We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but very noisy”
Review of Mantra on Murray

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra on Murray
Ranked #25 of 65 Hotels in Perth
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location but very noisy”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Great central location. Very clean rooms. Bit of a problem with their booking service but got sorted with a small amount of fuss.

Pack earplugs! We had a room facing Murray St. Windows do not block the noise from a popular pub across the road. The a/c was also very noisy.

Can't rate the restaurant as we didn't eat any meals there. Overall a convenient place to stay. Once noise issues are remedied it will be even better.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SargentMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    620
    269
    100
    63
See reviews for
152
600
121
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Tasmania
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Spent four nights at Mantra on Murray on a business trip. The hotel is in a fantastic location close to the mall area and plenty of eating locations. There is also a Coles supermarket just across the road for stocking up items in your room.

The room, a studio, was well set out and reasonably clean. The room I had was inward facing away from the street and from that perspective was great for minimal outside sound. However, the numerous smoke alarms going off during my stay were ridiculous. The first morning there was one at 6 and again at 6:15 but with no evacuation required. Then the next night off they went again at about 10:10 and 10:20. Ordinarily those times wouldn't be such a problem but travelling from the east coast there is a 3 hour time difference so for me it was 1:10 and I was very much asleep! On the next day they went off again in the middle of the afternoon. I wasn't in my room that often so to have heard 5 alarms over 4 nights was up there on the ridiculous side.

Apart from the smoke alarm issue though the hotel was good, the price was reasonable for the location and appointments of the hotel room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateFromTassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

On the positives, the place was clean, had a kitchenette, is well located and the staff were friendly. But with breakfast, internet and parking all extras, the daily rate grew to well over $300/day. For this I got a small room, an ancient air-conditioner that sounded like a coffee grinder, and a terrible ambience that was not conducive for working, with Ikea style furniture, a small desk, and a window looking directly into other guest's rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't look into other guests, and does not have an out-of-date stand alone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuartroaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wodonga, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Great rooms,
Very comfortable
Close to the city walking distance
Close to public transport(fremantle,midland etc)
Restaurant is great value
Customer service was perfect
Very happy
Only no parking which was a little disappointing

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Second time I've stayed here for business. Check-in is slow and they hold $100 on your credit card for incidentals. The room I was allocated the second time around was smaller than the first, which didn't bother me since I was only staying 1 night. This hotel would better suit families as the rooms are larger than an average hotel room, with a sitting area with a couch and a kitchenette. The outdated split system air conditioning in the rooms struggles to keep the room cool and it can get noisy at night. Sunlight gets through the cheap curtains so you can't sleep in.

Don't bother with the buffet breakfast. Not a lot of variety for $28pp. Only reason we keep staying here is the location, otherwise would definitely stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaz188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockingham, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in late September for 2 nights as a special. Went to the Cirque du Soleil concert at the Perth Arena on Friday night. The arena is a pleasant 8 minute walk (800 metres) away and this is a convenient base for that venue as well as the food outlets in the Murray St and Hay St Malls. On Saturday we took a train to Patterson's stadium (Subiaco) for the AFL prelim final. Perth train station is a 5 minute walk to get the train to Clarkson, Cannington, Midland and Fremantle or 3 min walk to Perth underground to catch the train to Mandurah. The room was clean and comfortable and the food at the restaurant is good value. All in all a great venue. If you have a car you have to park across the road at Raine Square at the reduced rate of $25 per day. There is no set down bay for the hotel which is my only criticism.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roscope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Roscope,

Thanks for your great feedback about Mantra on Murray. Our location is certainly fantastic for exploring the central city and using Public transport to travel further afield.
We do have a fine minute parking bay at the front of the hotel which is designed for pickup and setdown and this is managed by Perth City Council. Unfortunately this is shared with the needs of other adjacent businesses.

I hope we will see you at Mantra on Murray again soon.

KInd regards
Peter Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Really poor. I was told that the restaurant was closed for cleaning, but in room service was available. So I ordered in room service, but it never came. I rang up after 45mins and was told it was only 5mins away. 20mins later they rang back and said it still wasn't ready. I cancelled and went outside to another restaurant. Very, very bad performance for a hotel that cost $80 more per night than all the others.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Simon H,

Thank you for your candid feedback. It is disappointing to read reviews when things have not gone to plan.
There were circumstances on the day that necessitated the restaurant opening being delayed due to events out of our control. However our performance in offering, but failing to deliver timely room service was not up to our usual standard and I apologise for that. I was unable to contact you at the time but I believe my Duty Manager has been in contact with you and was able to assist you the following night.

I hope you understand this was an isolated incident and not the service we strive to deliver on a daily basis. I do hope you will consider us agian for a future stay and we have an opportunity to show you what we are truly capable of.
Please do not hesitate to conact me directly should you wish to discuss this further.

Sincerely
Peter Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Mantra on Hay
#27 of 65 in Perth
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
ibis Perth
ibis Perth
#31 of 65 in Perth
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Murray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Murray

Property: Mantra on Murray
Address: 305 Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#24 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Murray 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Murray delivers contemporary, affordable accommodation close to Perth's CBD offering both corporate and leisure travellers the perfect vantage point from which to explore Perth or conduct business in the bustling city hub. Other major attractions including the Convention & Exhibition Centre, Subiaco Oval and Burswood Casino are also located close by. For corporate travellers the St Georges Terrace office towers and business centre are a mere 1 block away. The hotel features spacious, self-contained studios and suites with air-conditioning, full kitchenettes and lounge and dining areas, Foxtel and in-house movies all designed to maximise comfort and convenience. The hotel's restaurant Society Bar & Kitchenis located onsite and offers guests an extensive menu and quality wine list. The restaurant and bar provides a cosy atmosphere and the menu features modern, creative dishes which are sure to tempt. Society Bar & Kitchen is also wheelchair accessible. Conference facilities can cater for up to 200 delegates and the convenience of a dedicated conference coordinator is on hand to ensure your event, meeting or conference is both organised and successful. The hotel offers residential and day conference packages. Whether you are a holiday maker or a business traveller, do it in the comfort and style of Mantra on Murray. Please note that this hotel is fully non smoking accommodation. Maintenance Notice: As part of the ongoing beatification of Mantra on Murray we are undertaking an exterior painting project from 31 May 2017 until 22 August 2017. During this time there will be minimal disruption to guests, but as the work is been conducted via abseiling you may at times see a contractor outside your window so please don’t be alarmed. We look forward to welcoming you to Mantra On Murray and our friendly team will be able to assist with any further information or assistance during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra on Murray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Murray Perth
Mantra On Murray Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing