We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good value for central Perth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mountway Holiday Apartments
Ranked #65 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Really good value for central Perth”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

It really annoys me when people check into cheap accomadation and then complain bitterly about the furnishings etc.Mountway apartments is a 70's apartment block close to the heart of Perth and well within walking distance. It is definitely older style accomodation. The furnishings were mismatched and scratched but everything was very clean. The rooms were very spacious and the kitchens so well set up it was like having your own kitchen from home. It is very close to a major freeway so if noise is a bother to you go somewhere else. But we thought it was excellent value and will stay here again

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Xanthosia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Its great news to hear about the reality of Mountway. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    99
    69
    32
    59
See reviews for
71
60
42
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed 5 nights/6 days at Mountway Apartments. We found it clean, albeit older apartments, but excellent value for money, especially as we could self cater in a modest sized kitchen. Walk over the freeway bridge and you're in downtown Perth. Don't worry about being close to a freeway. I'm a light sleeper and slept fine every night. The staff were very helpful. A small shop, on site parking and their guest laundry was handy too. If you are seeking value for money accommodation in a high cost city like Perth, this is it for you too.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

I stayed in with group of friends. We booked an apartment for 4 occupants with private kitchen and bathroom. The kitchen and bathroom were refurnished and clean and sleeping area had good size, but it looked odd in colors and old carpet.I ll see improvement in this. If not in changing furniture than take care more in cleaning, coz we found some death spiders on balcony. It wasn't too noise although the highway was behind our window. Location was excellent, because we had only 3 days for exploring this city. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FarAwayAnyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Our family of 10 stayed here on 2 separate dates in March-as a stopover in Perth on our driving trip. The apartments all seem to follow the same layout-you enter the door-toilet on your right and kitchen on the left or vice versa, sleeping quarters and patio-which had a table with 2 chairs and clothes rack. We stayed in different apartments-one fitted for 5 persons-2 bunk beds, 1 single and 1 double bed squeezed into the apartment and another fitted for 2-3 persons, so 2-3 twin beds.
The positive-kitchen is fully equipped for self catering-it had a plugged in electrical stove (1 stove), also a versatile large electrical cooking pot-adequate to cook all your breakfast bacon, eggs etc. Washing liquid, kitchen towels etc were all provided. Kettle, fridge & microwave and coffee/tea also provided-enough to last you 2-3 days. Bedding and towels were clean. We also had no problem sleeping-we were placed on 1st and 5th floor on 2 occasions and had no issue with traffic noise. If anything, it was nice to see all the cars zipping by on the freeway.
The negative-this is an old place. The carpet, toilet, fittings-everything is old. The lighting is dim. So don’t expect swanky. Even the tiled floors feel icky-result of too much oily residue perhaps? Anyway-for a stopover its fine. Accommodation in Perth is expensive –this was the cheapest place I found that catered for families.
Another positive-location wise-it is walking distance to Kings botanical gardens and oversee the Swan river. Kings park is really worth visiting and during the evenings, it is really an experience to see the locals exercising or having a sit down with their families on the hillside, waiting for the city lights to come on. It’s quite magical and you really understand why people love the Australian lifestyle. We had no chance to look for places to shop/eat, so no comments on these things.
Overall-if you overlook the fact that its old-I would say that for a place to stopover-its more than adequate.

Room Tip: No difference in the apartments on low or high floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beachmite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for your accurate appraisal. Too often people go overboard with exaggerated claims but you have taken the time to write a very balanced review of our budget Mountway Holiday Apartments and its appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Hi my names David i stayed at Mountway Holiday Apartments myself i left Thailand came to Perth to see and get the feel before i go back to Europe ive stayed in the best of the best all over the world i only needed a base in Perth some where clean and cheap Mountway did all i would say if your looking for good friendly staff clean and buget and cooking facilaties use the Mountway Holiday Apartments

Room Tip: I stayed 4 floor i would say 4 and above for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for your comments. Kind regards John & Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

The hotel backs onto a major freeway, it was so noisy I could barely sleep the three nights I was there.

Its a shame as the location is otherwise good and the room was basic but clean and had all the essentials.

If you are going to brave it pack a good pair of earplugs!

Room Tip: It looks like all rooms would be equally noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SalManly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed here for three nights in a three person room. We've stayed here before, and whilst the apartments are a little tired, in need of a spruce up and can be noisy (on the freeway) it's the most affordable place you'll find in Perth city with it's own kitchen and bathroom.

Definitely worth the stay for backpackers for example who want something a little more private and spacious than a hostel and travellers looking to stay on a budget - not spending much time in the room. Perth is expensive... don't waste your cash on pricey accommodation..!

We stayed for the Day on the Green in February in Kings Park, and this was the perfect location, a short walk up the street, to the venue.

In addition, the walk from Mountway to the CBD is only 10 minutes across the freeway. We also walked from here to the Swan River (Lucky Shag Bar and Rotto Express). It's quite central for people who don't mind a 10 minute walk to wherever they are going. The walk to the train station however is about 20-30 minutes. You even have a view from the staiwell over the Swan River..!

The kitchen and bathroom are a little tired, but served well enough. Microwave, fridge, kettle... The air conditoning worked very well (but turned off a couple of times on it's own... is there a central timer..?) and we were comfortable in our room.

The girls at the desk were extrememly helpful, offering to help us book anything we needed. All the staff were very polite.

We couldn't hear any other guests during our stay, even tho we did see other people. The only noise you'll hear is that of the freeway (24/7) but it's really just white noise after a while.

Would stay here again for the price and the closeness to the CBD, but probably wouldn't stay in Perth again because there's really not much happening in the CBD... it's all happening in Subiaco and Fremantle.

Room Tip: All rooms back onto the freeway, so don't bother asking for a 'quiet' room :P
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cammyxxoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Hay Street Traveller's Inn
Perth CBD
The Great Southern Hotel
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#64 of 81 in Perth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Comfort Inn Wentworth Plaza
West Perth
City Stay Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountway Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountway Holiday Apartments

Property: Mountway Holiday Apartments
Address: 36 Mount St | West Perth, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountway Holiday Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in picturesque Mount Street between Kings Park and the City, adjacent to the Swan River, sixty-nine studio apartments with elevator to all levels. Each apartment is fully self-contained, with kitchen, private bathroom. Linen, blankets, crockery and cutlery supplied. Digital Television with free FOXTEL. Reverse cycle Air-conditioning. Most apartments have wide city views from balconies. Some spectacular river views are available from several vantage points. Walk to the city and business locations in a few minutes. We are close to restaurants and entertainment, bus-port and free CAT bus. PERTH CONVENTION EXHIBITION CENTRE is a 7 minute walk. For business or leisure, Mountway is the ideal location. Facilities include pantry shopping, wireless internet service, and token operated laundry. The extensive out-door Barbecue area is available 'Free to Guest'. Your hosts John & Sue Bergin welcome you to Perth Western Australia. Mountway is suitable for all travelers who want short to medium term budget 2.5 star self-catering, studio style apartments in West Perth Western Australia. NOTE: Mountway is located in West Perth 6005 but it's only a 1 minute walk to the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountway Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountway Holiday Apartments Perth
Mountway Holiday Apartments Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing