We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for a jap meal”

The Bonsai Retaurant & Cafe
Ranked #123 of 1,369 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great spot for a jap meal”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Great service, very nice food for an affordable price.

We have been quite a few times and every time the service has been without fault, the owner/manager has gone out of his way for us and can't recommend Bonsai enough.

I had a canceled flight and had booked for our anniversary dinner and they kept the restaurant open a little later just for us, you don't just get service like that everywhere.

Helpful?
1 Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    20
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
628 reviews
526 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Wow gets better with every visit”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Have been here several times i am amazed by the quality of food and service my favourites are the chicken salad soft shell crab and patagonian tooth fish but everything is good very reasonably priced for the quality just go

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertMPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Perth!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Bonsai is my favourite restaurant in Perth. The food is simply stunning and amazing value. Japanese. Tapas. The prawn and chicken salads are my favourites but there are many others. Isaac is a wonderful host. The atmosphere is great. Small to larger groups. I have my own table there. I/we have recommended it to many diners. A must have to visit. And you just keep keep coming back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Tasty flavours, genuine character, value for money..”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

If you're looking for Japanese cuisine that's a little bit different to your run of the mill menu, then give The Bonsai Restaurant & Cafe a try. The flavours are tasty, decor has a genuine character about it, and prices are good for the presentation and quality of food. Good place for a dinner for two, or a meal with a group.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wa
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not a great experience”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Went here on the recommendation of a friend, have to say - pretty disappointed. Tuesday night, staff very attentive and helpful however the food came out with the whole thing over in 40 minutes. Great set up and layout, interesting menu choices however didn't find anything special about the Bonsai. The gyoza was gluggy, the rice cool and the water lukewarm. Maybe a bad night but not a recommendation from us.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bonsai Retaurant & Cafe also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to The Bonsai Retaurant & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing