We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good hostel. AWESOME beds.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banjo's Backpackers
Ranked #14 of 59 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pretty good hostel. AWESOME beds.”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The best thing about this hostel is the staff and the beds. The staff were friendly, helpful and gave great suggestions about places to go. The mattresses were thick and new and comfy, and the blankets were really warm and cozy. The wifi and free breakfast was also a plus. :) The toilets were impressively clean, too!

It was a bit far from the city, and walking back at night from Northbridge meant that I had to walk through a long stretch of empty, dark areas. But it was still worth it for the low price, and it shouldn't be a problem if you're driving. Sockets in the rooms (and not just next to a couple of the beds) would've been nice, though.

Lastly, although I was in an 18 bed room, the room was large and spacious with a toilet cum shower. I had plenty of space to open up my luggage and wasn't ever woken up by noisy roommates.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kai T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanjosB, Manager at Banjo's Backpackers, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a great review Kai. We love that you enjoyed the hostel so much and yes, 18 beds sounds like a lot in a dorm but once you arrive and see how the room is split into three mini rooms it is so much better than some of the smaller dorms I have stayed in over the years.
We have taken notice of your comment about plug sockets in the dorms and have been out already and bought multiple plug boards to replace the existing single plugs and will be installing those over the next few weeks.
Thanks again for the great comments and the empty dark areas home from Northbridge are completely safe we can assure you.
If a return trip to Perth ever occurs be sure to come back to see us.
Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    30
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
8
40
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

super friendly and helpfull staff. very clean. well equipped kitchen. spacious rooms with big lockers. FREE WIFI. only a short (15min) and nice walk to the city center and northbridge and close to public transportation and the free yellow cat bus. and a lot of fun people!

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jelena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanjosB, Manager at Banjo's Backpackers, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thanks Jelena for the great feedback. Banjos is still in its first year of operation and we love to see that you guys are all enjoying and appreciating everything we are trying to achieve here. I'm sure you told me you would be back again soon, so see you then.
Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I'm an aussie girl. I've stayed in quite a few hostels while traveling around WA.
Banjo's definitely was the best.

I stayed for just over a week, I was in a girl's dorm room (3 bunk beds)
I had loads of space to spread out my stuff (I had loads of bags and books with me!!), it was really clean and although girls were moving in and out regularly, everyone i met was really friendly.

Quiet at night time, also on the weekend which was a nice surprise.

The bathroom was AWESOME I thought. So clean and nice decor.

Maybe the only issue was sometimes when people were showering, one of the toilets wouldn't flush properly for a while (until the water filled up I guess)

The kitchen was huge and had loads of facilities. By about 6pm there were lots of people coming in to cook dinner, which had a nice festive atmosphere -- though personally I preferred cooking earlier when it was quiet/almost empty.

Big spaces everywhere, the eating area is giant and outside the dorms is a lot of space too.

Laundry facilities out the back (washing machine and dryers $4 per use)

The extra things I needed which came in handy was a small mirror (my room didn't have mirrors), a lock for the cupboard in the dorm, a towel, also a torch for when I'd get back late at night and the other girls were already asleep.

The beds had a sheet and doona so it was pretty warm. On seriously cold nights I just needed a scarf and a jacket and that was good enough.

Anyway. .. After all that random info ....
It was a great stay totally relaxing, and totally awesome that trips into the city were free on both the train and yellow cat bus.

Just a note for girls who want to stay here, just be careful walking around at night. I saw a lot of dodgy people in the area. Best to have friends with you.
(The backpackers was totally safe, just the surrounding areas near the train station is a bit rough)

When I go to perth again, I definitely want to stay at Banjo's again!

Thanks!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanbyeol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanjosB, Manager at Banjo's Backpackers, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Thanks for the great and informative comments. We have taken note of some of the points you have mentioned and now have full length mirrors in all dorm rooms. Certain areas within a 5 minute walk of Banjos can sometimes fell a bit uncomfortable but no-one has ever had a problem so coming and going at all hours is completely safe.
Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I had a very nice experience in this backpackers near Claisebrook station.
+ fantastic beds
+ super clean
+ friendly staff
+ Free wifi included (and fast too!!!)
+ byo drinks
+ the people
+ safe affordable parking
- a bit further from city center

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanjosB, Manager at Banjo's Backpackers, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thanks for the great comments Mr Garfield, what more can I say? Nothing really, you have said everything that needs to be said. Thanks and Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret River, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I chose Banjos as my first hostel as it was out of the main city, had female-only dorms and was advertised as not a party hostel.

For a first timer, especially travelling alone, it can be really daunting but the staff at Banjos made my first experience a good one.

The facilities are really good, there is a big kitchen, a nice big walk-in fridge and dry food store cupboard. I never had any of my food taken. There are electronic locks on all the doors, which makes you feel very secure.

The dorm and wash rooms were always kept clean, and shoe lockers were provided for walking shoes/boots to avoid the dorms smelling like feet.

There is policy that all drinking/noise ceases after 12 midnight, so the building is nice and quiet at night time. I wouldn't say there is a lot of partying (mainly Thursday, Friday and Saturday), but people did tend to congregate in the open air smoking area between the dorms and the dining area with beers, so any loudness from people drinking outside would carry through to the rooms, as would smoke if the door to the outside area was left open.

Staying here helped me find my feet and way around Perth, so I'm glad it was such a nice place.

Room Tip: If you are a female travelling solo, the female dorms are quiet and secure. The girls I shared with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanjosB, Manager at Banjo's Backpackers, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review Ellie. You have included a lot of great details here that will help many people in choosing the best hostel to suit their needs. Maintaining noise levels after midnight in a hostel can be a very difficult task but we feel we have the right balance of a greats night sleep mixed with a great nights fun for those who stay up late. And our shoe rack is a very important feature of the hostel for the reasons you have mentioned, thanks for noticing.
Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Super clean, safe and friendly atmosphere, excellent security, plently of bathrooms, fabulous kitchen with plently of pantry and fridge space, not too cold even in this rainy winter, good bunk beds with safety rails and comfy still new mattresses, catch the free yellow cat from Claisebrook station to city. And its cheaper than most other Perth hostels. :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lozziegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanjosB, Manager at Banjo's Backpackers, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thanks for the great feedback Lozziegirl,

It always great for the staff to see that all their hard work is appreciated. As one of the best priced hostels in Perth we also have some of the friendliest staff. The Free yellow cat bus is a great way for people to move around in Perth and we are also inside the cities free transit zone which means ALL public transport is completely free and unlimited.

Thanks again for the comments and we look forward to seeing you again here with the Banjo's family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2013

These guys will treat you excellent and give you the best price in town. The kitchen is awesome: you can bring all your stuff and put it into the fridge, the covered, use the microwave, the oven, the toaster, etc. They offer you a nice self-service breakfast with coffee, toast, vegemite, tea, and jam. It is located very near from the center of the city. It feels very safe. They offer free internet access too, which is difficult to find in other places. They have a very comfortable living room where you can sit and watch T.V., as well as a very nice projection room where they show movies. They have ping pong tables too. And the best thing is that they have one of the lowest rate I could find, which gets a lot better if you stay for the whole week.

Room Tip: They have different rates for rooms. The cheapest rooms will be bigger and have more people, but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlosLopezCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanjosB, Manager at Banjo's Backpackers, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thanks for the great comments Carlos,

We love being able to offer one of the most competitive rates in Australia's most expensive city and appreciate you acknowledging that. Our internet is not only free but also unlimited which is hard to find in other hostels, we have plans to extend the range to include all of our guest rooms over the coming months.

Thanks again for the feedback and be sure to drop in and say Hi if you happen to return to Perth.

Safe Travels,

Luke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#6 of 59 in Perth
131 reviews
Perth CBD
Billabong Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Perth City YHA
Perth City YHA
#12 of 59 in Perth
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banjo's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banjo's Backpackers

Property: Banjo's Backpackers
Address: 150 Claisebrook Rd, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 59 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious hostel accommodation conveniently located near East Perth train station. Banjo's backpackers is Perth's newest hostel accommodation with a range of spacious dorm rooms. All rooms have new beds, mattresses and pillows. We offer a large communal kitchen for all guests with free breakfast daily. FREE wifi is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Banjo's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing