We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, shop around for a good rate”
Review of Mantra on Murray

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra on Murray
Ranked #25 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed Saturday and Sunday nights in a King Studio. We chose a room with a kitchenette, as we still had supplies from 3 week holiday around southern WA.

Staff were friendly......but parking is $25/24 hours; a special deal for the commercial parking over the road (and entered from Wellington St). You need to pick up the pass from reception before parking your vehicle. OK if there are two of you, more difficult if not.

The fridge was full of mini bar products, so needed to be emptied before there was room for our food. There was no frypan, but this was quickly rectified by the friendly staff.

The airconditioner was noisy, and as it was warm, we needed it running all night. It was quieter on low.

The room was serviced before our second evening. The bed was firm, but comfortable. We noticed the extra wide king size bed is actually 2 twin beds side by side.

The Mantra charges for internet. However, there is free 20 minute internet over the road (the building with the carpark, Coles and a railway station. There is also free internet in the Murray St mall, about 200 m away.

The pub over the road is popular, but we heard nothing from our 3rd floor room (non smoking level).

We were advised we could use a local gym, but did not investigate this offer.

Room Tip: Those not facing Murray Street have less street noise.....but you will still hear the air conditione...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,282 - 1,288 of 1,568 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

Shocking, $25 for parking which is over 200 Meters away. In house movies don't work. Air con sounds like a road train. Don't waste your time. Basic food downstairs can cost $50 for a steak. Management need to have a good look at themselves.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank finchpaul01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Finchpaul01,

I am sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay with us at Mantra on Murray.
Unfortunately like many CBD hotels, when it was built, no parking was included in the building. We have attempted to assist our guests by arranging a discounted rate at the nearest public carpark which is across the road at Raine Square.

I am sorry that you have experienced problems with our pay per vierw movie system. Tehcnology being what it is, sometimes these systems fail and we are unable to remedy these faults quickly and easily.

I do believe our restaurant offers more than basic food as you have stated and our pricing is comparable with equivalent establishments in the local area.

We try hard to deliver a good product and great service. I am sorry you have not been satisfied during your stay and hope that should you return to Perth in the future you might cosider trying us again.

Kind regards
Peter Halliday
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

had 4 days over weekend. Hotel faces a sweet English Pub called the Moon & Sixpence - and it ROCKS = NO SLEEP.
The pub had to compete with the airconditioning unit in the room though it's like having a semi-trailer in the room - only one per room, and as the bedroom is separated from the lounge - there is no cooling in the inferno in which you sleep.

Room Tip: Even if you ask for a quiet room off the road you will still not be able to sleep because you can he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Pip W,

I am sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay with us.
Our location in the heart of the city is a major selling point for the hotel.Whilst it is true that the Moon and Sixpence is open late on weekends, the vast majority of our rooms are situated away from any disturbance and on most weekends including all those in March, our occupancy was arounf 80% so I am surprised if we could not find a quiet room for you to stay in.

I do believe that we can deliver a comfortable relaxing environment for our guests to explore the city. I would welcome an opportunity to invite you back and show you what we can truly offer.
If you are returning to Perth, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. I am sure we can deliver what you are looking for in a hotel.

Kind regards
Peter Halliday
General Manager
Mantra on Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I would stay there again its a value for money hotel and good for familes with young kids.

Pros
- Very well located, you can get taxis, buses and its quite near a train station
- Staff was friendly and helpful
- House keeping was good
- Coles supermarket is just a stone's throw away
- Lots of Restaurants, watering holes around
- Very near shopping area
- Aircon was cool enough to feel comfortable
- Kitchenette facilities

Cons
- Reception and hallway was hot and stuffy
- Walls were thin so you can here doors closing from other rooms
- Aircon was noisy, at times it sounded like a helicopter was hovering from a far

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the back, its quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ssureal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

The staff were super friendly and really helpful. Our room was absolutely beautiful and the cleaners were also really nice too. We were on a higher floor so traffic noise wasn't a problem neither was the pub across the road, the location of the hotel is probably what got me. I can't fault anything on this hotel :)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Frances G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Something dreadfully wrong with the ventilation and airconditioning. We stayed on a warm (but not hot) day. The temperature inside the public areas (hallways etc) was stifling. Our room was stuffy and despite having the aircon on at maximum, the room was hot. Sleep was difficult. If you are like me, sleep is one of the essentials of a hotel room. On that score, Mantra was a disappointment. Other aspects (convenience, cleanliness etc) were quite ok. The aircon is a disaster. We heard other guests complaining about it at the front desk.

Room Tip: check the aircon !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

When I stepped out of the elevator into the hallway I was almost overcome by the sweltering heat. The hallway was easily 35 deg and 80% humidity. The first room they gave me was like a sauna, the second room was marginally cooler but with a noisy rattling and leaking air conditioner. As a regular visitor to WA I'm unlikely to stay here again.

Room Tip: Tips to choose a good room? Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Karen W,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you were not happy with the facilities at Mantra on Murray. It is a fact that we are currently having to cope with public area air conditioning that is not working as it should and on the weekend when external temperatures were in the range of 38 -39 degree celcius it was lees than an ideal situation. The in room airconditioning however should have been able to cope with this and I apologise that this was clearly not working properly.
I have asked my maintenance team to have a look at the room you stayed in and ensure the airconditioner is working correctly.

I do hope you will give us an opportunity in the future to show that this was an isolated incident and that we nornally deliver a much more pleasant environment for our guests. Pleas edo not hesitate to contact me directly should you wish to discuss this.

Kid regards

Peter Halliday
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mantra on Hay
#29 of 66 in Perth
1,209 reviews
Perth CBD
ibis Perth
ibis Perth
#31 of 66 in Perth
1,266 reviews
Mercure Perth
#27 of 66 in Perth
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Murray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Murray

Address: 305 Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#24 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range: £70 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Murray 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Murray delivers contemporary, affordable accommodation close to Perth's CBD and other major attractions including the Convention & Exhibition Centre, Subiaco Oval and Burswood Casino all located close by. For corporate travellers the St Georges Terrace office towers and business centre are a mere 1 block away. The hotel features spacious, self-contained studios and suites with air-conditioning, full kitchenettes and lounge and dining areas, Foxtel and in-house movies all designed to maximise comfort and convenience. The hotel's restaurant Society Bar & Kitchen is wheelchair accessible and is located onsite offering guests an extensive menu and quality wine list. The restaurant and bar provides a cosy atmosphere and the menu features modern, creative dishes which are sure to tempt. Conference facilities can cater for up to 200 delegates and offers residential and day conference packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on Murray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Murray Perth
Mantra On Murray Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing