We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the best hostel in Perth!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banjo's Backpackers
Ranked #14 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stay in this hostel in February 2014, during my travel around the Australia and I think that this is one of the best places I have ever stayed.
Free breakfast, free wifi, free kitchen with good equipment (no deposit for cutlery & dishes), really quiet during the night, clean, secure, cheap, reception open 24/7, air condition, free pc available, bathrooms are cleaned every 3/5 hour, good people, parking for the cars, laundry, ping pong, tv, films and all you need!
If I go back to Perth, I will definitely return here!

Room Tip: 6 bed dorms or less is the best choice ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

Huge hostel- with lots of common area space so never feels crowded. Short walk to claisebrook station which us 1 stop from CBD and free if you buy a travel card. Or only a 15 min walk junto town. Lots of long term residents but the hostel tried to keep them in all in their win rooms. Wifi us pretty terrible as it is free, too many people using so painfully slow. Free breakfast is jam and bread- which is ok and free tea and coffee :-) clean rooms and bathrooms too.

Room Tip: Rooms 17-19 are so noisey as right on p busy corridors and the squeaky wooden floors outside make it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LylieJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed several times at banjos and I love it. The staff is always friendly, the beds are comfortable (especially compared to other hostels), its easy to get to know new people, its close to the city centre, breakfast is included and you get free wifi and: it is clean!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank backfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I have been in many hostels but none is as good as the banjo's all very clean comfortable beds friendly helpful staff. I am always happy when I come back in the banjos I just feel well, this hostel is really great.

Ich war in vielen Hostels aber keines ist so gut wie das Banjos alles sehr sauber bequeme Betten freundliches hilfsbereites Personal. Ich freue mich immer wieder wenn ich zurück komme im Banjos fühle ich mich einfach wohl dieses Hostel ist wirklich super.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isabella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We only stayed here for one night in Decenber 2013 ut it was a decent place. Bit of a mission from the airport but maybe that`s only due to the flight before hand. Good size kitchen but that was needed with amount of guest (mostly French when we were there). Computer access, friendly staff and beds were decent.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy_Dellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed one week at banjos in Perth in March and it was fine until the last night when we woke up at 04.00am because people were sitting in the courtyard and being really loud for about one and a half hour. Didn't help any that a guy in my dorm brought a loud girl home and woke up the whole room.. Another thing that's really wierd is that the staff would come in the room in the middle of the night and turn the air condition off, woke up sweating every morning and it wouldn't come on before 4 or 5pm, I even asked if they could turn in on but they couldn't.. Although, the staff was nice and the movie area was really cool, the kitchen was clean enough, BUT there was ants in the room, I don't know if anyone had food in the room or what but they were everywhere, super small but still pretty annoying

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Banjo's is the best hostel I have ever visited, for several reasons:

very spacious place, where you can choose to socialize with the other guests in the courtyard or curl up on a couch if you want some alone time;
super clean, the bathrooms get cleaned several times a day and there are guests who clean the hostel for free accommodation;
you never have to wait for the showers, because there are plenty;
very nice and thick mattresses, not the awfully thin ones you usually see in hostels;
the kitchen is large and has everything you need to cook a proper meal, there are tape and markers to label your food, a lot of pans and cutlery, even free brekky in the morning;
the bedrooms are air-conditioned, which is very pleasant when it's 37 degrees in Perth.
the staff is extremely friendly and helpful, me and my roommate were upgraded to a 6 bed female dorm, because there were some beds available, even though we only paid for the cheaper large mix dorm, they are always keen to give tips about the city and transport options, etc;
the location is great, 2 minutes from the free busses into town (which only takes you 5 minutes), 8 minutes from train stations;
very good vibe, because the great mix of people there treat each other with respect, it's not a party hostel with just 18 year old kids.

the WiFi is veeery slow, though, but let's be honest, most hostels don't even have WiFi.

I'm going back there today for the second time for those reasons and would recommend it to everybody!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms next to the courtyard, because it get's noisy there at night till 23:00 or 00:00.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjaaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Bambu Backpackers
Bambu Backpackers
#17 of 57 in Perth
82 reviews
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#5 of 57 in Perth
162 reviews
Perth CBD
Perth City YHA
Perth City YHA
#13 of 57 in Perth
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Billabong Backpackers Resort
East Perth
Townsend Lodge
Townsend Lodge
#26 of 57 in Perth
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banjo's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banjo's Backpackers

Address: 150 Claisebrook Rd, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Price Range: £14 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious hostel accommodation conveniently located near East Perth train station. Banjo's backpackers is Perth's newest hostel accommodation with a range of spacious dorm rooms. All rooms have new beds, mattresses and pillows. We offer a large communal kitchen for all guests with free breakfast daily. FREE wifi is also available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing