We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of the 2 Mantras”
Review of Mantra on Murray

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra on Murray
Ranked #25 of 65 Hotels in Perth
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“The best of the 2 Mantras”
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

This is much better than the other local Mantra. They are obviously upgrading so I would check the room you had was one of these. The rooms are clean, towels nice and fluffy and the staff helpful. The restaurant is surprisingly good for a hotel and it was great to be able to come in and get a great coffee to take to your room. I would have loved a balcony but not sure if any of the rooms have one. I appreciated that while you had a separate lounge from bedroom they had cleverly situated the television so you could see it from both areas. Something simple but effective. The hotel is in an excellent location for business people and holiday makers and it is probably one of the best aspects as you are right in the middle of the city. Lots of shops restaurants right on your doorstep.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    620
    269
    100
    63
See reviews for
152
600
121
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed here now on 3 occasions and each time has been great. The hotel is very clean and the amenities are excellent, staff very friendly and attentive to clients needs. But the best thing is the location so close to a myriad of great little bars and nightlife fun.

Room Tip: Parking can be a drama at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear MikeB,

Thank you for reviewing Mantra on Murray. I am very pleased to read that you have stayed a number of times and found us to be consistently delivering good friendly service. We are certainly fortunate in our location being very close to the central transport hub as well as having great nightlife options within walking distance.
I look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Kind regards
Peter Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The desk staff were very helpful and the room was large and well equipped with a lounge, a kitchenette and large bathroom area. The desk staff were very helpful and the included breakfast was a real bonus. The price was right too. The only drawback is the lack of free WIFI or an internet lounge area. Excellent central location for exploring the city or shopping.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Hi Jennifer,

Thank you for your gret review of our hotel. I am very pleased you have enjoyed your time with us. Our location close to the major shopping areas as well as the big office towers such as Brookfield Plaza and, Woodside, Australia Square and of course Raine Square across the street makes us very convenient for anyone doing business with Bankwest, BHP, Rio Tinto and many other major businesses in Perth.
I do look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards
Peter Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Great location across from Raine square. Planned to stay 1 night but loved it and stayed 2. So many food choices come diner time. I also like nipping into Coles before they shut to get clearance items. Breakfast was nice plenty to eat. Bed was huge king size and so comfy. Very happy here. only downside is no parking onsite. It cost me half the price of the hotel stay!

Room Tip: Try to get a room higher off the road to avoid the noise from pub across road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renae S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear RenaeS,

Thank you for your feedback about Mantra on Murray, It is certainly pleasing to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and indeed extended it. It is unfortunate that like most inner city hotels, we do not have a carpark onsite and rely on the commercial carparks nearby. We do have an agreement with Parkwise at Raine Square across the road to provide discounted parking, but ultimately cannot control the cost associated with this.

I do hope we can welcome you back in the future and you can experience our comfy beds again.

Kind regards
Peter Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed 3 nights while on a family visit to Perth. The hotel is located central city with everything close by. The rooms are a good size and tastefully furnished. We had a studio room at the back of the building and this was ideal. The front of the building faces a very noisy pub so if you want peace and quiet ask for a room at the back.
The hotel staff are helpful and the cleaning was very good.
The one issue is the drop off parking area. One car space only and that was occupied. The hotel explained they do not have anywhere to park while dropping bags and checking in . This is crazy in an inner city location and the Council are we are told the council won't help as they derive a lot of revenue from travellers who get caught as we did. Our fine for a 5 min drop off was $120 .
And these places wonder why tourists won't come back!

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OskarandSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I am writing to about our recent stay at the Mantra on Murray St, Perth WA.

We made our accommodation booking through NeedItNow.com. My request was for overnight accommodation on Christmas night December 25th, for 2 Adults & 1 Child. When we booked in the accommodation was for 2 Adults only, luckily we had the porta cot in the boot of the car from the previous day. We used the parking option provided to us by the hotel, we had to carry a 2 year old, the porta cot and luggage through the streets because the access to Murray Street was blocked off.

We arrived in our room, which was lovely and clean and very spacious so there was no problem there. However the corridors were overwhelmingly hot and the rooms air conditioners were very very loud.

Breakfast the next morning was great, the staff were wonderful and accommodating for our daughter. We checked out easily around 10am and were on our way.

We noticed an hour after we checked out that we had left out daughters soft bunny teddy behind in the room. This bunny is probably her most loves possession in the world & she hasn't had a night away from it since she was brought home from hospital as a newborn. I immediately rang reception & spoke to Eloise and explained the situation. She said she would contact housekeeping and I said we were on our way back in and would pick it up. The bunny was 100% in the room. As I said she won't go to sleep without it & had it the previous night.

I arrived at reception & Eloise informed me that the bunny was not in the room and house keeping had stripped the beds. I asked if it was possible for me to have a look, as I was certain the bunny was amongst the sheets from when our daughter ended up in bed with us that morning. I was denied the opportunity to look for myself despite knowing the bunny had to be there. Needless to say I am devastated, my daughter is devastated and I am not happy at all that I was not allowed to go back into the room, not even an hour and a half later to look for my property.

I can't say our experience with the Mantra on Murray was a pleasant one.



  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I arrived pretty early in Perth (around 8AM I was already at the hotel) and for my positive surprise the staff said that as soon as a room would be available they would give me one (I would not need to wait till afternoon). In fact I was in a room around 11am.
You can get from the intl terminal of Perth through a public bus (leaves you just 3 blocks away from the hotel).
Everything was working in the room: AC, refrigerator, tv, shower, etc... The room is big and I was offered something in the back, so I did not hear any noise at all during the evening.
Internet must be paid and it is quite expensive. The hotel is well located: you are very close to the subway, information center, supermarkets, etc. If I would go back to Perth, I would definitively stay in the same place (if price is not high). I do not believe it is a 4 stars hotel. For me is like a basic 3 stars, but nothing wrong at all.

Room Tip: My room was at the back of the hotel. No noise at all during the evening!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Mantra on Hay
#27 of 65 in Perth
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
ibis Perth
ibis Perth
#31 of 65 in Perth
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Murray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Murray

Property: Mantra on Murray
Address: 305 Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#24 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Murray 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Murray delivers contemporary, affordable accommodation close to Perth's CBD offering both corporate and leisure travellers the perfect vantage point from which to explore Perth or conduct business in the bustling city hub. Other major attractions including the Convention & Exhibition Centre, Subiaco Oval and Burswood Casino are also located close by. For corporate travellers the St Georges Terrace office towers and business centre are a mere 1 block away. The hotel features spacious, self-contained studios and suites with air-conditioning, full kitchenettes and lounge and dining areas, Foxtel and in-house movies all designed to maximise comfort and convenience. The hotel's restaurant Society Bar & Kitchenis located onsite and offers guests an extensive menu and quality wine list. The restaurant and bar provides a cosy atmosphere and the menu features modern, creative dishes which are sure to tempt. Society Bar & Kitchen is also wheelchair accessible. Conference facilities can cater for up to 200 delegates and the convenience of a dedicated conference coordinator is on hand to ensure your event, meeting or conference is both organised and successful. The hotel offers residential and day conference packages. Whether you are a holiday maker or a business traveller, do it in the comfort and style of Mantra on Murray. Please note that this hotel is fully non smoking accommodation. Maintenance Notice: As part of the ongoing beatification of Mantra on Murray we are undertaking an exterior painting project from 31 May 2017 until 22 August 2017. During this time there will be minimal disruption to guests, but as the work is been conducted via abseiling you may at times see a contractor outside your window so please don’t be alarmed. We look forward to welcoming you to Mantra On Murray and our friendly team will be able to assist with any further information or assistance during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mantra on Murray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Murray Perth
Mantra On Murray Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing