We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mountway Holiday Apartments
Ranked #65 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Perth City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

Located in a good spot in town center,but the motel itself has got the poorest quality,everything looks so old and one wondered whether you are in third country or australia,we struggled to find parking and parking itself is a nightmare,evening staff member was a bit nice,but the morning lady who checked us out need a thourough training on customer service.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
3 Thank MANANA J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thank you for your comments which are appreciated. Yes it’s old, but a lot of improvements have been made. You forgot to mention the state of the art air-con and DTV. I think these days some people can't help themselves in the over-use or incorrect placement of words. I think nightmare is an over statement. We offer free parking and if it’s full in the evening it’s free on Mount Street until morning. I don't think you have been to a third world country. It’s hard for the staff to respond to blatantly negative comments such as yours which are an overkill. I am wondering why we have so many return guests and why we are fully booked most of the time, well 86% last financial year. Perhaps it’s because Mountway has the most affordable accommodation in Perth with your own kitchen and bathroom. I know what you mean by everything is old even if it’s not true, because I worked at the Dorchester in London and everything was old. Even the floorboards squeaked, but nobody was complaining.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    99
    69
    32
    59
See reviews for
71
60
42
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Keeping in mind that Perth is currently probably the most expensive city in Australia (accomodation-wise), tha rates for this poperty are quite good and the location is good. But that's it. The apartments themselves are tired, beds are squeaky, and most important, windows cannot be shut tight, making the nights a very noisy affair. As the property is next to the highway, the fact that windows and balcony doors are of slide-type and do not keep the noise out, force you to eaither use the ear-plugs or sleep with your noise-reduction in-ear headphones on.

The fact that windows cannot keep the cold out make the rooms also very cold, and having the A/C on hot only partially solves the problem. Same goes for bathroom and you can imagine how nice it is to have a freezing cold bathroom during winter months...

Still, if you need a good location, clean and with a good price, it's a good pick. If you like your roomnights without road noise and reasonably warm, you better look elsewhere (but expect to pay a bit more)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank matewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
I think agony is a poor choice of words. Why stay a week? On the other hand lower down your review you almost had favourable comments. For some reason Mountway is fully booked most of the time. The average occupancy level in Perth is 84% and we came in at 86% for the last financial year. The dictionary definition of agony is not compatible with your week stay here, and we are not charging anything for the education. My advice to all prospective bookers is to read all the reviews of all the properties in your price range, I have and that was a real education.
John Bergin General Manager since January 2002.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

Zeehan, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

As we rose slowly skywards in the creaking lift, we contemplated on the Perth of the sixties.... (and going up, there was plenty of time ). We chose to stay for a brief family health visit, after researching Trip Advisor. The apartments are of the mid-twentieth century with everything that denotes; and although fairly spartan by current accommodation standards, they are clean. The beds were comfortable enough to sleep us through the dull freeway rumble.The air-condioner and flat screen TV were the only modern intrusions. Reception was friendly and helpful. There is convenience shopping available. The tariff, in this age of expensive Perth rooms, was remarkable value. For a short stopover in town, the apartments are a very reasonable choice.... a bit battered and worn, but an interesting venue for a stylish retro makeover in due course (?)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnAshford255367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Thank you. We do like it when people make acurate balanced reporting on their experience at Mountway. The lift description was uplifiting. I remember when I stayed at the Buckingham Palace Hotel in Buckingham Palace road London in 1971 the lift was raised and lowered by a pull-rope and I almost got a rope burn on my hands trying to slow it down. I suppose the lift operator was on a tea break, I really don't know. And then in 1972 I went up in the lift of the Empire State Building NYC and my stomach arrived at the observation deck after I did.

Regarding the tariff, it's true we have not doubled our tariffs just because demand is high due to the shortage of rooms in Perth. Here is something for readers and prospective guest to consider:

A few weeks ago you could get a standard hotel room at the top end of the market discounted down to $190.00. But as soon as there was a large conference on in Perth the cost went from their published rate of $600 up to $1000.00 per night.

If you are on holiday and can afford the hotel with Room Service, Restaurant, Bars etc then that’s what you should look for when you are choosing accommodation. However apartments usually have a lower tariff than Hotels because unlike Hotels apartments do not have to support the very labour intensive Food and Beverage cost areas that are part of Hotels.

If you want the most affordable accommodation consider the budget apartment, book ahead or keep your eye on lower tariffs when inventories loosen up. Look at the cancellation policies before you book. Mountway will take the first night the day before you check-in. If you shorten your original booking because you want to visit Margaret River, for example, you will be refunded the per nigt charge for the nights you did not stay.

Thank you again for the accurate reporting and for pointing out that Mountway Holiday Apartments are the most affordable budget apartments in Perth. JB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

2 days here in a very basic setup. Two beds, separate old kitchen and bathroom. No desk, no iron in the room. This is a great price (so there is no free lunch!) and excellent location but leaves a lot to be desired if looking for basic business trip facilities. Adjacent to the freeway but I was not bothered by the noise.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewwwGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

2 days here in a very basic setup. Two beds, separate old kitchen and bathroom. No desk, no iron in the room. This is a great price (so there is no free lunch!) and excellent location but leaves a lot to be desired if looking for basic business trip facilities. Adjacent to the freeway but I was not bothered by the noise.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrewwGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Thank you for that. I agree, the corporate/busness client might find it doesn't meet the required standard and rather than book/stay at the affordable 2.5 star apartment category Mountway you might consider a 3 - 4 star hotel. Of course that is double the price, which you are aware of. But readers might not be aware of that. Anyone that wants a good corporate give me a call and I will recommend one. Kind regards John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

This Hotel is only good as a cheap hotel. It's location is good aside from the proximity to the freeway. Bedrooms overlook freeway and there is traffic noise all night. Be prepared for a building that has not been updated since the '70s. The lift feels like it'll break at any minute, there is grime built up in all the corners. The carpet in my room smelled like stale urine. The kitchenette lacks microwave bowls, a grater and a few other essentials. It's basic. The staff are hit and miss, just wanted to get out of there as quickly as possible as it was nearly closing time. The internet is SLOW and you have to pay for it. Some channels on the TV freeze. I could go on. The up side is that the sheets on the bed where clean, the toilet was clean and the shower is good.
OK if your looking for something cheap but don't expect luxury of any kind.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank manangatang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed with three of us in a room and were quite comfortable - had bunk beds and a rolling bed, and a couch, tv, desk, closed balcony with a table and two chairs, and a wardrobe, a drying rack for clothes. Kitchen had everything we needed to self-cater - fridge, electric burner, kettle, dishes etc. The highway noise didn't bother us, and at night traffic was minimal.

There is wi-fi in the hotel which you can pay for, we found it to be pretty slow most of the time (I think this was probably due to multiple users all on at the same time).

Parking can be an issue, as I believe there are more rooms than parking spaces. Some evenings we would end up having to park up the street - which wasn't really a big deal for us - but could be for anyone with mobility conerns.

Mountway is conveniently close to downtown, just a short walk across the bridge and you have access to shopping, dining and nightclubs (although we found the better clubs to be a bit of a hike).

I agree with others that the decor is dated, but who cares? The price is super cheap for Perth, and Mountway is clean and close to downtown.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiagaraSailorGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
It is so refreshing to read accurate reviews of our property. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Hay Street Traveller's Inn
Perth CBD
The Great Southern Hotel
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#64 of 81 in Perth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Comfort Inn Wentworth Plaza
West Perth
City Stay Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountway Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountway Holiday Apartments

Property: Mountway Holiday Apartments
Address: 36 Mount St | West Perth, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountway Holiday Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in picturesque Mount Street between Kings Park and the City, adjacent to the Swan River, sixty-nine studio apartments with elevator to all levels. Each apartment is fully self-contained, with kitchen, private bathroom. Linen, blankets, crockery and cutlery supplied. Digital Television with free FOXTEL. Reverse cycle Air-conditioning. Most apartments have wide city views from balconies. Some spectacular river views are available from several vantage points. Walk to the city and business locations in a few minutes. We are close to restaurants and entertainment, bus-port and free CAT bus. PERTH CONVENTION EXHIBITION CENTRE is a 7 minute walk. For business or leisure, Mountway is the ideal location. Facilities include pantry shopping, wireless internet service, and token operated laundry. The extensive out-door Barbecue area is available 'Free to Guest'. Your hosts John & Sue Bergin welcome you to Perth Western Australia. Mountway is suitable for all travelers who want short to medium term budget 2.5 star self-catering, studio style apartments in West Perth Western Australia. NOTE: Mountway is located in West Perth 6005 but it's only a 1 minute walk to the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountway Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountway Holiday Apartments Perth
Mountway Holiday Apartments Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing