We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel A+”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wickham Retreat Backpackers
Ranked #6 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2012 via mobile

Amazing little hostel, the staff were all really friendly and the owner a generous and nice guy!all the free food you can eat (usually noodles, breads, cereals, pastas etc) and a Free BBQ every week. Just a short walk from the CBD and swan river. If I come back to Perth I'll definitely be staying at the Wickham!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EMcLean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

Positives: In quiet residential neighbourhood, 4 bed dorms, heating available for chilly Perth nights, free towel use, small so not many late night parties, bedrooms clean and well decorated

Negatives: Not many places close at hand to grab a snack if arriving at night, could be quite difficult to find if using public transport

Room Tip: Couldn't really see the difference between the standard and delux dorms apart from in the delux...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseFrear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Wickham Retreat Backpackers was a cozy place to stay for two nights. The ambience is congenial because the guests are considerate of each other and get along well.

My upper bunk bed was located in a 4-bed mixed dorm, which I shared with two young women who seemed to stay in the room most of the time I was there. Their many belongings were spread all over the room, leaving me a small space for my own things. Unfortunately, there are no lockers in the dorms. Very small lockers are provided at no charge; I was able to store my compact backpack in it.

There are several toilets and showers in the hostel, and two kitchens available for cooking up a storm. All pot, pans, dishes, cups, glasses and utensils are provided.

I saw way too much free bread stocked in bins, plus various cereals for breakfast. The kitchen was reasonably clean as were the bathrooms and patio area outdoors. I appreciated the free use of the clothes washer and dryer, and even the clothesline with plenty of clothespins.

The staff seemed friendly enough, and one staff member supplied me with a large, fluffy towel.

The hostel has a small but cozy living room with a fireplace and a large screen TV with plenty of DVDs. The place is rather small, housing about 15 guests. There is a good billiards table in one room, and several refrigerators available for guest use.

Overall, this backpackers place meet my humble needs quite well, and I was glad to stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cyclopath43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We stayed here for a week from 29 May 2012. All the fresh bread, milk, pasta, potatoes, cornflakes u can have. Free BBQ on Friday evening. Free wifi, laundry, tv room. Close to one of free Perth CAT stand. Clean Kitchen. 20 mins walking to CDB.

Most who stayed here seems to be of like minded, i.e. that they are of fun loving in a sensible manner. We have not encountered any rowdy drinking sessions or loud music during our stay. We would stay here if we are visiting Perth.

p.m.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank gnowpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I have been to a lot of hostels around the world - both good and bad. This place is unique in it's own way. Friendly staff and owner, a lot of free food, free WIFI, free wash, 200 m from free shuttlebus to the center of Perth. The walk takes aprox 15 min.

The price is a bit higher than other hostels, but you get a LOT for your money. Generally there is a lot of bad hostels in Perth, but this is really nice. Would always go back if I should visit Perth again in the future...

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CyclingPig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lucille C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Morgan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
The Great Southern Hotel
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#5 of 56 in Perth
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Coolibah Lodge Backpackers
Perth CBD
Billabong Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wickham Retreat Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickham Retreat Backpackers

Address: 25/27 Wickham St, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Price Range: £22 - £513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wickham Retreat Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you tired of all the added costs of backpacking? Then come and stay with us! Our prices include it all. Lots of food - tuesday and Friday sandwich night We also provide breakfast cereals, jams, milk, margarine, bread, pasta, rice, tea, coffee, sugar etc. Computer use and Wi-Fi are free and also the same for the washing machines including powder. All bedrooms now have Air Con! From Nov-march Our clean and fresh rooms have a funky modern twist, with beds made prior to your arrival. We offer two types of rooms, four bed five and six bed dorms. Stay with us and relax in our fully-restored federation-style house with a large sweeping veranda at the front accessible directly from your bedroom, It's perfect for that morning cup of tea or afternoon beer to relax with. Our bathrooms are clean and newly-renovated, while the original wooden floors of our house have been restored and are teamed with the original high ceilings. Our rates also include linen and towels.. We have a great small team of staff who are there to help in anyway they can so you can be sure to feel safe and receive friendly and helpful service. We're your home away from home! Please note that guests must be 18+ unless accompanied by their parents or guardians. We are not a late night party hostel so getting a good nights sleep is never a problem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Wickham Retreat Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing