We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely terrible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra on Murray

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mantra on Murray
Ranked #28 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Shocking, $25 for parking which is over 200 Meters away. In house movies don't work. Air con sounds like a road train. Don't waste your time. Basic food downstairs can cost $50 for a steak. Management need to have a good look at themselves.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank finchpaul01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Finchpaul01,

I am sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay with us at Mantra on Murray.
Unfortunately like many CBD hotels, when it was built, no parking was included in the building. We have attempted to assist our guests by arranging a discounted rate at the nearest public carpark which is across the road at Raine Square.

I am sorry that you have experienced problems with our pay per vierw movie system. Tehcnology being what it is, sometimes these systems fail and we are unable to remedy these faults quickly and easily.

I do believe our restaurant offers more than basic food as you have stated and our pricing is comparable with equivalent establishments in the local area.

We try hard to deliver a good product and great service. I am sorry you have not been satisfied during your stay and hope that should you return to Perth in the future you might cosider trying us again.

Kind regards
Peter Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    523
    232
    86
    49
See reviews for
129
489
99
384
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

had 4 days over weekend. Hotel faces a sweet English Pub called the Moon & Sixpence - and it ROCKS = NO SLEEP.
The pub had to compete with the airconditioning unit in the room though it's like having a semi-trailer in the room - only one per room, and as the bedroom is separated from the lounge - there is no cooling in the inferno in which you sleep.

Room Tip: Even if you ask for a quiet room off the road you will still not be able to sleep because you can he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Pip W,

I am sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay with us.
Our location in the heart of the city is a major selling point for the hotel.Whilst it is true that the Moon and Sixpence is open late on weekends, the vast majority of our rooms are situated away from any disturbance and on most weekends including all those in March, our occupancy was arounf 80% so I am surprised if we could not find a quiet room for you to stay in.

I do believe that we can deliver a comfortable relaxing environment for our guests to explore the city. I would welcome an opportunity to invite you back and show you what we can truly offer.
If you are returning to Perth, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. I am sure we can deliver what you are looking for in a hotel.

Kind regards
Peter Halliday
General Manager
Mantra on Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

I would stay there again its a value for money hotel and good for familes with young kids.

Pros
- Very well located, you can get taxis, buses and its quite near a train station
- Staff was friendly and helpful
- House keeping was good
- Coles supermarket is just a stone's throw away
- Lots of Restaurants, watering holes around
- Very near shopping area
- Aircon was cool enough to feel comfortable
- Kitchenette facilities

Cons
- Reception and hallway was hot and stuffy
- Walls were thin so you can here doors closing from other rooms
- Aircon was noisy, at times it sounded like a helicopter was hovering from a far

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the back, its quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ssureal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

The staff were super friendly and really helpful. Our room was absolutely beautiful and the cleaners were also really nice too. We were on a higher floor so traffic noise wasn't a problem neither was the pub across the road, the location of the hotel is probably what got me. I can't fault anything on this hotel :)

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Frances G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret River.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Something dreadfully wrong with the ventilation and airconditioning. We stayed on a warm (but not hot) day. The temperature inside the public areas (hallways etc) was stifling. Our room was stuffy and despite having the aircon on at maximum, the room was hot. Sleep was difficult. If you are like me, sleep is one of the essentials of a hotel room. On that score, Mantra was a disappointment. Other aspects (convenience, cleanliness etc) were quite ok. The aircon is a disaster. We heard other guests complaining about it at the front desk.

Room Tip: check the aircon !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

When I stepped out of the elevator into the hallway I was almost overcome by the sweltering heat. The hallway was easily 35 deg and 80% humidity. The first room they gave me was like a sauna, the second room was marginally cooler but with a noisy rattling and leaking air conditioner. As a regular visitor to WA I'm unlikely to stay here again.

Room Tip: Tips to choose a good room? Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Karen W,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you were not happy with the facilities at Mantra on Murray. It is a fact that we are currently having to cope with public area air conditioning that is not working as it should and on the weekend when external temperatures were in the range of 38 -39 degree celcius it was lees than an ideal situation. The in room airconditioning however should have been able to cope with this and I apologise that this was clearly not working properly.
I have asked my maintenance team to have a look at the room you stayed in and ensure the airconditioner is working correctly.

I do hope you will give us an opportunity in the future to show that this was an isolated incident and that we nornally deliver a much more pleasant environment for our guests. Pleas edo not hesitate to contact me directly should you wish to discuss this.

Kid regards

Peter Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Ives, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Smokers are made to smoke on footpath outside. Pj party in street . Friendly service. Very central. Facilities to be self contained. Supermarket across street along with rail station. Fantastic hair salon in mall and nail tech bar. What more could a woman want

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Carole H,

Thank you for your kind review of Mantra on Murray. I had to chuckle at your reference to the PJ party at the front of the building for smokers. I am sure you are aware that it is illegal to smoke in any hotels in Australia and so these little congrewgations do tend to occur from time to time.

I am very pleased to read that our service facilities and location ticked all the boxes for you.

We look foirward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards
Peter Halliday
General Manager
Mantra on Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Mantra on Hay
#27 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
ibis Perth
ibis Perth
#35 of 81 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Murray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Murray

Property: Mantra on Murray
Address: 305 Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#27 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Murray 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Murray delivers contemporary, affordable accommodation close to Perth's CBD offering both corporate and leisure travellers the perfect vantage point from which to explore Perth or conduct business in the bustling city hub. Other major attractions including the Convention & Exhibition Centre, Subiaco Oval and Burswood Casino are also located close by. For corporate travellers the St Georges Terrace office towers and business centre are a mere 1 block away. The hotel features spacious, self-contained studios and suites with air-conditioning, full kitchenettes and lounge and dining areas, Foxtel and in-house movies all designed to maximise comfort and convenience. The hotel's restaurant Society Bar & Kitchenis located onsite and offers guests an extensive menu and quality wine list. The restaurant and bar provides a cosy atmosphere and the menu features modern, creative dishes which are sure to tempt. Society Bar & Kitchen is also wheelchair accessible. Conference facilities can cater for up to 200 delegates and the convenience of a dedicated conference coordinator is on hand to ensure your event, meeting or conference is both organised and successful. The hotel offers residential and day conference packages. Whether you are a holiday maker or a business traveller, do it in the comfort and style of Mantra on Murray. Please note that this hotel is fully non smoking accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your Mantra on Murray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Murray Perth
Mantra On Murray Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing