We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic lunch in Perth”
Review of The Tuck Shop Cafe

The Tuck Shop Cafe
Ranked #2 of 1,390 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic lunch in Perth”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

If you can get in...... this place is a must. Food and service is top notch Definitely recommend this place I will be back

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teganfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    140
    13
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great food”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The tuck shop is one of the busiest brunch place in town. you will need to wait for a long time to get a table. But the food was delicious.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jesslyn_Devina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We came here today with another couple, who we meet up with regularly over breakfast. None of us had tried the Tuck Shop Cafe before, so it was a completely new experience for everyone.

The breakfasts were all delicious. Choices ranged from the mixed berry pancakes (which I had), to bacon and poached eggs, Moroccan meatballs and black pudding on cheese toast with a poached egg, so we had a broad range from the extensive breakky menu. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed what they had ordered - speaking from personal experience, the pancakes were really delicious, and the vanilla marscapone was fantastically addictive.

Our coffees were nice. Not quite hot enough for me - as a result I skulled my first large cappucino (I'm not a fan of coffee that isn't reasonably hot). Otherwise it was fine however.

Service was good - prompt and friendly. It did get a bit noisier as time went on (were were there from just before 8am until 9:45am) but it didn't impact on our conversation. My voice doesn't carry in noisy areas and nobody had problems hearing me, so the general noise level wasn't enough to be a problem for us.

I'd recommend Tuck Shop Cafe to anyone - delicious food, good service. And breakfast prices were very good - all around $12.50, from memory.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
5,331 reviews
2,982 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,886 helpful votes
“Best brekkie in Australia”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Juts love it here - almost worth a special trip to Perth for. Great variety of options for breakfast - can be either substantial like a chorizo and pork belly or perhaps a nasi goreng or a light and healthy option like the beautiful and fresh asparagus and spinach that I had this morning - something for everyone.
Great staff and top coffee - huge queue waiting for takeaway coffee.
Unlike "picina" below, I actually love the hustle and bustle - lots of noise and vitality showing people enjoying the atmosphere.
Excellent value.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I had read the reviews of this café before visiting Perth, so knew of its reputation, and it certainly lived up to it. The food was excellent: fresh and well prepared, accompanied by first rate service in relaxed surrounds. I would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tuck Shop Cafe also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to The Tuck Shop Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing