We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crap service and very basic rooms but close to shops.”
Review of Mantra on Murray

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra on Murray
Ranked #24 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Benalla
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Crap service and very basic rooms but close to shops.”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed here for one night, when we arrived we had to wait 20 mins to check in as they had forgotten to put our details in the system even though I was standing there with a sleeping baby in my arms. The girls at reception were more interested in chatting to some guy than helping us. Room was supposed to have separate living area but it's not separate, cheap crappy furniture, smelt like cigarette smoke, terrible shower with bad water pressure and grotty. It's right next to the shops so the location is good but otherwise it's definitely nothing special wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suz1784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    603
    266
    99
    63
See reviews for
150
584
116
443
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The location says it all. Close to restaurants, malls, night-life and also close to the business entity that I had to visit in Perth. Quick check in, big room with king bed & kitchenette. Easy access to the main Perth railway station and free CAT buses. Buffet breakfast was a treat although it does get boring if you are staying there for too many days eating the same stuff (I was there for 5 mornings). Friendly staff and good concierge service. The room was looked after everyday with all sheets & bed kept neat & tidy once I got back in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carvalhodom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Paterson, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

For the business traveller this is pretty much the bees knees for the price.

You get a very central location with simple yet well enough appointed rooms, all the amenities you'd expect and peace and quiet with friendly staff, brisk check in and once the meetings are over you are plonked right near a range of eateries.

If you are feeling particularly lazy (we've all been there) then you can grab a bite to eat for breakfast, lunch or dinner from Bar 305 downstairs though it can be overpriced. If you are staying a few days the kitchenette may come in handy - it is certainly a nice touch.

There is a taxi rank across the road from this hotel which means that you are rarely caught short trying to catch that early morning flight and check out is as brisk as the check in was.

Recommended for the business traveller.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Had a great night celebrating hubby's birthday. Quick check in, lovely big room with king bed & kitchenette. Nice breakfast the next morning. Staff were very efficient & friendly. Plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance for a fantastic night out. Hotel of choice to be in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKSLKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We spent Saturday night 14/06/14 here on a mystery deal. Close to Mall and bars and nightclubs (a bit noisy til 2am!). Free CAT bus outside the door, shopping plaza with food court directly opposite. Buffet breakfast was typical of most hotels, more than enough on offer. Bed quite comfy, good size room and bathroom, water hot! Check-in/out very quick. Off-site parking means a bit of a walk. All in all a good stay.

Room Tip: Front rooms maybe not on Friday and Saturday night?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gandj59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night about six weeks ago. I was dropped of by the taxi at the front of the hotel and was faced by about 13 steps and I had my two 23kg bags with me. There was a small elevator to the right of the stairs so I struggled into the lift, pressed the up button and...nothing.
So, out of lift, drag one bag up the stairs, back down, drag the next bag up, proceed to check in.
Nothing was mentioned about the lift other than it was due to be fixed "soon"
The room that night was ok and I checked out the next morning and had to take the bags down the stairs as the elevator was still kaput.
Six weeks later I am booked in for one night again in transit to elsewhere.
Get dropped off at the front again, see the same 13 steps but this time the elevator is decorated with a "Does not work" sign, so at least that stopped me struggling into the elevator with the same two heavy bags but I still had to drag them up the 13 steps to the reception.
I didn't bother to mention the broken elevator this time as the point is moot as I will never be staying there again, if an elevator can not be fixed in 6 weeks then what else is wrong that cannot be seen?
I am sure that there are Laws that govern access to buildings that are open to the public that need disabled accessibility.
Again, the room I stayed in was very nice and ironically it was a disabled access room.
Pros: Staff were pleasant and efficient although I have my doubts about the maintenance staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonesy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Good location, big room and fully equipped (kitchenette, microwave and fridge).
The only bad thing is the internet connection, which is not for free. There is a fee to be paid if you want to have internet access.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Juan Vicente C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Mantra on Hay
#26 of 64 in Perth
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
ibis Perth
ibis Perth
#30 of 64 in Perth
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Murray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Murray

Property: Mantra on Murray
Address: 305 Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#23 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Murray 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Murray delivers contemporary, affordable accommodation close to Perth's CBD offering both corporate and leisure travellers the perfect vantage point from which to explore Perth or conduct business in the bustling city hub. Other major attractions including the Convention & Exhibition Centre, Subiaco Oval and Burswood Casino are also located close by. For corporate travellers the St Georges Terrace office towers and business centre are a mere 1 block away. The hotel features spacious, self-contained studios and suites with air-conditioning, full kitchenettes and lounge and dining areas, Foxtel and in-house movies all designed to maximise comfort and convenience. The hotel's restaurant Society Bar & Kitchenis located onsite and offers guests an extensive menu and quality wine list. The restaurant and bar provides a cosy atmosphere and the menu features modern, creative dishes which are sure to tempt. Society Bar & Kitchen is also wheelchair accessible. Conference facilities can cater for up to 200 delegates and the convenience of a dedicated conference coordinator is on hand to ensure your event, meeting or conference is both organised and successful. The hotel offers residential and day conference packages. Whether you are a holiday maker or a business traveller, do it in the comfort and style of Mantra on Murray. Please note that this hotel is fully non smoking accommodation. Maintenance Notice: As part of the ongoing beatification of Mantra on Murray we are undertaking an exterior painting project from 31 May 2017 until 22 August 2017. During this time there will be minimal disruption to guests, but as the work is been conducted via abseiling you may at times see a contractor outside your window so please don’t be alarmed. We look forward to welcoming you to Mantra On Murray and our friendly team will be able to assist with any further information or assistance during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra on Murray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Murray Perth
Mantra On Murray Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing