We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mantra on Murray

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra on Murray
Ranked #29 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Second time I've stayed here for business. Check-in is slow and they hold $100 on your credit card for incidentals. The room I was allocated the second time around was smaller than the first, which didn't bother me since I was only staying 1 night. This hotel would better suit families as the rooms are larger than an average hotel room, with a sitting area with a couch and a kitchenette. The outdated split system air conditioning in the rooms struggles to keep the room cool and it can get noisy at night. Sunlight gets through the cheap curtains so you can't sleep in.

Don't bother with the buffet breakfast. Not a lot of variety for $28pp. Only reason we keep staying here is the location, otherwise would definitely stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaz188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    547
    242
    89
    56
See reviews for
137
520
105
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockingham, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in late September for 2 nights as a special. Went to the Cirque du Soleil concert at the Perth Arena on Friday night. The arena is a pleasant 8 minute walk (800 metres) away and this is a convenient base for that venue as well as the food outlets in the Murray St and Hay St Malls. On Saturday we took a train to Patterson's stadium (Subiaco) for the AFL prelim final. Perth train station is a 5 minute walk to get the train to Clarkson, Cannington, Midland and Fremantle or 3 min walk to Perth underground to catch the train to Mandurah. The room was clean and comfortable and the food at the restaurant is good value. All in all a great venue. If you have a car you have to park across the road at Raine Square at the reduced rate of $25 per day. There is no set down bay for the hotel which is my only criticism.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roscope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Roscope,

Thanks for your great feedback about Mantra on Murray. Our location is certainly fantastic for exploring the central city and using Public transport to travel further afield.
We do have a fine minute parking bay at the front of the hotel which is designed for pickup and setdown and this is managed by Perth City Council. Unfortunately this is shared with the needs of other adjacent businesses.

I hope we will see you at Mantra on Murray again soon.

KInd regards
Peter Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Really poor. I was told that the restaurant was closed for cleaning, but in room service was available. So I ordered in room service, but it never came. I rang up after 45mins and was told it was only 5mins away. 20mins later they rang back and said it still wasn't ready. I cancelled and went outside to another restaurant. Very, very bad performance for a hotel that cost $80 more per night than all the others.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Simon H,

Thank you for your candid feedback. It is disappointing to read reviews when things have not gone to plan.
There were circumstances on the day that necessitated the restaurant opening being delayed due to events out of our control. However our performance in offering, but failing to deliver timely room service was not up to our usual standard and I apologise for that. I was unable to contact you at the time but I believe my Duty Manager has been in contact with you and was able to assist you the following night.

I hope you understand this was an isolated incident and not the service we strive to deliver on a daily basis. I do hope you will consider us agian for a future stay and we have an opportunity to show you what we are truly capable of.
Please do not hesitate to conact me directly should you wish to discuss this further.

Sincerely
Peter Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I purchased a 'secret stay' on lastminute.com and wasn't expecting too much for the budget price. However, what I got was a beautiful studio, well appointed, self contained apartment. The staff were lovely, the room was clean, fresh and modern. The only complaint I had was that the plumbing needed a little bit of attention. The cistern had a drip and the taps needed seeing too. However on the whole, this was nothing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandgroper71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Sandgroper 71,

When we offer rooms on the "mystery sites", we offer very good value for money. Thank you for your kind review. I have passed your comments about the plumbing to our maintenance team to focus on.

I look forward to welcoming you again, perhaps on another secret stay.

Kind regards
Peter Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I can't imagine a better hotel in Perth, both for how new and clean it is from top to bottom but also because of the great value. Perth is a surprisingly expensive city -- just have a look at real estate prices, especially in the central business district. This hotel is sitting on a very valuable location and might be a lot more expensive. It's right smack in the middle of everything. The entire experience staying was outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAXtoLHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
HI LAXtoLHR,

Thank you for your kind review of Mantra on Murray. Our location is certainly a distinct advantage for us but I am particularly pleased that you found our product and service was also up to standard.

I do hope we can welcome you back when you next stop in Perth.

Kind regards
Peter Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Our last minute booking was a nice surprise. Though right in the city, the Mantra on Murray was an easy walk to Subiaco where we were going for the footy. Undercover, secure parking in Raine Square was at a reasonable rate for 24 hours. Checkin staff were pleasant and helpful and the room itself was comfortable, clean and spacious. The only downside was a little bit of noise from the Moon and Sixpence directly opposite. Ideal stopover for regional West Aussies wanting city accommodation.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BunburyPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Hi BunburyPaula,

Thanks for your feedback about your stay on the weekend. I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay. Did you know that you can very easily catch the train to the Football from Perth Central Station which is only a very short walk from the hotel?

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Perth.

Kind regards
Peter Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

walking to the arena and the train station is easy
Comfy beds, tidy, and clean rooms
Quite large with armchairs and a kitchenette.
We found the bathroom taps to be very confusing. To make a pretty pattern they have some of the taps upside down so that they turn in different direction for on and off.
The hot and cold aren't very well marked either.
Apart from that its a very nice hotel in a great location close to the train station, hay st mall and the perth arena.
Breaky was limited but still good.
Only down side was in the morning there was a lot of light leaking around the edges of the curtains. It made the room very bright.
defiantly stay there again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Kate B,

Thank you for reviewing Mantra on Murray. Our location is definitely an advantage for guests attending events at the Perth Arena as well as a number of other venues close bu such as the State Theatre, His Majesty's, and the PCEC.
I am pleased you found your room comfortable.and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Peter Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Mantra on Hay
#31 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Murray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Murray

Property: Mantra on Murray
Address: 305 Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#27 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Murray 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Murray delivers contemporary, affordable accommodation close to Perth's CBD offering both corporate and leisure travellers the perfect vantage point from which to explore Perth or conduct business in the bustling city hub. Other major attractions including the Convention & Exhibition Centre, Subiaco Oval and Burswood Casino are also located close by. For corporate travellers the St Georges Terrace office towers and business centre are a mere 1 block away. The hotel features spacious, self-contained studios and suites with air-conditioning, full kitchenettes and lounge and dining areas, Foxtel and in-house movies all designed to maximise comfort and convenience. The hotel's restaurant Society Bar & Kitchenis located onsite and offers guests an extensive menu and quality wine list. The restaurant and bar provides a cosy atmosphere and the menu features modern, creative dishes which are sure to tempt. Society Bar & Kitchen is also wheelchair accessible. Conference facilities can cater for up to 200 delegates and the convenience of a dedicated conference coordinator is on hand to ensure your event, meeting or conference is both organised and successful. The hotel offers residential and day conference packages. Whether you are a holiday maker or a business traveller, do it in the comfort and style of Mantra on Murray. Please note that this hotel is fully non smoking accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on Murray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Murray Perth
Mantra On Murray Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing