch up on work and, if time permits, watch a movie.

Unfortunately,only 1 out of these 4 are possible at the Sebel in East Perth; no alcohol in the mini bar (there should be a law againgst such things), no room service, and no in-room movies (other than a movie channel with a looped scheduled of dross). This feels more like a motel than a hotel - which is fine, so long as you are prepared.

If I stayed again, I would have to visit a liquor store, Subway and DVD store on the way to the hotel.

Location is quite nice - overlooking the river - but the surrounding area is pretty dead.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nightwatchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Hyatt Regency Perth
#19 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel East Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel East Perth

Property: The Sebel East Perth
Address: 60 Royal St, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Perth
#14 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#17 Family Hotel in Perth
#25 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel East Perth 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel East Perth is a 4.5-star waterfront hotel located just minutes from Perth's vibrant city centre offering self-contained studio, one and two bedroom apartments. Enjoy views overlooking Claisebrook Cove and the Swan River plus free Wi-Fi Internet Access throughout the hotel and all apartments.Recreation facilities include heated swimming pool, complimentary BBQ facilities, well-equipped gymnasium and bike hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sebel East Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Residence East Perth Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing