We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kangaroo Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
98
44
11
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
44
11
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingle roomhuge kitchenfree wifibasement loungelarge common areashared bathroomgreat common roomfull size pool tablemurray streetnice facilitiespedestrian mallspent three nightscomfortable bedsstorage spacebig tvhour receptionother guests
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Literally, the best hostel I have ever stayed! Location is fantastic, right in the middle of the city. So easy to go to Barrack Street Jetty or North bridge. Unlike any other backpacker places, this one doesn't have those loud and annoying characters. It is very quiet, friendly and clean! Basement has HUGE entertainment area, with magazine shelf, pool table, and lounge area. There is a small meeting room on Level 1, which is just amazing when you need to make some private calls or want to sort out the trip itinerary. Staff here are very helpful, friendly and patience.
It is definitely a best place to stay in Perth, or even in Australia!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper K, Manager at Kangaroo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Charlene

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on us.

It's fantastic to hear that you had a great time @ Kangaroo Inn during your recent visit to Perth.

Great to hear you enjoyed our common facilities =)

Hope to see you again and please do recommend us to your friends.

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

The hostel is in the centre of Perth, very close to everything in the city, the staff is young and really good, with a big kitchen and big tv in the living room, snooker table, library, wifi..the price is very low for nigth just 40 bucks, and u have everything you needed.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Renè C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper K, Owner at Kangaroo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Ciao Rene!

Thank you for your kind words on Kangaroo Inn.

Always nice to hear when a guest has had a great time staying at Kangaroo Inn.
Gives my staff and I a sense of satisfaction that we have delivered a quality product to our guests.

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We spent three nights here and loved it! The facilities were great with a library, free use of computers, quiet room, pool table, huge kitchen and bbq area! The room was very clean and modern and the shared bathroom was constantly being cleaned. The Wifi was also very fast. Cannot complain at all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JaiLeih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper K, Manager at Kangaroo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear JaiLeih

Thank you for your review.

Happy to see that you enjoyed our facilities and the rooms and bathrooms were to your satisfaction.

Please feel free to recommend us to your friends who are heading down here =)

All the Best

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I spent three nights there in September and really enjoyed it. The hostel is located in the heart of the city which is quite convenient. The staff made everything they could to make me enjoying my stay....
Kitchen is well equipped and the basement really nice ! ( Free pool table, library...) Free Wifi was really convenient as well when in lot of backpacks in Perth it's $4 an hour.
Definitely recommend it !

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Captain Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper K, Manager at Kangaroo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Captain Q

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on us.

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our Free WiFi and fully equipped kitchen.

Safe Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The 6 bed dorm room was good value at $45 per night. It was clean, comfortable, had good security & all bedding & towel was provided. The amenities were also clean & modern, with nice bathrooms, a library for quiet times & a large common lounge with large flat screen TV, full size pool table, dining area & large commercial kitchen. Location could not have been better, being easy walking distance from all transport, supermarkets, restaurants & take away. All staff were very friendly & helpful & free internet or wifi was available. I highly recommend this accommodation.

Duncan Robertson
Victoria

Room Tip: 6 Bed dorm is best value.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duncan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper K, Manager at Kangaroo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Duncan R

Thank you for staying at Kangaroo Inn and for your Trip Advisor Review.

Great to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and comforts. Hope it was a home away from home for you during your stay in Perth.

Unlike some other budget accommodation providers in Perth we provide an all inclusive price including bedding, linen, towels and free internet, so nice to know you felt it was good value.

Thank you again for staying with us.

Regards

Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews