We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is the saver”
Review of Mantra on Murray

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra on Murray
Ranked #25 of 65 Hotels in Perth
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Location is the saver”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Still scratching my head a bit about this one. The location is exceptional, a hundred yards from the Murray St Mall. Taxi across the road, buses, including the free one, a stones throw away. Pubs, eateries, CBD shopping all nearby but the facility itself left a bit to be desired. The staff are terrific. Helpful, knowledgeable, courteous but I'm not sure. Was disappointed to have made a booking via the Mantra site weeks and weeks in advance making a simple request that wasn't honoured or mentioned at check in. The room itself was comfortable enough but offers no Foxtel, the shower is in a bathtub and the air conditioning unit was at floor level and a little noisy. Just not sure, doubt I'd stay again seeing there are numerous options in the precinct.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KandK2486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear KandK_2486,

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you found the staff terrific and the location is very popular with all our guests. I am surprised about your comment relating to Foxtel as we do have 5 foxtel channels available in the hotel.

I do hope that you will try us again in the future when you have a need to saty in the city.

Kind regards
Peter Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    620
    269
    100
    63
See reviews for
152
600
121
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This hotel is in a wonderful location and one I would absolutely consider again. I stayed on a business trip and found the room to be large and well laid out. The service was also pretty good - in general though the place needed some work.

The staff were friendly however the air conditioning on the 1st floor corridor didn't work and it felt like you were on the laundry level. Also, from around 6am I had a smell in my room that smelt like breakfast was wafting upstairs - this would not have been nice for a vegetarian...

Overall, pretty good. It doesn't have a gym but is in a good location to go for a run along the Swan and is near shops etc.

I would definitely consider staying again, but it isn't one of those hotels that you rush back to...

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the first floor - it was hot in the hallways as the laundry appeared to be on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EddyCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seminyak, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

A great location, walking distance to shops, pubs, clubs and transport. Rooms were big, clean and extremely quiet. Staff were friendly and helpful. I didn't think too much of the food, but location forgives that as there are many other choices to be found only a few steps from the entrance.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ariwahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed just the one night for pleasure (attended a concert at the Perth Arena), great location as it's an easy walk to the Arena, train station, West End shops/pubs, Northbridge and venues on the Terrace. Leave the car at home if you are a local, closest parking is also on Murray Street but can be a bit pricey if you are leaving it in overnight. Arrived a little early, no problems with the room being ready, good size, neat & tidy and well laid out with comfy couch and kitchenette (Supermarket just over the road too!). As others have found, the room A/C is pretty noisy (wall split system mounted low) but bearable to keep cool. Not like the back of house A/C (Reception, lift lobbies and passageways), it was on the blink but the Staff we being very good about it given the trying circumstances they were working in. Thumbs up, I'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preeds71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Excellent central location. Could get everywhere on foot but buses and train station all very close by. We arrived really early and they were great about letting us leave luggage until we could check in.

There was no fresh milk in the room to go with a cuppa. Air con was very noisy so you had to turn off to sleep. No free wifi which is standard in even the most basic hostels these days. So it is a good three star but definitely not four.

Room Tip: We were at the back which I think is probably best as main road out the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed at the Mantra on Murray for a work visit in January 2014. Was a large, comfortable room, with kitchenette facilities. The aircondioner was a bit noisy, however was ok. I had work colleagues who also stayed in the hotel and said that their air-conditioner was very noisy (to the point of them having to wear ear plugs at night) and they would not stay there again. So, I think its luck of the draw as to which room you get. The hotel is in very close proximity to the Murray Street and Hay Street mall, which is great. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank accn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed here overnight for work. I've stayed here now on 3 occasions and each time has been great. The check in was easy and quick, the room was a decent size, and the bed was comfortable. Sleep quality was good as the rooms are well sound proofed.

Its located about a 5 min walk from the Perth mall and there are bars, restaurants, shopping all close by. Easy to get a taxi as the taxi ranks are right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Mantra on Hay
#27 of 65 in Perth
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
ibis Perth
ibis Perth
#31 of 65 in Perth
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Murray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Murray

Property: Mantra on Murray
Address: 305 Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#24 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Murray 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Murray delivers contemporary, affordable accommodation close to Perth's CBD offering both corporate and leisure travellers the perfect vantage point from which to explore Perth or conduct business in the bustling city hub. Other major attractions including the Convention & Exhibition Centre, Subiaco Oval and Burswood Casino are also located close by. For corporate travellers the St Georges Terrace office towers and business centre are a mere 1 block away. The hotel features spacious, self-contained studios and suites with air-conditioning, full kitchenettes and lounge and dining areas, Foxtel and in-house movies all designed to maximise comfort and convenience. The hotel's restaurant Society Bar & Kitchenis located onsite and offers guests an extensive menu and quality wine list. The restaurant and bar provides a cosy atmosphere and the menu features modern, creative dishes which are sure to tempt. Society Bar & Kitchen is also wheelchair accessible. Conference facilities can cater for up to 200 delegates and the convenience of a dedicated conference coordinator is on hand to ensure your event, meeting or conference is both organised and successful. The hotel offers residential and day conference packages. Whether you are a holiday maker or a business traveller, do it in the comfort and style of Mantra on Murray. Please note that this hotel is fully non smoking accommodation. Maintenance Notice: As part of the ongoing beatification of Mantra on Murray we are undertaking an exterior painting project from 31 May 2017 until 22 August 2017. During this time there will be minimal disruption to guests, but as the work is been conducted via abseiling you may at times see a contractor outside your window so please don’t be alarmed. We look forward to welcoming you to Mantra On Murray and our friendly team will be able to assist with any further information or assistance during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Mantra on Murray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Murray Perth
Mantra On Murray Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing