We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what the Doctor ordered”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountway Holiday Apartments
Ranked #53 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Jakarta
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just what the Doctor ordered”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I work in the city, @ QV1 just across the road from Mountway, so convenience wise it does not get any better!. I stay here on average 6-10 weeks a year and have done so for maybe the last ten years or so. That probably sums up my real opinion of Mountway. It is functional, near my work, clean, comfortable enough and the management /staff flexible about my needs. I always keep a case here to save me lugging things back and forward. It aint the Ritz but at the price they charge, in the current overheated Perth accommodation market it is, I believe, value for money.
Each unit can sleep 2 to 3, they are air conditioned which is essential in a Perth summer!!! (and this Sunday @ 35), and equipped for what i need, separate kitchen (fridge, microwave, hotplate, kettle) and shower/bathroom. No big wall sized flat screen tv's (a small one instead) or ipod dock but I am not willing to pay for them. So in summary a good value proposition.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brocklehirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate all our long-time, long stay guests. 10% are regular return coporates and it turns out for them, Mountway really is their Home away from Home. Welcome Back. J & S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    100
    69
    33
    60
See reviews for
73
60
43
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

I have stayed in many places in Perth, often at the lower end of the price range so I know what you can get for your dollar in Perth. These apartments should be condemned. Poorly maintained, raggy carpet - not cheap enough. The bedding is new and clean but the rest is rubbish.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
It is not helpful if you know what you can get but don't tell us what you can get. Readers won't believe what you say if you are so non descriptive. Your pics are very good and are a true representation of what is here. The toilet would have looked much nicer with the seat down. You left the seat up for reasons only known to yourself. The bedding is clean and the new DTV and state of the art reverse cycle air-con and many other aspects of the apartments are not consistent with your general negative description. We don't like losing a guest but with 90% occupancy for October, 22,000 room nights a year we say the apartments are well maintained. You can say the world is flat and the moon is made from green cheese but that doesn't make it so. Trip adviser provides a great service to prospective guests. We get quite a few that read comments such as yours and decide, lets go and see for ourselves, and why wouldn't they at half the cost of a 3 star hotel. We do hope readers will take the time to read all the comments in their area of interest and make a decision based on location and their budget. Would someone please tell me why Mountway is almost fully booked almost all the time. Kind regards. John Bergin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Arrived after midnight after a long flight - check in was quick, room was clean, location - relatively easy to find.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
The late night arrival is important to us and to travelers, so thank you for reporting on your experience. JB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I stayed for a week at Mountway & its really a value for money deal. The location is perfect for business people due to all major MNC's offices in nearby area like hay street, st george tower & other commercial hubs. Even these all area are in walking distance, which definitely can save some more bugs per day from taxi fares. Rooms are looking cheap but are clean & with well equipped kitchen. The hotel staff is quite supportive & humble.

Although there is little bit issues about room services as they offers weekly housekeeping only & even drinking water you need to purchase from reception & between work time only since reception been closed after working time.

But overall I think it is best option for frequent flyers to Perth.

Sourabh Gaggar
India

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SourabhGaggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Thank you for your comments. As Mountway Holiday Apartments is not a hotel we do not do the daily service. However we will change the towels/sheets when requested. Even luxury apartments at Margaret River, for example, do not service every day. The water out of the tap, you can drink it. Anyone who is nervous about the tap water can boil and cool it in the fridge but it's not necessary.
The office hours 8am til 8pm are in keeping with our level of service as Mountway is not a hotel.
Thank you again for appreciating Mountway. Kind regards, John and Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Basically a few of us were sent here as a stop over for a few days before heading up the coast to a mine site. It's not a holiday apartment at all, it's dirty and right on the freeway so very noisy all the time. There was nowhere to leave your luggage if you checked out early, i really can't be bothered to write to much about this place it's a good thing work was picking up the tab...

Room Tip: Don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrisd_600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Thank you Chris for your comments which are appreciated. The occupancy here for the month of September was 88% or 1812/2000 room-nights. We understand the paradox of 'different strokes for different folks'. Your comments are against popular opinion. Some people say wonderful wonderful but that doesn’t make it so. Most people will make up their own minds about where to stay considering the location and budget price. We understand you can't be bothered to make constructive comments. I remember when I worked at the Orchard Hotel here in Perth at the executive meeting someone brought up the fact that some staff complained that there was only bread and butter in the staff canteen (usually free meals for staff). The Chairman nearly fell off his chair when he exclaimed in no uncertain terms "we will charge 15 cents for the bread and butter and maybe they will appreciate it" "where else can you get bread and butter for 15 cents he asked" If you were having to pay for the apartment out of your own funds you might find some value in it, instead of none. It’s unfortunate that your mining company wasn't in a position to put you up at the higher end of the market. We understand respect your level of disappointment. JB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights for business. the location is sensational - just across the freeway from town. We were arriving late so received an email to advise us how to get the key from the caretaker - all worked perfectly.

The rooms are tired - think 1970's but not much has been done to it since then. Having said that it was good value and our room was clean. The sheets were clean and the towels were big fresh white bath sheets. The bed was very comfortable and we slept really well.

The kitchen has everything we needed, from microwave to 3/4 fridge, all crockery and cutlery etc.
We were on the 5th floor so had a great view but the freeway can be noisy, although it wasn't a problem for us. There is a lift so you don't have to lug bags all the way up the stairs.

Staff were friendly and helpful.We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frothygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thank you for your balanced review, we appreciate all reviews as it tells us a lot about our guests. Kind regards John & Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Located in a good spot in town center,but the motel itself has got the poorest quality,everything looks so old and one wondered whether you are in third country or australia,we struggled to find parking and parking itself is a nightmare,evening staff member was a bit nice,but the morning lady who checked us out need a thourough training on customer service.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
3 Thank MANANA J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thank you for your comments which are appreciated. Yes it’s old, but a lot of improvements have been made. You forgot to mention the state of the art air-con and DTV. I think these days some people can't help themselves in the over-use or incorrect placement of words. I think nightmare is an over statement. We offer free parking and if it’s full in the evening it’s free on Mount Street until morning. I don't think you have been to a third world country. It’s hard for the staff to respond to blatantly negative comments such as yours which are an overkill. I am wondering why we have so many return guests and why we are fully booked most of the time, well 86% last financial year. Perhaps it’s because Mountway has the most affordable accommodation in Perth with your own kitchen and bathroom. I know what you mean by everything is old even if it’s not true, because I worked at the Dorchester in London and everything was old. Even the floorboards squeaked, but nobody was complaining.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Hay Street Traveller's Inn
Perth CBD
The Great Southern Hotel
Perth CBD
Criterion Hotel Perth
Criterion Hotel Perth
#55 of 64 in Perth
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#51 of 64 in Perth
152 reviews
West Perth
City Stay Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountway Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountway Holiday Apartments

Property: Mountway Holiday Apartments
Address: 36 Mount St | West Perth, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountway Holiday Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in picturesque Mount Street between Kings Park and the City, adjacent to the Swan River, sixty-nine studio apartments with elevator to all levels. Each apartment is fully self-contained, with kitchen, private bathroom. Linen, blankets, crockery and cutlery supplied. Digital Television with free FOXTEL. Reverse cycle Air-conditioning. Most apartments have wide city views from balconies. Some spectacular river views are available from several vantage points. Walk to the city and business locations in a few minutes. We are close to restaurants and entertainment, bus-port and free CAT bus. PERTH CONVENTION EXHIBITION CENTRE is a 7 minute walk. For business or leisure, Mountway is the ideal location. Facilities include pantry shopping, wireless internet service, and token operated laundry. The extensive out-door Barbecue area is available 'Free to Guest'. Your hosts John & Sue Bergin welcome you to Perth Western Australia. Mountway is suitable for all travelers who want short to medium term budget 2.5 star self-catering, studio style apartments in West Perth Western Australia. NOTE: Mountway is located in West Perth 6005 but it's only a 1 minute walk to the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mountway Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountway Holiday Apartments Perth
Mountway Holiday Apartments Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing