We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location in city centre.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mantra on Murray

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra on Murray
Ranked #28 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
126 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Brilliant location in city centre.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

We stayed here for three separate short stays at the beginning, middle and end of a two week coach tour of WA. Our rooms, which were actually studio apartments, were the same style and standard each time. They are spacious with a king size bed and long sofa, a table/desk plus a coffee table. There is plenty of storage and the kitchenette has a sink, fridge, ceramic hob and microwave plus utensils. The furnishing and decor is quite fresh. The bathroom has a shower over the bath with a partial screen and plenty of surface for personal items. The air conditioning in the lobby area and the rooms is fine but the corridors tend to be rather hot and stuffy. There are airco vents but nothing coming out of them! The guest laundry is more expensive than most and particularly the dryer is overpriced at A$4 for 20 minutes, which did not fully dry our items as in other guest laundries. We decided to pay the A$20 for 24 hours Wifi connection as I needed to catch up on my Trip Advisor reviews! The staff are friendly and helpful e.g. we received very good advice and a map of the free city CAT bus routes from Reception. We would definitely recommend this hotel as its location right in the heart of the city's shopping centre is brilliant and we had a very comfortable experience here.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms facing away from Murray Street, which can get pretty lively in the evenings, specially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeF62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear Lee F,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comprehensive review of Mantra on Murray following your three stays with us. I am very pleased to read that all stays have been enjoyable, you have found the facilities at a good standard and the staff friendly and helpful.

We are working with the building owners to address the corridor airconditioning that is not functioning as it should as it and hope to have a solution soon.

I do hope we can welcome you back next time you visit Perth.

Kind regards
Peter Halliday
General Manager
Mantra on Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    545
    242
    89
    56
See reviews for
136
518
105
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel due to the great location.Very close to the city hub and convention centre. The rooms are spacious and clean, especially the bathroom, no mould in here!! The fresh clean aroma as you walk into the lobby is also welcoming.The staff are friendly and very helpful. We dined in the restuarant and although it is small don't let that deter you from grabbing a bite to eat in here. We ordered the Wagyu beef Burger and it was delicious.Attention to detail and presentation was at it's highest standard. This won't be my last stay at this hotel, in fact booking another night here for the Perth Food and Wine show in July!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracey1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear Tracy1133,

Thank you for your review of mantra on Murray.

I am very pleased that you have enjoyed your stays with us. I was particularly pleased to read that you have enjoyed meals in our Restaurant. I have passed your feedback on to our Food and Beverage team.

I look forward to welcomeing again soon.

Kind regards
Peter Halliday
General Manager
Mantra on Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

Stayed here for two nights whilst attending AOG. The hotel is in a good location for visiting customers and prospects on the Terrace. Was nice to have an apartment rather than a standard hotel room. The mini bar was well equipped!
Breakfast was tasty. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brymills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear Brymills,
Thank you for your review of Mantra on Murray. I am very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Peter Halliday
General Manager
Mantra on Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albion Park, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

Mantra is in a great location if you want to be smack bang in the middle if the city. Rooms were great and service was too. Only down fall was there is no parking at the hotel. You need to park your car on the street and collect a parking ticket for the nearby parking station which is back down the one way street so you need to do laps of the hotel to get a go at the one parking bay and then another lap to get into the parking station. This is not good during afternoon when checking in

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephenb234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear Stephen B,

Thank you for posting your review of Mantra on Murray. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It is unfortunate that we are reliant on only one pickup/dropoff parking bay at the front of the hotel. Street parking is controlled by the local council so we are limited in what we can do to address this.
I do hope we will welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Peter Halliday
General Manager
Mantra on Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

The hotel is very near to the Hay St and Murray St mall. I'd definitely choose this hotel again when I visit Perth.

We took a 1 bedroom apartment. It was summer and there is only 1 air conditioning in living room. Our bedroom hardly gets any cool air, hence the sleep can be better.

Restaurant downstairs is very good. Excellence service, very delicious food and price was right.

Do take a short stroll down the street to find the Pie Face outlet. Very good steak & mushroom pies. Awesome!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with more than 1 air conditioning if you are travelling during summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelleliew75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear Michelleliew75,

Thank you for your kind review of Mantra on Murray. I was very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and have passed your feedback to my whole team.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Peter Halliday
General Manager
Mantra on Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

Fantastic with a perfect location. Restaurant service and food was of a high standard. Loved the way the burger was served. Reception staff were very friendly and check in and out were quick and easy.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Kerry H,

Thank you for your kind review of Mantra on Murray. I am very pleased that we have been able to look after you so well.

I have passed your comments to the chef in relation to your burger.

I do hope you will return soon,

Kind regards
Peter Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

I spent 4 nights at the Mantra on Murray for work reasons and was overall very happy. The room was a good size with a reasonably large kitchenette with hotplates, sink, microwave, fridge, toaster, pots&pans and enough bits and piece to self cater. A 2.5 seater couch was welcome to relax instead of having to sit in bed. Large wardrobe with lots of space and hangers for all the gear. Bathroom was large, but the shower was over the bath with a fixed half screen that allowed water to splash out the side. With all the spare room in the bathroom, it would have been better to have a separate shower & bath. Loads of bench space for all the toiletries and no problem with hot water or pressure.
My biggest bug-bear was the bed that wasn't the best - not horrible but the mattress wasn't the most supportive. And the air conditioner was very noisy. Perth was in the midst of a heatwave so it was necessary. But a minor point really.
I had room service of a couple of very basic meals that were prompt and delicious - and the prices weren't over exorbitant.
All in all more like 3.5 not 4, but would stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street towards the back are quieter - there's a few pubs in the area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KGB_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear KGB_4,

Thank you for your review of Mantra on Murray. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your time with us.
I would really appreciate if you could contact us and advise which room you were staying in. If we have a mattress that has deteriorate, I would like to replace it as a priority.

Thank you again for your review, I do hope we can welcome you back to Mantra on Murray soon.

Kind regards
Peter Halliday
Generla Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Mantra on Hay
#30 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Murray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Murray

Property: Mantra on Murray
Address: 305 Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#27 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Murray 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Murray delivers contemporary, affordable accommodation close to Perth's CBD offering both corporate and leisure travellers the perfect vantage point from which to explore Perth or conduct business in the bustling city hub. Other major attractions including the Convention & Exhibition Centre, Subiaco Oval and Burswood Casino are also located close by. For corporate travellers the St Georges Terrace office towers and business centre are a mere 1 block away. The hotel features spacious, self-contained studios and suites with air-conditioning, full kitchenettes and lounge and dining areas, Foxtel and in-house movies all designed to maximise comfort and convenience. The hotel's restaurant Society Bar & Kitchenis located onsite and offers guests an extensive menu and quality wine list. The restaurant and bar provides a cosy atmosphere and the menu features modern, creative dishes which are sure to tempt. Society Bar & Kitchen is also wheelchair accessible. Conference facilities can cater for up to 200 delegates and the convenience of a dedicated conference coordinator is on hand to ensure your event, meeting or conference is both organised and successful. The hotel offers residential and day conference packages. Whether you are a holiday maker or a business traveller, do it in the comfort and style of Mantra on Murray. Please note that this hotel is fully non smoking accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on Murray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Murray Perth
Mantra On Murray Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing