We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wickham Retreat Backpackers
Ranked #5 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I usually stay in the cheap accommodation in Northbridge when in Perth. But after staying at a higher end hostel in Melbourne on my last holiday, I really could not bring myself to do that this time, cheap places in Perth are generally gross.
Finding the hostel was a little tricky as I did not record the address and thought that it would be easy as to find through signage, my fault there.

The staff were friendly, efficient, awesome, they work really hard to make sure everything is good and to keep things clean.
Curry night was great, and the bakery food too, food always helps bring people together, I chose the right day.
The people staying were from all around the place, very nice and considerate, drank responsibly, were keen for a chat , to play a game of pool, or to party in the city.

+ The character is really groovy with feature walls and large posters.
+ I liked the size of the hostel, noncommercial and personal.
+ The room was a good size, clean with adequate ventilation and heating.
If I factor into the price the extra I'd spend staying somewhere that didn't have some food, laundry, and Internet included then the price to stay is well worth paying.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbelWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    14
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
9
45
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
World citizen
Level Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I stayed in a four person dorm during my trip to Perth. The location is great about 5 minutes walking from the Perth CBD or if you want you can take a bus from the end of the street. About 2 minute walk from the WACA for cricketing enthusiasts.

The reception staff were incredibly warm and welcoming and also did a top job in keeping the place exceptionally neat and tidy. There was larger garden a big common room with pool table, another common room with a large TV and a huge kitchen with basic breakfast (cereal, milk, bread and condiments provided). The hostel had a relaxed atmosphere without any rude, obnoxious, drunk guests but still plenty of nice people willing to mingle. The free wifi was also good.

I had to stay on a top bunk which I normally don't like but the mattress here was great. I practically fell asleep straight away and was never woken.

They also do BBQ's some nights and pastries some morning but unfortunately I was only there a short time and missed out on these.

I would recommend and re-visit this hostel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2013

It was my first time staying in a hostel. I must say that it was an awesome experience. The hostel is small so you really feel at home. It's very clean and tidy.
Fan, AC and heat are in the rooms in case it gest cold or warm. The location is also great as it is 15 minutes from CBD and mall streets. There is the bus stop just 2 blocks away, where the yellow and the red cat stop (free buses to the city). A lot of free things: bed sheets, towels, breakfast, wi-fi, pasta, bread, noodles.
Charlie is a great host, very attentive to the guest's needs. All the staff are professional, friendly and so helpful.
Thank you all (Charlie, Lena, Linda, Bri, Milena, Chris) for making my sty there a special one.
Cheers!
Dalia

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaliaBonfanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This backpacker is one of the best I've stayed at yet.

Airport shuttle to/from doorstep. Plenty of free in- house entertainment like pool table, table tennis, foxtel (cable), darts. Free wifi and HEAPS of free food; includng an awesome barbecue. This is a big bonus as Perth dining is really expensive; hard to find a meal at $10-below.

I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DizzaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2013

I stayed 3 nights here recently and I am so glad I did! It wasn't without trepidation as it's been a long time to stay at a hostel, but Wickham Retreat exceeded my expectations. It felt more like a large summer home and it was easy to mix & mingle with other guests. The facilities are clean and kept in good order. The Thurs nite BBQ was really fun. No nickel and diming of their guests (free wifi and access to washer). I don't generally write reviews, but I highly recommend this hidden gem!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candiebean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in October for 5days initially ended up being 7days.
Perfect hostel for lone travellers or couples, not a party area head to Northbridge for that.
Bedroom dorms are 4per room loads of space for bags, private rooms are on offer too. Free wifi throughout hostel loads of free food for breakfast and snacks throughout the day. One or two free dinners a week we had a huge BBQ the owner put on and was a great way to get to know everyone.
About a 15min walk into the centre which is nothing. Would totally recommend the hostel and is the best hostel I have stayed in throughout Australia.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights in September 2012. I paid $38/night for a 4 bed room. Price-wise it's the most expensive hostel I have stayed at, but you actually get good value for your money. Location is 10-15 minute walk from the city center. There is a free CAT bus stop a couple blocks away if you don't want to walk. You get free food, internet, and laundry. The food is great: shelves full of pasta, noodles, beans, onions, potato's pasta sauce, milk, bread, butter and twice a week they go but real food for you. On Saturday there is a proper BBQ and on Tuesdays/Fridays they stock the kitchen with pizza/sandwiches. The owner Charlie hangs around some nights and he is a really friendly guy. He took all of us out into the city to party one night, paid for the taxi too. His brother also has several shops around the Perth area and if you are looking for work it's very convenient. I would definitely recommend it to those in the area!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Hyatt Regency Perth
#17 of 64 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
Pensione Hotel Perth
#10 of 64 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#6 of 49 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wickham Retreat Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickham Retreat Backpackers

Property: Wickham Retreat Backpackers
Address: 25/27 Wickham St, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you tired of all the added costs of backpacking? Then come and stay with us! Our prices include it all. Lots of food - tuesday and Friday sandwich night We also provide breakfast cereals, jams, milk, margarine, bread, pasta, rice, tea, coffee, sugar etc. Computer use and Wi-Fi are free and also the same for the washing machines including powder. All bedrooms now have Air Con! From Nov-march Our clean and fresh rooms have a funky modern twist, with beds made prior to your arrival. We offer two types of rooms, four bed five and six bed dorms. Stay with us and relax in our fully-restored federation-style house with a large sweeping veranda at the front accessible directly from your bedroom, It's perfect for that morning cup of tea or afternoon beer to relax with. Our bathrooms are clean and newly-renovated, while the original wooden floors of our house have been restored and are teamed with the original high ceilings. Our rates also include linen and towels.. We have a great small team of staff who are there to help in anyway they can so you can be sure to feel safe and receive friendly and helpful service. We're your home away from home! Please note that guests must be 18+ unless accompanied by their parents or guardians. We are not a late night party hostel so getting a good nights sleep is never a problem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Wickham Retreat Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing