We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its a great spot, clean,cheap and tidy just what you need”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Goodearth Perth
Ranked #44 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Its a great spot, clean,cheap and tidy just what you need”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2008

Im not sure what people are expecting for $100 very close to the centre of town but this is a great hotel.
The kitchen area is perfect for making breakfast and chilling drinks.
The rooms are plenty big enough so your not on each others toes and its clean and tidy.
You can hear whats going on in other rooms but thats fine.
I didnt eat in the resturant or use the shop but the staff were really helpful and I have no complaints for the price at all. xx

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyTSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    326
    215
    65
    49
See reviews for
140
262
73
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2008

We stayed at the Goodearth with around 30 other people from a wedding. We turned up around 1am, with about half the party needing to check in, us included. We found the staff to be arrogant and rude upon our arrival. We got to our room which was very average to say the least. The bathroom was not clean (visible hair on the floor) and spider webs evident. Decor was out dated by about 20 years. Was only provided with two towels and a bath mat - no face washer or hand towel. The hotel prides itself on the good to the "earth" yet the toilet in our room was that old it ran half the time when not in use and was not even a dual flush! We ordered room service, and was advised the wait would be 25 mins. An hour later we decided to enquire as to the reason behind our wait, and was told we should have our meals soon. Half an hour later, we still had not received a new updated ETA so I took a walk down to the restaurant where I was advised that the meals would be sent in around 5 mins, so I requested a discount - only received 15%. The meals arrived 10mins later, and I advised I wanted the manager contacted. The meals were not worth the money - the food is better at McDonalds. We had an early check out the next morning (around 6am), which is when we discovered a letter slipped under our door from the Bar & Beverage manager apologising but advising they only had a small kitchen and that it was during a peak time. No further discount was offered. This was unacceptable. A little bit of honesty would have been appreciated in the first place so we could have made an informed decision about whether to eat in or venture out to a nearby restaurant. A decent compensation would have also been appreciated due to the poor quality of the service and food. I will struggle to recommend this hotel going forward.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GavinCindee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

Bunbury
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2007

okay. there is a lot to like about the goodearth if you are on a budget. its cheap, reasonably easy to navigate from/ to and has everything you need to eat and sleep.
But don't try anything other than that. it just blows their minds.
we work on a three strikes policy for budget hotels- unless they are just horrendous of course. we stayed at the goodearth all three times and the problem was the same every time- the staff were more intent on covering themselves than actually being useful. everything was someone else's job- no matter who you asked. the only person who seemed to even be trying was a gentleman called Jasper- and frankly i hope he has moved on, because he could have done much better for himself.
there were quite a few, erm, miscommunications each time that we stayed at the goodearth. the main and recurring challenge was that we had (as always) prepaid via my hubby's credit card over the internet. my husband leaves early (7am) for business when we are in the city and so i usually check out later. he completes the forms- i just hand back the key. we do this at every hotel we stay at and always clear it with someone fairly high up so there is no confusion. the staff at this place just could not understand this and on two of the three occasions tried to insist i not leave until they had contacted my husband. the final occasion i sat around for about 30 minutes and didn't even see anyone pick up a phone. when i got frustrated, they all stood there and tried to pass the buck to each other for another 10 minutes. Finally Jasper thought of looking the details up on the computer and the whole thing was resolved within about 2 minutes. it was very frustrating.
so three strikes. we won't be going back.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelleny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2007

Location - The hotel is located on Adelaide Avenue which is the busy main road leading in to the city centre. About 20 to 30 minutes travel time by taxi from Perth Airport.

Walking time to the main shopping centre is 15 - 20 minutes. Local buses pass by the hotel to all parts of the city and to the bus port for transfers. Nearby there are stops for the free CAT city centre buses.

The Swan River is a block or so away – 5 minutes walk

Description – a medium rise building which is being towered over by surrounding buildings and new construction. The hotel could once have boasted good views over the Swan River – but continuing high rise development in the neighbourhood will overshadow the hotel. The immediate impression is that this place is for travellers on a tight budget. The flexible concept of the hotel with regard to accommodation and eating is great. There are ordinary hotel rooms but also studios with fully equipped kitchens and lounge area. The reception area is on the ground floor together with a lounge, restaurant bar and take away (Food to Go). There is no swimming pool.

Services – Breakfast is not included in the price and can either be purchased in the Restaurant or from “Food to Go”. The same goes for dinner. A limited menu choice but reasonably priced and excellent quality ingredients. The enormous mixed salad is a bargain!

There are some small convenience stores located a few blocks away. There is very limited choice for eating out in the close vicinity of the hotel,

Basic supplies including chilled meals can be bought at reception. Guest laundry facilities are available.
All staff were very friendly and helpful. The reception staff particularly knowledgeable.

Room – Mine was a studio on the 5th floor and had a tiny patio with side views over a construction site to the Swan River. I reckon that if it had not been for the adjacent high rise Sheraton Hotel I would have had a spectacular sunset view each evening!
There was no bath but the large wet room style shower etc. was ideal for me. Elsewhere the room was spacious with plenty of storage. The kitchenette had a microwave, gas hob, full size sink and fridge freezer, kettle and toaster with all the necessary crockery, cutlery and cooking utensils. A comfortable king size bed and a settee, coffee table, TV and efficient air conditioning completed the suite. Lighting was flexible and reasonably bright.
On the negative side the décor and all the furnishings, carpets, curtains, bedding, towels had a dated “washed out” look and feel. There was no noise insulation and I could hear my Aussie neighbours from the point they woke up to the point they went to sleep – could probably hear them snoring too!! With the patio window open traffic and construction site noise could also be irritating.

Overview – A reasonable location as it is possible to walk into the centre of Perth and has good public transport on the doorstep. For travellers on a budget and staying for some time in the area the Studio’s are ideal as a self catering option. The whole hotel is beginning to look and feel dated. Construction sites and new build now tower over the hotel. To continue to attract custom the hotel needs to be improved – not only to a better decorative standard but also to correct inherent construction problems such as lack of noise insulation– but it is difficult to see how this would be economically viable in the current Perth property boom. So it may be that the GoodEarth may not have a long term future on the good earth.

  • Liked — The flexibility of studio rooms to allow for self catering
  • Disliked — the outdated decor and the surrounding construction sites
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Peterh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snaith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2007

The Goodearth Hotel is very much a basic hotel, but for the short stay traveller it can meet most needs. The kitchenette is stocked with all the items that you need to cook and dish out a meal.

The air conditioning worked well and was not particulary noisey.

The bed was large and comfortable.

The hotel is only a short bus ride away from the centre of Perth and is within the free bus zone, so no fares to pay.

The one area where it did let itself down was with the toiletries it provided. These were the cheapest ones that I have ever experienced in any hotel. The toilet paper and tissues were also very thin - be warned.

There is a shop in the lobby with the basics stocked, but it was very expensive. There was a convenience store a short walk away with vastly more choice and better value.

The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly from our experince.

  • Liked — Price of the room
  • Disliked — Toiletries
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnrgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2007

I've booked the package rate for executive suite at AUD145 per night, inclusive of breakfast and in-house movies.

The room is alongside Sheraton and Novotel on Adelaide Terrace, overlooking the Swan River. There is a bit of construction going on behind but no noise pollution. It has wonderful heating and air-conditioning, and a big bed -- king size, with a thick blanket. The bathroom has a bath and a shower stall, both have a continuous stream of hot water flowing. Wonderful for those cold Spring nights with temperature below 10 degrees Celsius. :)

You can do your own cooking with the cooker, microwave and fridge in the kichenette area. However, only 2 sets of utensils provided, and the 2 bowls are a little small. Plates are big enough though.

There is a warm sofa in the executive suite. The in-house movies include cartoons, thriller and action... but not all are blockbusters but enough to keep the family entertained.

The breakfast spread was wonderful with pork bacon, beef sauages, scrambled eggs, fried eggs, hashbrowns, roast tomatoes, small pancakes, french toast, fried rice, baked beans, bread, cereal, fruit and fruit juices( 5 types) and most importantly, a superb coffee machine that dispenses 8 types of drinks! ;) Moccahino is my fav! Be wakey early to get the best of fruits as some fruits ran out more easily :)

Would definitely stay there before the new building erect in 1-2 years time blocking the Swan River view.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing much really
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank star1ight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2007

Good stuff:-
Excellent location. 20 mins walk to the centre of the city, and only one block away from the free bus service. If you want to keep prices down you have a kitchen area in the room which has fridge, hob, oven, etc, with all the implements that you will need. Friendly helpful staff as well. Good locked area for keeping luggage after checking out.

Not so good stuff:-
It's not going to win awards for style. The decor is stuck somewhere early 1980's, but if you can see the funny side of that, then it's all useful stuff. Bizzarely the bathroom had 2 doors - one into the room, and the other onto a balcony! You can do your business with a view!

Overall, if you want a cheap place to stay, but find the idea of a hostel a bit to roughing it, then this is the place for you.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Decor
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank finbarr_in_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#64 of 81 in Perth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
East Perth
All Suites Perth
All Suites Perth
#39 of 81 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pensione Hotel Perth
#10 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Perth CBD
Travelodge Hotel Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Goodearth Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Goodearth Perth

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Goodearth Perth
Address: 195 Adelaide Tce, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia (Formerly Goodearth Hotel)
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Goodearth Perth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3.5 Star award-winning Goodearth Hotel offers great value apartment-style accommodation in central Perth, with 180 spacious hotel rooms and apartments. All feature fully-equipped kitchenettes (excluding Hotel Rooms), free Wi-Fi internet access, flatscreen televisions with Foxtel (cable TV) and movies-on-demand, air-conditioning/heating, iron and ironing board, tea and coffee making facilities and a daily housekeeping service. Hotel facilities include a restaurant and bar open daily for breakfast and dinner, beauty salon/hairdresser, 24-hour reception, lobby shop, tour desk, internet kiosk, safety deposit box at reception, luggage storage, guest laundry and free secure car parking (limited bays, subject to availability). Ideal location minutes from Perth's shopping, dining, entertainment and nightlife areas, the Swan River, WACA sporting ground, Crown Perth Casino, Perth Convention & Exhibition Centre, Kings Park and tourist attractions. Short walk to the city centre or hop on the free transit bus service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Goodearth Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Good Earth
Good Earth Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing