We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine, not good but not too bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banjo's Backpackers
Ranked #14 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Molde, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just fine, not good but not too bad”
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed one week at banjos in Perth in March and it was fine until the last night when we woke up at 04.00am because people were sitting in the courtyard and being really loud for about one and a half hour. Didn't help any that a guy in my dorm brought a loud girl home and woke up the whole room.. Another thing that's really wierd is that the staff would come in the room in the middle of the night and turn the air condition off, woke up sweating every morning and it wouldn't come on before 4 or 5pm, I even asked if they could turn in on but they couldn't.. Although, the staff was nice and the movie area was really cool, the kitchen was clean enough, BUT there was ants in the room, I don't know if anyone had food in the room or what but they were everywhere, super small but still pretty annoying

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    30
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
8
40
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Banjo's is the best hostel I have ever visited, for several reasons:

very spacious place, where you can choose to socialize with the other guests in the courtyard or curl up on a couch if you want some alone time;
super clean, the bathrooms get cleaned several times a day and there are guests who clean the hostel for free accommodation;
you never have to wait for the showers, because there are plenty;
very nice and thick mattresses, not the awfully thin ones you usually see in hostels;
the kitchen is large and has everything you need to cook a proper meal, there are tape and markers to label your food, a lot of pans and cutlery, even free brekky in the morning;
the bedrooms are air-conditioned, which is very pleasant when it's 37 degrees in Perth.
the staff is extremely friendly and helpful, me and my roommate were upgraded to a 6 bed female dorm, because there were some beds available, even though we only paid for the cheaper large mix dorm, they are always keen to give tips about the city and transport options, etc;
the location is great, 2 minutes from the free busses into town (which only takes you 5 minutes), 8 minutes from train stations;
very good vibe, because the great mix of people there treat each other with respect, it's not a party hostel with just 18 year old kids.

the WiFi is veeery slow, though, but let's be honest, most hostels don't even have WiFi.

I'm going back there today for the second time for those reasons and would recommend it to everybody!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms next to the courtyard, because it get's noisy there at night till 23:00 or 00:00.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjaaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret River, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Big, clean, fully equipped kitchen. Staff are friendly and helpful. Basic breakky provided in the AM. Toast and instant coffee. (Good enough for me.) I was even given an extra pillow and blanket upon request. Very happy with my stay. I would definitely recommend if you don't mind a 15 minute walk to get into the city(which I don't).

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dustree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I have been staying in this hostel on an off for 9 months.

All I can say is incredible service everytime. Don't think hostel, think hostel come hotel! It's clean! Noise is kept under control, the beds are new and the Internet free.

A backpacker staying almost in one place for 9 months is almost unheard of so this alone states the quality of this hostel.

Free breakfast and free wifi (you pay like a dollar a minute in some hostels), this alone was the biggest draw for me originally, however the facilities and staff level here will speak for themselves when you arrive!

Thanks again Luke and Banjos! It's been an awesome time and I'm sad to go but the time has finally come!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoJoWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here with my girlfriend in November 2013. Hostel is great! Room was clean and bathrooms and kitchen were also really clean! The hostel is close to the City Centre of Perth and close to the bar area! We met some really nice other travellers in the hostel and it is nice they have a quiet time during the night so you could have a good sleep! It is a really good place to stay in Perth!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff en Esmee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I stayed for 5 days at Banjos, this hostel is clean with a very big kitchen.In the room you also have a locker. The noise is till midnight so it is very good. The only thing that I didn't like is that is a bit far from the city centre, you have to take the free bus during the day or train. The staff was fantastic and very helpful with everything.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanjosB, Manager at Banjo's Backpackers, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Thanks Serena, It is great to see you liked the hostel so much, and I see from your other reviews that you really enjoyed your time in our fantastic city. I will be sure to pass onto the staff your comments as I know they will really appreciate it at this busy time of the year. Have a really great Xmas and an awesome New year and be sure to come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2013

It's a decent hostel with clean linen and toilets. Staff were very cheery and helpful. Location wise, it's excellent (only a two minute walk away from the bus stop that takes you to the city). The only downside was the noise - creaky floors and doors, and paper thin walls. Many people drink till late just outside the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gettingtrippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanjosB, Manager at Banjo's Backpackers, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Hello Mr GettingTrippy, I notice this is your first review on TripAdvisor so thanks for choosing Banjos as the starting location for your travels.
Our floors are a little creaky in places and I was not aware of thin walls being a problem so I will be sure to go and investigate that, thanks for pointing it out. We close our courtyard at midnight every night and ask the guests there to move elsewhere to be sure everyone can get a great nights sleep. We only have a few rooms adjoining the courtyard so this is a system that works pretty well.
Thanks again for the comments and enjoy the rest of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
The Sebel East Perth
The Sebel East Perth
#21 of 64 in Perth
471 reviews
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#6 of 49 in Perth
138 reviews
Perth CBD
Billabong Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Perth City YHA
Perth City YHA
#12 of 49 in Perth
249 reviews
Perth CBD
Bambu Backpackers
Bambu Backpackers
#15 of 49 in Perth
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banjo's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banjo's Backpackers

Property: Banjo's Backpackers
Address: 150 Claisebrook Rd, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious hostel accommodation conveniently located near East Perth train station. Banjo's backpackers is Perth's newest hostel accommodation with a range of spacious dorm rooms. All rooms have new beds, mattresses and pillows. We offer a large communal kitchen for all guests with free breakfast daily. FREE wifi is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Banjo's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing