We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cost-effective and convenient - just so pleasant!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mountway Holiday Apartments
Ranked #53 of 65 Hotels in Perth
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cost-effective and convenient - just so pleasant!”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Dear All,

I like to update my review for Mountway Holiday Apartments. In addition to my previous comments (see the review made on 21 June 2013) I'd like to point out the additional features that are now available:

1) Digital TV - Free FOXTEL

This is great as it allows me to catch up on the NFL. There is also a range of about 30 channels to choose from to suit everyone: from 24 hour news on the ABC, to international sport, and cartoons. Don't you just love breakfast with cartoons?!

2) Internet Access

Now you can connect to the Internet from the privacy of your own room to book tickets, check your email and stay connected. In addition, if you don't have your own computer, there is a common computer in the front office on the ground floor that will allow you to access the Internet, check your mail, and check your flight status, etc. Very useful!

3) Remodelled Kitchens

The kitchens have been remodelled with a fresh simplistic yet sharp appearance that's easier to clean and pleasing to look at. It makes preparing my breakfast even more pleasant than before. The toaster allows me to make hot crumpets and toast, and the microwave oven can be used for heating packed dinners or dessert, e.g. apple pie (with ice cream of course). The fridge and freezer make storing groceries easy and allows the cost-conscious traveller another mechanism to get great value for money.

My summer stay at the Mountway was really nice and next time I'll stay longer: 10 nights just isn't enough. I'm always sad to leave and am grateful for such a wonderful and simple form of accommodation. It just makes life cost-effective, easier and simpler: exactly what I want on a holiday.

Again, the location is perfect: 10 mins walk to the trains, 5 mins to the bus stop and 5 mins to the top of Kings Park - what a view at night!

Management and support staff are always friendly and considerate.

I hope this update helps you in making a decision.
:)
Bud.

Room Tip: A room on the higher floors may minimize the noise from the roads below, and allows for a better vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bud F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    100
    69
    33
    60
See reviews for
73
60
43
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redcliffe, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We wanted a 2 bed room apartment for 4 adults and got 1 queen bed & 2 singles beds in 1 room with all diffence coloured bed covers. The room was very cramped, carpet very old, verticals missing. The bath room was very OLD broked tiles, mould in the bath/shower. The toilet bowel had been replaced but tank was very OLD. I would rate this motel 1 as it was walking distance the city.

Room Tip: The photos on the site are not what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

Bathurst, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here, the room was comfortable, although the air-conditioning wasn't working only the fan, which did cool the room down significantly. The kitchen was very clean, with everything working and free tea and coffee available in the kitchen. The bathroom was cleaned and with plenty of space, although wasn't very modern.
The room had a balcony and very good view of the city and the Swan. I travelled with my 2 year old son and was glad that I received a complementary colouring in set when booking in. Early check-out is available because the room is prepaid for. The apartments are close to the major shopping complexes in the Perth CBD. The staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly when organising a taxi for the airport. I would highly recommend Mountway for any low budget travellers, especially as it is very close to the city and Barrack street Jetty.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventure_number
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I am going to list the for's for this property first.

1. Fab location, very near to town and Kings Park

2. Great staff, a special thank you to Polly who was so helpful to us.

3. Spacious bedroom with great aircon, nice bedlinen, comfortable beds.

4. Well equipped kitchen, fridge freezer, toaster, cutlery, cups, mugs, glasses, pans, large slow cooker, single portable hob, washing up liquid, scourer, dishcloth, teatowel.

5. Bathroom with bath, loads and loads of hot water at all times, towels, soap.

6. Enclosed balcony that is perfect for drying clothes even from soaking wet on the provided clothes horse, there is also a wardrobe on the balcony and table and chairs.

7. On site laundry room with washer, dryer and iron.

8. BBQ area undercover with large picnic tables.

9. Free computor in reception

The Againsts are as follows

1. Wifi was awful in our room, I could only get a signal when either in the kitchen or sitting in the bathroom.

2. There is a freeway outside the apartments, with windows shut and aircon on it did not disturb us though.

3. Aircon is on a 4 hour cycle, I actually think this is a good thing despite having to get up to switch back on in the night. Easy to do, just a switch on the wall. It saves energy when most people will leave on and go out!

4. Rooms are old, I believe the building was built in the 1960's, it is in dire need of a complete refurb - however we were comfortable and would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosielamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

location was excellent to the CBD & KINGS PARK both in easy walking distance Room 501 had a million dollar view.
Only let downs were needs new carpet, power point in bathroom, & one on wall by bedroom mirror
with a light above the mirror as well

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolm w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

I wont stay here again and wont recommend it to anyone. Sure location is good but rooms are VERY outdated blinds missing chunks of carpet missing bathroom dirty with dripping taps lift didnt work and had to pay for parking from 8am as all parks were taken. Will pay that bit extra next time for something more pleasant

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joelc076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleaver294212, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for your comments. It confirms the average of 1 in 10 stays a week and then makes totally negative comments. We are fully booked most of the time but not fully booked way into the future. Its not compulsory to please every-one all the time but we will keep trying.
Kind regards John Bergin General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I stayed with my family and it was a wonderful experience. I am glad that I did not opt for the possibilities far away from CBD. Location is one of the prime locations in Perth. Just cross a bridge and you are right there in the middle of CBD. If you Hire a car then you have the luxury of ample parking space with the Mountway and if you decide to utilize the excellent TransPerth transport you are right on the spot. Almost any area within the WA is in your reach, use GPS on your mobile and you have number of possibilities to travel. Esplanade Bus Port and Train Station is only minutes walk away. Get to Transperth Busport and buy your SMARRIDERS and now you have access to all the transport, go to Fremantle or Beaches or places you like to.
Within CBD Transport is Free and at this location Woolsworths is not far away, go fetch your grocery to cook in your own self contained kitchen and enjoy meals, tea, coffee anytime you like while staying within the budget.
If you have to attend some official work then CBD and all offices are nearby, even if you forgot something at the Mountway, getting back to apartment and attend the job instantly is not a big deal. If your agenda is convenience, budget and proximity with self containment, Mountway is a very good option. I must say that staff is excellent especially the Manager. Traffic noise is easily handled if you close the glass doors and use AC. TV channels are fine and there is a WIFI facility

There is always a tradeoff between certain things and you have to strike a right balance and for me it was Mountway. However, one should look into his own preferences before taking the decision. For me it was really a nice experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower Floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IU K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
The Great Southern Hotel
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#50 of 65 in Perth
153 reviews
East Perth
Hay Street Traveller's Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Criterion Hotel Perth
Criterion Hotel Perth
#55 of 65 in Perth
462 reviews
East Perth
Mont Clare Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountway Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountway Holiday Apartments

Property: Mountway Holiday Apartments
Address: 36 Mount St | West Perth, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 65 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountway Holiday Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in picturesque Mount Street between Kings Park and the City, adjacent to the Swan River, sixty-nine studio apartments with elevator to all levels. Each apartment is fully self-contained, with kitchen, private bathroom. Linen, blankets, crockery and cutlery supplied. Digital Television with free FOXTEL. Reverse cycle Air-conditioning. Most apartments have wide city views from balconies. Some spectacular river views are available from several vantage points. Walk to the city and business locations in a few minutes. We are close to restaurants and entertainment, bus-port and free CAT bus. PERTH CONVENTION EXHIBITION CENTRE is a 7 minute walk. For business or leisure, Mountway is the ideal location. Facilities include pantry shopping, wireless internet service, and token operated laundry. The extensive out-door Barbecue area is available 'Free to Guest'. Your hosts John & Sue Bergin welcome you to Perth Western Australia. Mountway is suitable for all travelers who want short to medium term budget 2.5 star self-catering, studio style apartments in West Perth Western Australia. NOTE: Mountway is located in West Perth 6005 but it's only a 1 minute walk to the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mountway Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountway Holiday Apartments Perth
Mountway Holiday Apartments Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing