We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brownelea Holiday Apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brownelea Holiday Apartments
Ranked #47 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We were visiting Perth for 7 weeks to catch up with family and spent a large part of that time at Brownelea Holiday Apartments.
We were attracted to the property as it was close to the CBD in Perth and not to far from the family. It has wi fi connection and an excellent pool .
We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment which was serviced weekly, while towels were changed every two days and milk, coffee and other bits and pieces were attended to daily.
The kitchen had everything we needed with a full size fridge, micro wave, 4 ring hob, toaster,
jug and assorted kitchenware.
The staff and owners could not have been more friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.
We found it excellent value for money and while our family remain in Perth Brownelea's will see us again.

Ron and Maria Bruce

Room Tip: We took as superior room and while we did not visit the other rooms thought it was good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

Accommodation very basic, however room was clean and comfortable. Bed comfy, staff brilliant and friendly. Quiet location - not too far from town and free bus 10 mins walk. Centre of Perth prob around 45-50 min walk. Pool not heated, Kitchen limited, and no lifts. All up good value for money for most travellers though.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Brownelea was well located to get around Perth City via walking or using the Cat Bus system. It is situated on the edge of 'China Town' at Northbridge. Right next to Brownlea was a delightful spot clled Richardson Park with exercise equipment in the park! Brownlelea is privatedly run by Mr & Mrs Ung. It looks like the complex was originally flats, which are now holiday lets. I stayed in a premium suite with a very comfortable queen size bed and lovely hot shower. The unit was comfortable and clean and suited me well as I was out and about sight seeing during daylight hours. Mr and Mrs Ung are very hospitable and friendly. Although the units had a high occupancy whilst I was there, I found it to be very quiet. It was great to have free Wi-Fi as this is often provided at an extra cost. I would certainly stay here again, as other accomodation enquired about was twice the price!

Room Tip: I stayed in a ground floor unit No. 5 and it was great, as I could sit outside at a table and chairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Having seen how expensive accommodation is in Perth we chose Brownelea based on price, location and reviews.

The apartments are very dated but have everything you need including a decent Wi-Fi connection, full-size fridge, microwave, kettle, appropriate kitchenware and towels.

This is the first time we have stayed in an apartment where you empty your own bins, make your own bed and sweep your own floor - not a problem for us, I just found it unusual! Soap was provided at the start of the week; towels, tea, coffee, sugar and milk were replenished daily.

We made use of the laundry facilities but unfortunately not the pool due to the weather - a pity as it looked decent.

The cable TV seemed to get affected by the weather, with some channels unwatchable at some times of day, though as most channels only be located more than once we generally managed o have something to watch when required.

The friendliness and helpfulness of the owners and staff cannot be valued highly enough; nothing was too much trouble, from booking through to departure. This made the stay pleasant and easy or us.

Location wise, Brownelea is a 7-10 minute walk from a stop on the free Blue CAT route, so handy for getting further afield in Perth. On the doorstep are plenty restaurants, cafes, etc.

Brownelea represented good value for money and we would return.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, only noise was from other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We first stayed in Brownelea in April/May 2010, initially for three weeks. Our apartment was clean, relatively spacious - certainly for two people - was equipped with everything one would need, but without unnecessary clutter. Towels etc were changed every two days, there was an ample supply of hot water, a laundry room is provided for use by guests, the pool, while relatively short, is fine for keeping fit, and for anyone from Northern Europe, is perfectly usable even in the Australian Winter! The pool is surrounded by a pleasant lounging area, and there is a gas barbecue for use by guests without extra charge. Best of all, Brownelea provides free WiFi, compared with the €35 per day sought by a supposedly classy hotel in Melbourne!

The Wifi was especially useful when we were stranded fro a further two weeks due to the volcanic ash eruptions in Iceland that closed European airspace for some days in April/May 2010. However, even more important was the support of the owners of Brownelea, not only for us but also for other stranded European visitors, in fitting us in for a further two weeks without fuss, during which time we were in three different rooms, as it was necessary to put us wherever there was a vacant slot. So we saw quite a diverse selection of what Brownelea offers. All rooms were clean and comfortable for sleeping, and while some had been recently refurbished, and others were approaching the time when attention would be needed. In short, some were nicer than others, but all rooms were perfectly acceptable. For our last few days, we were beside the pool. Rates vary between the rooms, depending on facilities, quality and location, but even the most expensive room is excellent value in a sometimes expensive city.

The location of the apartments is good - within walking distance of the CBD and good dining areas, while there are also good quality coffee shops and eating places nearby, as needed. Across the road is Hyde Park, a shaded and relaxing facility. City bus services are available within 2-3 blocks, and there is off-street guest parking.

We were back again in May 2013 and were pleasantly surprised to find that the price had increased only very slightly since 2010, while the facilities remained as good as we remembered. The only adverse change is in traffic levels in the local streets, which has increased noticeably, but that is not under the control of Brownelea.

We now have family living in Perth and for our future visits, when accommodation is required, we would not see any reason to try anywhere other than Brownelea. It has everything we require, a comfortable place to sleep, washing and laundry facilities, in-apartment cooking facilities, but also easy access to plenty of restaurants, both modestly priced and superior. The apartments are managed with courtesy and helpfulness and the price is remarkably good value. So we've found the best for us, and would not look further.

If you want a fancy hotel with lulnkeys opening doors for you and so on, Brownelea is not for you. If you are looking for an honest down-to-earth good value holiday premises, then you are not going to do better.

Michael and Anne Walsh,
Dublin, Ireland

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Bob and Anita Dixon. Having been guests, and that is what you are made to feel like, three times this year I will not be looking anywhere else for future stays in Perth. The units were probably built in the 1970's, but so what. They are clean and comfortable and convenient to the City. There is free parking and Wi Fi available. There is a self contained kitchen and a full size fridge that actually keeps things cold and holds enough stuff making daily stock ups unnecessary.

But the best part is that from the moment you make contact for a booking until the time you leave you are made to feel welcome. Follow up contact is made if you are arriving after the office is closed to ensure you are looked after upon arrival. Many so called more Star Rated apartments could learn a thing or two from the folk at Brownlea. Bob and Anita Dixon

Room Tip: Simply advise of your needs and sit back. The Brownlea folk will do their best to meet them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bob D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Brownlea Holiday Apartments is located just north of the Northbridge area in Perth. This makes it convenient to get around. Located at the junction of Bruwer and Palmerston St it is well connected to the city centre and also to the north and south freeways. The Hyde Park Hotel and Pub which serves great food is also a short walking distance away.
We stayed for 13 nights in a Superior room with two single beds. The room opens to the swimming pool on the ground floor.
Run by Mr Ung and his wife May with the help from relatives the hotel is well managed. They were both very friendly and helpful.
The room is clean and bath towels are changed almost every day. There is a self service token operated laundromat.
The free in-house wifi was good and the TV works although having Foxtel hooked up will be a boon.
The kitchenette was rather well equipped with a gas range top, fridge and microwave. We wish there was an oven provided as we like to shop in the supermarkets and whip up our own roast.
Ample free parking was available in the compound. Although there was no gate the parking was safe.
We will be glad to stay here again when we return to Perth.
Highly recommended to anyone who wish for a good clean accommodation to stay in Perth.

Room Tip: The Superior rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlobeTrotta203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Hotel Northbridge
Hotel Northbridge
#36 of 66 in Perth
312 reviews
Seasons of Perth
#53 of 66 in Perth
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brownelea Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brownelea Holiday Apartments

Address: 166 Palmerston St | Northbridge, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Price Range: £70 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brownelea Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Northbridge, we are very near nightlife entertainment, restaurants, pubs, etc. as well as mini-markets, supermarkets, & banks. Bus stops for the city are 5 minutes walk {Perth GPO is 1.5km away} Hyde Park with its playground, cycle tracks, lakes and gardens is just 80 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brownelea Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing